We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casavieja
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Posada Tepeyac(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Axkan Express(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Hotel Casa Mia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Casa Margarita(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Casa Lum(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parador Margarita(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rincon de Cuca(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Docecuartos Hotel(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
96
111
40
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
111
40
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfan heatercharacterful hotelthe main areasjunior suitebreakfast was excellentstayed nightspedestrian streetwalking distancewater pressurewi fiextra blanketsthe main squareluggageprivacychillchiapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Even with limited English, staff was very helpful. Wonderful internal yards, free wifi, decent breakfast - we believe this hotel deserves a place in top 20.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Such a pity the lack of service lets this one down so badly. Otherwise it is a charming hotel with series of intimate courtyards to read or simply soak up the place. Quiet, even with the tour groups, as there are 3 courtyard areas. I would recommend the place because it is a gem and close to the main action & Plaza but expect no service or English. We saw the local production Planque Rojo at the theatre which was brilliant !! Catch it if you can. Best market full of unique crafts is in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Two major disappointments with this hotel, and both relate ultimately to the management's indifference to our experience.
1. The bathroom. We stayed here as part of a 40 day trip through central America and this was by far the worst bathroom we found, despite the hotel being the second most expensive. The hot water tap was no more than a trickle (and cold) and the shower impossible to use (either scalding hot or freezing - no inbetween). We reported this on day 1 and the receptionist said she would get someone to check it. We heard nothing back - not even an explanation or an offer to change rooms.
2. Security. We came back after our first day out to find $20 missing from our (well hidden) money belt. After checking everywhere I saw the manager who promptly called the cleaner to the room. She denied any knowledge, to which he shrugged his shoulders at us and said he could do no more and that we should have used the security deposit at the front desk (which we hadn't been told about). The fact that money went missing is forgiveable - it happens in the best of places. What upset us was the attitude of the manager. No apology, no attempt to rectify the situation - he just put us in an embarrassing position for nothing. This happened to us once before and the hotel manager deducted the missing $30 from our bill and offered us a free stay, and that was on a $70 room bill! Here on a $300 bill it would have been easy to make a small gesture to us, but we left feeling that the staff here couldn't wait to see the back of us.
Not impressed - there are many hotel options in San Cristobal and we wish we had chosen any one of those instead.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We chose this hotel after having to move from our previous one...our room was beautiful,set in a courtyard and spacious...stylishly laid out and lovely surrounds...we chose it because it had heaters though the first night we had to get another (they could invest in new ones)...location of hotel is brilliant within tw o blocks of centre and it is a decent option...strangely, they don't offer breakfast though this is not a problem given multiple options in San Cristobal...we would recommend staying here for those who want a slightly more upmarket option...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The hotel is charming with two courtyards and indoor sitting areas, lobby staff was very nice (limited English). The rooms are nice but definitely small. We had one room that had two doubles and one that had a double and a twin. The bathrooms were a bit cramped too, but clean and included shampoo, lotion & soap. We had breakfast (and brunch) at the hotel each morning. Breakfast is served at the hotel restaurant which is down the street a few houses. The hotel did a great job (and reasonably priced) on our laundry. Because of the courtyard setup, any noise made outside the rooms such as moving suitcases, talking loudly is pretty noticeable so we were woken up a couple of times during our stay. Overall, I’d recommend this hotel. In addition to its charm it’s in a great location. It’s a couple of blocks from the central square and just a block away from one of the main pedestrian/walkway streets

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews