We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best - but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“one of the best - but”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

beautiful' spanish style hotel. rooms nice but a little spartans. a free internet compensate for this. we stayed for 2 nights. on one morning we received an elegant breakfast (combination of buffet and service).
but!!
1.you expect that in such a hotel somebody will speak English. there was non.
2. we needed to some laundry to be done. the prices were like they dont have enoughh water and soap to do it.

Room Tip: if u have more than one day - do your own laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chana y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    149
    48
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
142
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed in Hotel Mexica for days. The arrival started a bit dogy as the rooms where not yet cleaned although it was already 3 in the afternoon. The hotel has a car park which is aprrox a block away but you will need help from the staff to find it. The inside feels friendly and cosy. The rooms however face inward and there is only a smallish court. The rooms have windows which facewindows of other rooms across the hallway.
The staff is friendly but some of them don't understand english very well.
The locationhowever makes up for a lot. It is very near to all the mayor squaresand streets. So all in all good, but nog great, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankDijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I just stayed at the Casa Mexicana and found it just right. I can explain the "voucher" situation. It is merely a different use of the word. Most hotels would call it "open tab." The Casa will run a slip with your credit card. You sign for meals, drinks, whatever. At the end of your stay, they present you with a full list of what you've signed for (whatever went on your "voucher") so you can review and approve. They will tear up the credit card slip they ran when you arrived and you then pay for whatever you've charged.
Hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The good things about this hotel are its central location, it is a pretty hotel and the price point is good. However, the recent criticisms of other reviewers are sound. They have an odd system where they give you a voucher for the restaurant if breakfast or other meals are included - though without explaining what it is - and woe-betide you if you forget your voucher. The waiting staff are unfriendly and perfunctory in their service. The front desk staff were hardly smiley and welcoming either. The rooms are nice at first glance but you soon spot that the bathroom is battered and that the woodwork could do with some varnish. It was ok for one night but we spent the last four nights of our trip elsewhere in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Beautiful hotel. Beautiful rooms. In the middle of the city center.
However the staff members forgot that there were also guests in the hotel rooms.
At 6.30 in the morning they start using the printer (matrix from the early days with a snirping high sound). The whole hotel / restaurant is a open and spacious place.. This is great for the visual aspect.. But not for the noise that bounces of the walls. They also have water pipes on the walls next to your door. They use it for getting water for the plants or to clean. So early in the morning and in the evering (23.00 hours) they come with the buckets and swing open the tap... The splashing water in an empty bucket makes a very loud noise...So sleeping hours are from 23.30 to 6.30! Hopefully they read this review and share this with the staff, because wen I tried to tell this they did not understand.
The hotel itself is a very nice place to be...it realy is!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Necate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel is very beautiful because of the inner court (banana trees, other tropical plants,sitting arrangements and pleasant decor). The room we had is upstairs down a narrow hall. The rooms wrap completely around the inner court with only one way in or out which makes for a dangerous fire escape hazard. During a fire, the only way out would be to crawl through one of the small head-high windows onto the inner court cover and escape down the maintenance access shaft near the front of the hotel. The rooms are basic, both our beds were firm (like all Mexican beds we experienced). The best meal, at the on-site restaurant, is breakfast, prices were consistent with comparable offerings, but the portions were smaller, service very poor. My wife and I have enjoyed authentic Mexican food for many years, it is usually what we eat when dining out or enjoying a lovely evening at home. I have had many Mexican friends since junior-high and many co-workers over the years, I know and love the Mexican culture. The head waiter really turned me off after the second meal demanding that I return to my room and bring money to pay the tab. The other waiters had insisted that our first meal expenditure be added to the room tab. I stand 6'4" and I'm naturally a gentle man, I speak Spanish well and can handle myself physically with men twice his size. He didn't appear or smell drunk but quickly got in my face and demanded payment. I explained that I had left everything in my room not thinking I need it. He demanded my hotel issued meal card which I had not received when I checked in, and refused to back down even after seeing my hotel room key. The only thing I can guess is that he thought I had walked in from the street (not a hotel client) and was trying to get a free meal. The restaurant is only thirty-feet from the front counter where this took place, he could easily have maintained decent composure and quickly cleared this unfortunate incident up. If the food service had not been the worst I have ever had in 40-plus years, and if the hotel front desk man which had undoubtedly heard this exchange had done something to clear it up, maybe I would feel different. There was a tour group in the hotel but the guide knew something we didn't so the restaurant was empty, this is usually a very good sign when even the locals stay away. The hotel is close (NW a few blocks) to cathedral Santo Domingo (strong Spain influence/ magnificent 16th century building). The cathedral is surrounded by the typical market (one side of the building is hand-made products, the other side is the raw food vendors. The majority of the town sites are south down Insurgentes street starting about 3-blocks away. Very good hotels are plentiful and line both sides of the street from the City Center (Zocalo) almost down to the first-class bus terminal.
I would strongly suggest the Plaza Magnolia hotel which I would give six out of five stars. I checked out of Casa Mexicana after one night, and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of Plaza Magnolia. Every one from the Manager to the excellent waiters to the front desk folks are the most cordial, pleasant people (the REAL Mexico/ typical San Cristobal). The food was plentiful, excellent quality and served promptly. The waiters keep the tortillas coming, and perform flawlessly. I will stay there next time and will tell all my friends to do the same. At the conclusion of this trip we flew into LAX and stayed at a five-star American hotel. Marriot could learn a lot about real 5-star hospitality from Plaza Magnolia.

Room Tip: Don't check in. Do visit the hotel, take pretty pictures, return to a better hotel that will ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 154KellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife & I spent three nights here during March. Our room was in the annex across the street. It was also on the ground floor under the stairs. As a consequence it was a very dark room. It was also very basic. Fortunately, we didn't spend too much time in the hotel.
Breakfast wasn't included but good, cheap Mexican breakfasts were readily available close by.

The staff were not particularly friendly. Would probably have been better off in a B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Mexicana

Property: Hotel Casa Mexicana
Address: Calle 28 de Agosto 1, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Mexicana 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa Mexicana is located in the beautiful mountainous and colonial city of San Cristóbal. It is centrally located within walking distance of many historical sites. We offer you all the amenities, comforts and personal services of a fine hotel, relax in the interior sky-lit garden, enjoying the original mexican art treasures assambled here. The guest rooms all open into the gardens or private courtyards. We built the Hotel Casa Mexicana with the idea of offering our guests a little bit more than just a hotel, our goal was to create a space filled with art, folk - art and the presence of nature, which would be very Mexican. We invited our artist friends, who had been to San Cristobal beforehand, to create artistic pieces which speak about it. And we searched in all Mexico for the very special and beautiful pieces of folk - art which we display here, too. We are very satisfied with what we have realized so far and everyday we put out all our energy to still become better and have you feel relaxed here and enjoying the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing