We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel in amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in Casa Mexicana for a couple of nights while we visited wonderful San Cristobal de las Casas and surroundings.
The hotel could not be in a better location: right in the historical centre, yet far enough from the main square and commercial streets so that one could have a bit of silence.
It is rather basic, no super luxury here, but the bed is amazing and service is very good and pleasant.

Room Tip: Please make sure to ask for a room NOT close to the stairs. The doors and windows are not sound proo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Out of all the hotels that I stayed in in Mexico, the most time I felt like I was in Mexico is when I visited San Cristobal de las Casas and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is quite small and so are its rooms but the atmosphere at this hotel makes up for everything. It felt like we were literally staying in a house. Although staff did not speak English, it was easy to get them to understand us. Hotel is right in the old town centre so you can get the best of this traditional town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexiaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed in the annex top floor overlooking the patio. Nice clean room, large beds with all the necessary amenities plus free wi-fi.It had all we needed for. We stayed for only one night on our way to Guatemala borders and we were absolutely satisified.Not many options for breakfast but quite satisfactory.Centrally located, walking distance fron the main plaza. As I remarked most of the hotels in san Cristobal de las Casas is hacienta like and quite small. San Cristobal is a vivid city, with colonial buildings in its historic center, where on can find everyting for his stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I have been to San Cristóbal many many times, and I know it is a city with changing standards: hotels that were very good a year ago, could be terrible right now. Casa Mexicana is a very good hotel that has kept its standards high. It's clean, comfy and relatively quiet (it has an excellent location that makes it stand in a rather noisy neighborhood, but the building manages to keep loud noises out).
You'll save money due to its location, since you'll be able to walk anywhere from there. You'll find the staff very helpful and willing to pamper you (local culture is not precisely soft-speaking).
It has a restaurant with very decent food and an internet wi-fi. Don't expect the best speed, but it'll help.

Room Tip: It has rooms on two levels. If you are or have elderly people with you, make sure you pick a floor l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. The hotel is lovely with an internal jungle-like courtyard and comfortable well-sized rooms. It's location in San Cristobal is good and the town itself has a really nice atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was very good, breakfast was excellent - especially the hot cakes!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed here in February 2013 and thought it was a charming hotel with lovely courtyards in both the main hotel and the annex across the road. We stayed in the annex so cannot comment on the rooms or noise in the main building, but we thought the annex was really lovely. The room was more than adequate and the location fantastic. Although we stayed two nights we ate out both evenings, but the two breakfasts we had were very good, although the second day rather crowded as a large group tour had arrived and were determined to all eat at the same time - very considerate & helpful. What ever else you do or eat/drink here you must get them to make a Margarita for you. Our small group traveled in this area as well as Guatemala & Belize and had Margaritas everywhere we went. Some were better than others, and some pretty bland, and we didn't always agree, accept when it came to Casa Mexicana Margaritas, which everybody thought were the best and set the standard to aim for.

Room Tip: I preferred the annex. The building is the same style and age and the open courtyard is lovely, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoforiTCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Chiapas is by many standards a poor State in Mexico. To compare this hotel with many worldwide chain hotels would be unfair.
It is a very popular hotel for Europeans who are accustomed in many instances to a more "spartan" approach. However this hotel is comfortable, the rooms are a very nice size and have all the amenities you need. T.V with international channels and cable, bottled water in the room a hair dryer, complimentary shampoo, a heater in cold weather, very clean and tidy.
You can not beat the charm and beauty of the traditional style with the courtyard and central gardens. The colors and decor are vivid and warm, the restaurant is very good offering traditional fare as well as continental choices. The breakfast Buffett is varied and generous, the coffee and chocolate of the region superb. There is an excellent coffee shop across the street and you are in walking distance of all the major attractions in San Cristobal.
The staff is friendly and professional, they will try their best to accommodate you.
Drawbacks are a few, there is no elevator and you are probably best served to stay in one of the rooms in the ground floor. It can also be a bit noisy in the corridor when people are moving luggage down the way. It is a small hotel but big in service and convenience in the heart of downtown.
Would love to stay here again

Room Tip: Would stay in the ground floor as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedidoctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
340 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Mexicana

Address: Calle 28 de Agosto 1, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £34 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Mexicana 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa Mexicana is located in the beautiful mountainous and colonial city of San Cristóbal. It is centrally located within walking distance of many historical sites. We offer you all the amenities, comforts and personal services of a fine hotel, relax in the interior sky-lit garden, enjoying the original mexican art treasures assambled here. The guest rooms all open into the gardens or private courtyards. We built the Hotel Casa Mexicana with the idea of offering our guests a little bit more than just a hotel, our goal was to create a space filled with art, folk - art and the presence of nature, which would be very Mexican. We invited our artist friends, who had been to San Cristobal beforehand, to create artistic pieces which speak about it. And we searched in all Mexico for the very special and beautiful pieces of folk - art which we display here, too. We are very satisfied with what we have realized so far and everyday we put out all our energy to still become better and have you feel relaxed here and enjoying the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mexicana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing