We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Margarita
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Casa Margarita is a wonderful place to stay for the price. The price is very reasonable. The room is a little small and the lighting isn't the best, but with that said I had stayed at lots of hotels I could have said the same things about for twice the price. The room was very clean and in a great location. I enjoyed having the wi-fi without having to go to some special room in the hotel. We also appreciated the free parking. The management was extremely nice. The night clerk is full of personality. She is very upbeat and helpful. The sister hotel Parador Margarita looked extra nice also. The free breakfast was wonderful. I wish I were eating it today. Even though Casa Margarita doesn't have the quaint charm of other hotels, I do believe it will be my choice in San Cristobal de las Casas. I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    74
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
66
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ban Chang, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Agree with others - good value. Room was quite small, but clean and comfortable. Also a bit dark, like all colonial hotels in Central America.
Breakfast at Posada Margarita was included in our price which was very nice - a choice of hot breakfast or yummy fruit, yoghurt and toasted oatmeal - I was impressed with the presentation!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor looked nice, and might be brighter and less noisy. The rooms arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is great...it's in a great location only 1.5 blocks from Central Square. The rooms are clean and showers are hot. Free wifi and there are free in room safe deposit box! The staff are wonderful to deal with and always have a smile on their face. Make sure you check around for prices for tours though, as the travel agency attached quoted me higher than any other travel agency for a tour.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, NM
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my tour group of 4 couples, two different lengths of time. They loved the location and the hotel itself is beautiful. Some rooms were tiny, located under a noisy stairwell, there was no WiFi for a few days, the hot water was iffy at times too. On the second stay, I chose the exact rooms and the stay went much better. They had no complaints about the room cleanliness or the comfort of the beds. The rooms are set back from the street enough so that most street noises are not heard. It is very good value for the money. The staff does not speak English, but managed to communicate fairly well with non-Spanish speakers anyway.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryHardage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Right on the main street but not at all noisy, only 3-5min walk to the Zocalo. Bedrooms are spacious and very clean, some really cute little extras in this hotel, like little wooden windows that open from the middle and a roof terrace. Excellent location and fab budget hotel. They don't offer breakfast but that's really not a problem round San Cristobal, there's amazing coffee shops almost opposite and the Oh La La bakery down the road it out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiScott32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very lovely hostel with friendly staff, right in the middle of the pedastrian street:)
Closeby are the chocolate shops, wine bars, bakeries and all you'd need. We were there by the end of october and they had some live music right on the street at nights (though the hostel is really quite and tranquille for a good night's sleep).
I'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank begumgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in Sep-2012.
It offers cheap rooms for couples, yet clean and pleasent to stay in.
Its location is the best in the city (central but quiet) and the staff is very friendly.
Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#34 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion de Los Angeles
Mansion de Los Angeles
#36 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#40 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Margarita

Property: Hotel Casa Margarita
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 34, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Margarita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Margarita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing