We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Margarita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Margarita
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great hotel great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

we stayed here adn thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great wine bar opposite. Lovely hotel with good rooms - very clean and good service. loved the town too. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    71
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Pretty hotel in pedestrian area so quiet (except for noisy tourists returning late sometimes). Great location, breakfast included, friendly staff and good rooms. Beds hard being our only minor complaint. It is VERY cold at night in this part of Mexico so dress warmly as you will want to be out enjoying the cafe/restaurant life just outside your door!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillpaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Beautiful courtyard. Small room, very tiny bathroom and hard bed (but what's new in Mexico). It did have everything we needed though and it also had a TV. The best thing about Casa Margarita we thought was the really handy location - walk out the door and you are in the main part of town with lots of great cafes, restaurants - also, the restaurant next door associated with the hotel next door was pretty decent as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pohutukawa_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
397 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We spent a couple of nights in Casa Margarita and we followed in love with this Hotel. Right in the centre of the city high street, the room was so nice and clean, computer with web connection always available, receptioners always friendly and smiling and the cost was quite cheap. You can also find in this structure a Touristic agency for any tours around Chiapas you want to have. I will come back in Casa Margarita one day...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I enjoyed my stay at Casa Margarita, just a few blocks from the zócalo, where $35US bought a night in a little gabled room on the 3rd floor (when I heard fireworks, I just needed to step outside my door and onto the rooftop terrace to watch them), tiny but spotless, a nice bathroom, tv (which I didn't use), and a safe; there was wifi in the lovely courtyard and lobby and an onsite restaurant where I enjoyed a nice breakfast.

Service was ok but not overly friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

The hotel is well located on one of the main walking streets ... restaurants, cafes, bakeries and shops are just steps away. The hotel is comfortable and very clean. The interior courtyard/garden is pleasant and the internet terminals are a nice, well used amenity. Very good value for the price. After looking at a number of other hotels in town, I'd say this is one of the best places in town in terms of value, design, architecture, location and bang for the buck. PS .. Theres a great new French bakery run by a group of young Frenchman, on the same walking street as the hotel, just near the Central Park - great, fresh croissants and pan de chocolate baked daily! Also the Salsa Verde restaurant which specializes in tacos (on the walking street leading to Sto Domingo Cathedral) gets two thumbs up .. on weekend evenings the place packs in the locals for great tacos al pastor with great sauces served on the side. Wonderful, atmospheric place - simple, hearty Mexican chow at its finest - and what a show put on by the guys behind the taco grill as they prep the tacos ... fascinating to behold.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

I really liked this hotel. We showed up without a reservation and the place was totally booked out except 1 room! Luckily we got it, however because it was a larger room with two double beds, we paid 450 pesos. The next night we were moved into a smaller room for 400 pesos. For that price, you get free wifi and room only, no breakfast. It is located on a trendy street with lots of nice cafe restaurants, a nice supermarket with a bakery and lots of other amenities without feeling TOO touristy. They were pretty rigid with pricing and did not budge with the price.
The rooms looked to have been recently refurbished, they are alittle cold during the night but they provide extra thick blankets. Bathrooms were very pleasant with a peachy/beige theme. All rooms face a court yard, the rooms we had did not have too much natural sunlight. Hot water was perfect, as was room servicing was impeccable. There is also a in room safe + Mexican cable TV.
A highly highly recommended place in San Cristobal at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fizzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#41 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Media Luna
Hotel La Media Luna
#38 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Margarita

Property: Hotel Casa Margarita
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 34, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Margarita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing