We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, comfortanle in the best location in San Cristobal.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Margarita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Margarita
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, comfortanle in the best location in San Cristobal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I wAs staying at a great hostal down the street and moved here because its a bit more pampering (got sick and wanted the pampering) great value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    71
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
65
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

The breakfast is great and for 600 pesos for a double room, nice and clean and very comfy bed it is spot on. You can't get a better located hotel, but surpisingly still quiet. Wifi is good but doesn't extend to the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

What was good:
- We stayed at Casa Margarita for 5 nights in October. The room was excellent and included safe, daily cleaning service and a great shower with plenty of hot water. Great value for money. The owner speaks broken English - you will get along, but basic Spanish always helps. There is a tour service in the hotel which lets you book your daily activities on the spot, which is also convenient (not that you will have ANY trouble booking tours, wherever you stay). Central location, walking distance from anyplace central - we liked it a lot.

Less good:
- The breakfast costs extra. It's mediocre at best, the service is slow and they frequently forget to bring you one or more items. It took us two days to discover that orange juice was included in breakfast, and four to figure out that they can also make fancy-style eggs ("huevos rancheros", with hot sauce and bean soup.) They simply don't bother mentioning it at all.

Tip: courtyard rooms are *much* nicer and lighter than inside rooms, make sure and ask for one of those! Don't be put off by "there's no room." Sometimes, mysteriously, they make room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yay_Hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My girlfriend and i were in this hotel. It's a great hotel- it costs like a dirty hostel and it is so much better! Clean bed sheets, toilet and shower. Great treatment !

The hotel is located in the middle of the main street of San Cristobal!

This hotel is really value for money!
If I will come back to San cristobal again, this would be my hotel, again!

Room Tip: Try to set the price with them on the spot- usually you could get a better price then ordering In ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lioash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

+
Great location
Value-for-money / Price
Nice and clean rooms
Nice building
Nice courtyard to chill and watch by-passers

-
Service
Breakfast

Room Tip: I would recommend a room around the courtyard, which is a pleasant place to chill at the end of a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are basic but clean however the staff left something to be desired in particular the resteraunt staff. We were served cold food and it took over 20mins to get the table wiped and served a cup of coffee. When we asked for eggs with ham we were presented with a plate of ham on its own after 30mins. We were never offered an apology - the worst service I have encountered in any resteraunt I have visited - completely uninterested staff. Recommended if you arent interested in having the complimentary breakfast and if thats the case you have many other options in San Cristobal. 4 star rooms but 1 star service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_UK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Room was on patio area...cleaning people started banging buckets at 6 a.m. Staff and other guests noisy late at night. Stayed 3 nights and was more than ready to move on. Room was very cold and dark. Breakfast came with room, but would just go elsewhere. No real helpfulness ny staff. Only redeeming factor was its great location on walking street and close to square.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#44 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Media Luna
Hotel La Media Luna
#38 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Margarita

Property: Hotel Casa Margarita
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 34, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Margarita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing