We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Water: ask for it?”
Review of Santa Clara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Santa Clara
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hot Water: ask for it?”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, Price little to high (600$) incl. Continental. But it is cold and hot water would be nice, but same escuse as earlier rewiews.

Fimbib

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fimbib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We understand the front of the hotel is original from about 1528 where Spanish Conquistador Diego de Mazariegos lived. This hotel is as rich in history as the city itself. It is conveniently located across the plaza and walking distance to shops, restaurants, churches, markets -- AMAZING! The hotel staff is friendly, breakfast is very nice (included with room), secured parking is about 2 blocks away (while this is a bit of an inconvenience, it's how most hotels operate) the room is small, but clean. Tip: if you're leaving early in the morning, you'll have to ask for the hot water to be turned on. In January the days can be warm to hot and the evenings and early mornings very chilly. The room does not have central heat, but lots of heavy blankets keep you warm. We just loved the feel of the entire building -- truly like stepping back in time. A little expensive for what you get (we paid $600 pesos for 2 persons -- this may also depend what time of year you stay) but we feel we paid for the "experience" and not the "room". A very memorable stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadieOGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Hotel Santa Clara is pretty low on the guide books radar. We went there after spending two fab nights at Na Bolom and wanting a swimming pool. Although the rooms are just ok the sense of history in the wooden balconies and surrounds and the byzantine? looking paintings with lashings of gold just entranced me so as consequence I loved this hotel. It has a central courtyard and a large wide central balcony upstairs. We got a great price of $430 pesos per night including one free breakfast daily which was great. (Cash paid daily- there is a cashpoint machine two doors down )Though if you pay more you can get nicer rooms with french doors and a little balcony. As it is right on the main plaza you can walk anywhere. There are tons of cool places to stay in San Cristobal and its easy to just walk around and find one you like but I was very happy with this although as it happened the pool was freezing cold and unswimmable in even for my hardy 10 year old. They don't speak much English so its definitely good to have at least a few phrases up your sleeve and / or travel with a guide book.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifigay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

The location is fantastic since it is adjacent to the zocalo, but that doesn't make up for the musty, dark rooms and gloomy service. Every time we went to the desk for assistance, the young clerk barely lifted her head to acknowledge we were there ... as if we were a bother. The rooms are dark and not very clean. The furniture and carpet were stained. When we returned to our room after a day of sight seeing, we found our suitcases were soaked by a massive water leak from our bathroom. No apologies, no help moving bags... just a "your bags are a little damp" from one of the managers. The room below us was flooded as well. I returned to the front desk to retrieve a remote control for the TV (have to pay a deposit) and waited while the clerk was on a personal phone call. While waiting, a young boy dressed like Rambo darted around the foyer with a plastic machine gun shooting at me, the clerk and people walking by the hotel. Later, I found plastic guns in the flower beds underneath the featherless parrots caged in the courtyard next to the restaurant. Nothing like a parrot without feathers to get the appetite going when visiting the restaurant. The hotel could be beautiful since it is a colonial building, but everything seems dated and worn.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ringopisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels

vincennes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We spent two nights at the Santa Clara and had a fine stay. We were tired and walked straight there after a long bus trip but we would have found better and cheaper hotels in the side streets if we had bothered to look for them. The staff is really nice and the rooms are "authentic" but ours had a street view, which meant a lot of noise form the groups playing at night in the restaurant below. Moreover, the bathroom was separated from the bedroom by glass doors (!) , and had a terrible mould smell. To top it up, the shower leaked and the towels were not the cleanest. However, it is a treat to stay on the zocalo...



  • Liked — Its location, its history
  • Disliked — Noise, Bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bugnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

The location of this hotel is perfect, right in the center of town, with an adjacent bar and lovely courtyards. Room was fine too, in a guest house sort of way. We arrived early afternoon and took a few minutes to compare prices of 3-4 hotels around the same block, which were all similar and about US$50-70.

After we spent two nights at the Santa Clara we met friends who recommended their hotel – El Cerrillo, a few minutes walk to the north, which was similar but cost only $25. It also had nice courtyards with very lively parrots and the room was almost same standard as the Santa Clara. We felt silly paying double for no good reason so we moved.

In short, the Santa Clara is surely adequate but like several other hotels right next to the central square we found it to be overpriced compared to alternatives a few blocks away. San Cristobal is such a great town and almost everything is walking distance inside an area of about 6 or 7 blocks, so anywhere on that grid would be good location.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2005

This hotel is perfectly located (on zocalo in center of town), in a 17th-century house with two nice courtyards, one with a pool. The rooms in the oldest part of the house have windows facing the street or the zocalo, with the most street noise on the zocalo side, where music is often playing at night. These rooms have high wood beamed ceilings and old furniture, and the second floor veranda surrounding the courtyard has seating areas which are great for hanging out in the evening sipping drinks--effectively expanding the living area like a suite. The newer section near the pool has smaller but still nice rooms with the advantage of being quieter, if that is a concern.

Bathroom plumbing was fine, you might have to ask for the hot water to be turned on if you are showering very early or in the afternoon. Cable TV in each room had many channels.

Given San Cristobal's cool climate, the pool is only useful for sunny days and is irrelevant in the late winter or early spring. There is no central heating in the hotel and you will have to rely on blankets--in May 50 degrees F at night was perfect sleeping weather.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which we didn't try but looked pretty good. There are many great cafes and places to eat around the area. The hotel bar is nice with a large screen TV. There is an internet cafe in the hotel for only 6 pesos an hour.

We paid $58 US a night and were able to prepay via credit card using the website below, had to call Cactus Mexico in Mexico City to give a credit card number. Rates are lower if you pay in cash in pesos, and you can make a reservation via email to the hotel.

directa.net/mexico/accommodations/hotelclara

San Cristobal de las casas is a fantastic place to stay and the visits to the Indian communities shouldn't be missed. At 9am in front of the catedral you will find Raul who runs guided tours to Chamula and Zinacantan that are an incredible bargain at 125 pesos per person. Our English-speaking guide provided an immense amount of information and access to Indian homes and places of worship, an unforgettable experience that lasted nearly 6 hours.

Also check out Los Pinguinos (flyers posted in various restaurants including El Gato Gordo) for wonderful, strenuous mountain-biking excursions.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kenito799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
La Catedral
La Catedral
#65 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Provincia
Hotel Provincia
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#40 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nuestras Raices
Nuestras Raices
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara

Property: Santa Clara
Address: Ave. Insurgentes No. 1 | Centro Historico, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Clara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial house, unique in the city, built in the 16th century, and the best location just down town ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Clara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing