We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for meetings.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

I stay there for few days for a working meeting. It was nice!! There are some cons: it is Noise during the night (apparently excursions get there and leave very early 3,4,5 am) and they make such noise that sleep is impossible !!! Also the isolation between rooms are poor and you can hear your neighborhood. It is not a real SPA and the food is just OK. It is about 20-30 minutes walking to downtown, but have nearby big supermarket.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darwinsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLAMERCEDESSC, Director General at Hotel Villa Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Sr.

First at all we want to thank you for have stay with us, we appreciate your comments because is the best way to help us to improve our service; Please accept my apology for the inconvenient you found during your stay, usually in this season we have more vacationist therefor sometimes it may cause noisy, however you can be sure that we will take some action to fix this kind of situations.

have a nice day

Sincerily
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Mercedes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel is located outside of the center of town, so if you are looking to be right in the action this is not the place for you. It is about a 20 minute walk downtown but a cab is like 30 pesos. The hotel itself is nice enough, clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are a bit old and small, the bathrooms are tiny and the beds are a little hard, but really San Cristobal is such a great town that you shouldn't be spending enough time in your hotel room for any of this to really matter. The food in the hotel is very good, the breakfast buffet always had a good variety. The best thing about this place is really the staff, they were amazing always ready to lend a hand and give advice. If you are looking for a quiet location outside of the hustle and bustle of the centro, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moni558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VILLAMERCEDESSC, Director General at Hotel Villa Mercedes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear guest.
I appreciate your valuable comments that every day helps us to better our facilities. I remind you that Hotel Villa Mercedes San Cristobal reflects elegance in its architectural concept and is true colonial style, the colors ocher, stone work, wood carving and antique furniture.
Currently we have 16 executive rooms featuring a more modern and innovative design. Waiting will allow us to host on your next visit to San Cristobal de Las Casas I wish you a great day and remain at your service.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

we just stayed there 4 nights, all staf was very helpfull, price is worth what you get, very spacious room , quiet , far from the Downtown noise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajerosmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We have just returned from the Villa Mercedes Hotel after having spent 3 nights. It is a brand new hotel with excellent service staff. Quiet and nice. The rooms were ok. The restaurant was ok, although we got bored of the breakfast buffet, it did not have variety, every day was the same, the last day we went to another restaurant to have breakfast. The only bad thing is that is far away from the center, if you have a car it is ok, specially for the outside trips, as you do not get stucked in the center traffic.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2005

My wife and I stayed there on a trip right after Christmas 2004.

The hotel is located outside downtown so it was quiet. However, it was close enough so that we could walk in about 20 minutes to the park with the cathedral. We took a cab coming back and they charged us 15 pesos. Also, it was 2 minutes walking from a large shopping center and a movie theater.

The service was quick and good, but the hot water was not even warm on our last morning there. San Cristobal is known for water problems blamed on "cold" weather. That sounded to me more like a cover-up for going cheapo on low-capacity heaters. There were two tour groups leaving that day also, so that may have helped empty the heater tank.

The restaurant looked good, had nice fireplaces and a marimba, and the food tasted OK.

We paid 600 pesos / night which was about 54 US dollars at that time.

Overall, it is a good place to stay and I would recommend it -- just don't set your expectations too high.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Transylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank lorisand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.9 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
213 reviews
461.6 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
98 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#25 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las Casas
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las ...
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#10 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Mercedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Mercedes

Address: Diagonal Hermanos Paniagua 32, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Mercedes 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL VILLA MERCEDES SAN CRISTOBAL Harmony, Elegance & Quality dominates the architectural concept of this lovely Hotel Villa Mercedes, and shall remain true to its colonial heritage, stone works, old furnitures and the abundance of colors and fine fabrics for which Chiapas is so justly famous.Located just five minutes from the downtown in Hermanos Paniagua Av, THE HOTEL VILLA MERCEDES SAN CRISTOBAL is the best option to stay in this beautiful city.Facilities:67 deluxe & executives rooms, 4 elegant suites & one Master Suite, La Chimenea Restaurant based on culinary excellence offering an international menu, sumptuous buffet and regional specialties, Bar Pavo Real to enjoy your favorite drink in a comfortable atmosphere, Lounge La Pergola which is an intimate and cozy place, conferences, meetings & banqueting rooms with capacities ranging from 10 to 600 persons, Spa, gymnasium, , Room Service, , tobacco shop, Laundry, Car rental, Parking, Concierge, etc. For you next visit, be for business or pleasure the Hotel Villa Mercedes San Cristobal is the ideal place for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Mercedes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing