We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful hotel”
Review of Hotel Casavieja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casavieja
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Suspect this is one which people will either love or hate. If you prefer modern business hotels then this will not be for you. If you like quirky, antique, accommodation it is well worth considering.

The hotel is located in one of the oldest buildings in San Christobal, parts of which date back to the 1700s. Rooms are located around restful courtyards. Ours (number 50) unfortunately was also adjacent to the cobbled street which meant we were woken early by traffic. But that did not detract from the charm of our stay.

On the plus side was the welcome we received (albeit that we spoke minimal Spanish and they had little English), the location close to but removed from the main tourist areas, and the comfortable bed. It was very cold when we stayed but the electric fire took the chill off the room and we piled on extra blankets.

Breakfast is taken in the hotel's restaurant opposite. Nothing to write home about but prefectly adequate. The restaurant also serves dinner but we chose to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

The walls are thin and various noises from the courtyard get annoying but if you aren't noise sensitive this place is pretty good if you don't mind paying a premium.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Even with limited English, staff was very helpful. Wonderful internal yards, free wifi, decent breakfast - we believe this hotel deserves a place in top 20.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Such a pity the lack of service lets this one down so badly. Otherwise it is a charming hotel with series of intimate courtyards to read or simply soak up the place. Quiet, even with the tour groups, as there are 3 courtyard areas. I would recommend the place because it is a gem and close to the main action & Plaza but expect no service or English. We saw the local production Planque Rojo at the theatre which was brilliant !! Catch it if you can. Best market full of unique crafts is in San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgates50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Two major disappointments with this hotel, and both relate ultimately to the management's indifference to our experience.
1. The bathroom. We stayed here as part of a 40 day trip through central America and this was by far the worst bathroom we found, despite the hotel being the second most expensive. The hot water tap was no more than a trickle (and cold) and the shower impossible to use (either scalding hot or freezing - no inbetween). We reported this on day 1 and the receptionist said she would get someone to check it. We heard nothing back - not even an explanation or an offer to change rooms.
2. Security. We came back after our first day out to find $20 missing from our (well hidden) money belt. After checking everywhere I saw the manager who promptly called the cleaner to the room. She denied any knowledge, to which he shrugged his shoulders at us and said he could do no more and that we should have used the security deposit at the front desk (which we hadn't been told about). The fact that money went missing is forgiveable - it happens in the best of places. What upset us was the attitude of the manager. No apology, no attempt to rectify the situation - he just put us in an embarrassing position for nothing. This happened to us once before and the hotel manager deducted the missing $30 from our bill and offered us a free stay, and that was on a $70 room bill! Here on a $300 bill it would have been easy to make a small gesture to us, but we left feeling that the staff here couldn't wait to see the back of us.
Not impressed - there are many hotel options in San Cristobal and we wish we had chosen any one of those instead.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We chose this hotel after having to move from our previous one...our room was beautiful,set in a courtyard and spacious...stylishly laid out and lovely surrounds...we chose it because it had heaters though the first night we had to get another (they could invest in new ones)...location of hotel is brilliant within tw o blocks of centre and it is a decent option...strangely, they don't offer breakfast though this is not a problem given multiple options in San Cristobal...we would recommend staying here for those who want a slightly more upmarket option...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The hotel is charming with two courtyards and indoor sitting areas, lobby staff was very nice (limited English). The rooms are nice but definitely small. We had one room that had two doubles and one that had a double and a twin. The bathrooms were a bit cramped too, but clean and included shampoo, lotion & soap. We had breakfast (and brunch) at the hotel each morning. Breakfast is served at the hotel restaurant which is down the street a few houses. The hotel did a great job (and reasonably priced) on our laundry. Because of the courtyard setup, any noise made outside the rooms such as moving suitcases, talking loudly is pretty noticeable so we were woken up a couple of times during our stay. Overall, I’d recommend this hotel. In addition to its charm it’s in a great location. It’s a couple of blocks from the central square and just a block away from one of the main pedestrian/walkway streets

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casavieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casavieja

Address: Calle Profesora Maria Adelina Flores 27 | Barrio de Guadalupe, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casavieja 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel founded in a beautiful old house declared a historic monument, house full of history and beauty within, recently remodeled with obtaining this valuable distinctive as Moderniza, Marca Chiapas, Tesoros de Mexico, Those who guarantee quality and improvement in our facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casavieja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing