We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel has the perfect location and is a nice building, but unfortunately I found the rooms dark and the beds uncomfortable. The hotel is also really noisy.

The service was fine as was the restaurant. If it wasn't for the bed and the dark room I would recommend this hotel but I think there are better options for a similar price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolettaM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear traveler,
Thanks for sharing your opinion. Certainly hotel’s location is our greatest strength. We will take into consideration the issue with the beds and the dark room. We apologize for your restless night you had, but we guarantee that we will not miss a second chance to demonstrate we can exceed your expectations.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

good hotel, nice breakfast
i stayed only 1 night in january 2014
very good for people going from mexico city to cancun
you must have in mind its in the center streets are very small so arrange some parking if you travel bt y car

Room Tip: no elevator i was on 1st floor stairchase was tolerable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumiana1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Ciudad Real. We are really pleased to hear your good comments. I would like to mention that you do not have to worry about parking, the hotel counts with parking lots for all guests.

Thanks again!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ciudad Real following an organized tour around Mexico. The Hotel was considered a 4 stars hotel, but it is not true! The rooms are not so comfortable and very noisy, the air conditioning and the hot water were not working and none repaired during our 3 days stay.
Breakfast is good with very tyipical mexican food but the dinner is terrible... an inedible crap, cold tortillas, and the meat very tough.
Anyway, it is a nice place just in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValeryIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear ValeryIT,

We really appreciate your comments about Hotel Ciudad Real. It is very important for us to hear your opinion in order to improve our services provided. As you said, the hotel’s location is one of our strengths; however we are sorry about the inconvenient you had in your last stayed. We are taking action to solve the problems with air conditioner and hot water. We also apologize for dinner. We will take these issues seriously so you can have a great time in your next visit to San Cristóbal.

Thanks for recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

As already mentioned by other travellers location cannot be better, right at the Plaza of beautiful city of San Cristobal de las Casas.

As the hotel is located in a nicely refurbished colonial building, some rooms (like the one, my agency ordered) are with windows to an inner hallway decorated as colonial lane, which wasn´t that pleasing, although the room itself was nice. The front desk offered me an upgrade to a room overviewing the Plaza at a reasonable price. This upgrade was handled by the young guy at the front desk in a very friendly, fast and efficient manner.

Staff (front desk, restaurant, breakfast, porter) were all very friendly, attentive and helpful.

Great breakfast and a nice, tasty dinner (try the Chile Relleno) ... although they ¨killed¨ the beer by serving it in a super undercooled glass making it freeze - the only drawback :) ...

I had a great stay!

Room Tip: 211 overlooking the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manankanchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear traveler,

We are glad to hear from you. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very proud that you had a good time at Hotel Ciudad Real. Allow me congratulate all the team involved in making that amazing experience. Nevertheless, we want to apologize for the frozen beer. Thanks again and hope we can see you soon!.

Thanks for recommend us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My sugestion is to know this magical place and Area staying in the hotel that makes you confidence...in my opinion people in general are the best host ...I mean you are welcome...the food is just exquisite and cheap, the same as most of the hotels, the city has a collection of wonderfoul museums and markets, restaurants (keeep away of greasy food), food is 80 percent ok meaning quality of restaurants....please contact a guide to visit San Juan Chamula, the native textil factories with creativity an colors of regional clothing (choose a gift for anyone in family) as well as tablecloths, tapestry, floor covers, etc. All of them are wonderfula and very cheap (ask for lower price by dozen or fraction); as well as a lot of natural places and precolumbian sites -Yaxchilán, Palenque, Bonampak, Izapa, Tenam Puente, Chiapa de Corzo, Chinkultik y Toniná- . Spend a wonderful season all around the year, just remember that even when it is on a tropical zone it is located in mountains and could be some cold and windy atmosphere. Remeember it is a very good choice to be in contact with your planet.

Room Tip: Check personally a room and food or make a reservation with the most of information of what is inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mexicaviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear traveler,
We were so excited while reading your lines about San Cristóbal. Thanks for visiting Chiapas, it is a great place to be in contact with nature and regional culture.

Hope you come back soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel location cannot be complained about-- as other reviews mention, right in the middle of town. It has a few options to eat there (I counted like 3 restaurants?) but we didn't try any of them (choosing to go out for breakfast and so on).

I stayed in a room with queen size bed which was very comfy and cant really complain too much about the size of it (it was 2 of us staying there).

Biggest complain was no wifi access in rooms-- but i guess its ok to "disconnect" yourself for a while. In any case, you can go to the breakfast restaurant to go online, or to the main square (right in front of the hotel) which also has free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for giving your opinion about the hotel. We really appreciate your comments because through them we can improve our services. We would like to inform you that we are working with the wifi issue so in your next stay you can enjoy of it inside the rooms.

Thanks again and looking forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is defintely a very central hotel and quite nice as well. The only problem was that the rooms were very small for 3 people with huge luggages. Hotel staff did not speak English but nonetheless they were still very friendly. Breakfast at this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesCiudadReal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment about Hotel Ciudad Real. We really appreciate the time you took to make the survey. As you mentioned, location is one of our strengths, we are in the city center, just in front of the principal square.

I would like to mention that we were certified by the program “Tesoros de Mexico” (Treasures of México) that recognize hotels with historic constructions, that is why we made fewer changes in the building in order to maintain the original architecture. However, we also have huge rooms on the second floor that have a beautiful view to the city hall, bandstand and the principal square. We will be very pleased to have you in our upgraded rooms.

Thanks again and looking forward to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico

Address: Calle 31 de Marzo No. 10 | Col. Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £45 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel chain with properties in San Cristobal and Palenque Chiapas, Mexico, at the hart of the Mundo Maya region. Our hotels are charming and refined, decorated with the traditional Mexican colonial style and designed to give the ambiance and comfort that your customers are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing