We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean quiet budget hotel just blocks from the Plaza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Quijote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Don Quijote
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice clean quiet budget hotel just blocks from the Plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We were arriving on the weekend without booking ahead and other places that friends had recommended were booked up. We looked on Tripadvisor and found the Don Quijote and gave them a call. 380 pesos for a room. What a deal. Two beds per room, very clean and quiet. We had two single beds which gave us more room as the rooms are indeed small. It is cold in San Christobal in the winter but we had plenty of blankets. The staff were really nice. The hotel is right around the corner from the pedestrian street of Real de Guadalupe and there was free, secure parking at the back. Lots of good restaurants nearby including Cocoliche next door.
We ended up staying four nights. It was great.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank margoandthecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had trouble with their web site reservation system, but called and was told there were rooms available. Arrived in San Cristobal by bus, Quijote is about 10 minute walk. Room is very clean, extra blankets. Paid $380 for 2, in 2 doubles, less than booking sites were listing. Free coffee in A.M. Fresh towels daily. Central location near cafes, but sounds of nightlife don't make it into the hotel.
Staff very accomodating. Recommended as good option at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Upper floor especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

First of all, if you stay during low season, you can negotiate a slightly better price as advertised on their web site. The service was warm and friendly. The front desk staff allowed me to use their phone and computer, etc when I needed to. The room with 2 double bed could be a bit hard for you to walk around as there was not much space left. Rooms were clean, but could get cold during the evening. The hotel is located within 50 meters to quite a few wonderful restaurants and only few minutes away from the center park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexoz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights but only paid for 2 because of the low season promotion they offered me. I don't know what other promotions they have but if you email in advance to reserve I'm sure they'd be happy to tell you of their current promotions if you ask, as they did me. I asked for a room with good wifi, and it was strong, so I was placed close to the office. The room was a bit small but I didn't need any more space than I had anyhow. It had a nice desk, good bed and clean bathroom. One the second day when I came back to the hotel they mounted some kind of rendition of swan lake made of the fresh towels they stocked the room with. You'll just have to see it but it really suggests the care and creativity the staff puts into their hotel. The location is good, right on the edge of where its all at. The only thing I'd warn against is that if you want good wifi stay close to the office but know a lot of light from the lobby enters into the room, maybe the hotel could put thicker curtains. Also, the walls are quite thin so when there is talking in the halls, you hear it, so if you're very sensitive to noise just bring your ear plugs because it was a really good hotel at a really good price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicodeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Hotel is ubicated near the Catedral of San Cristobal and really cheap, we paid $500 pesos per night (+- 40 dlls) in a double room.
The rooms are small, barelly can fit 2 full beds, but it doesn't matter. The beds are comfortable and they have blankets because San Cristobal is a cold city in the night and the hotel doen't have heater.
They have good wifi signal (one router per floor), the staff is really kind and they are available 24 hrs.
We were there monday and leave tuesday but we back the wednesday and they take care of our baggage and even they return to us one dress that we forgot the tuesday in our room.

Just one thign, they don't have enough electrical outlets, you should travel with an extension cord or something enought for your cell phone, camera, gps and all your gadgets.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonder_Vivianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was very pleased with the experience.
They offer a great price ($500 for a double) considering how well located they are. Literally only 50 metres away you have the vibrant street scene, yet we were not disturbed by any noise. They also offer parking for 6 vehicles, plus further spaces at their sister hotel 4 blocks away.
The front desk staff was helpful, obliging and smiling throughout our stay. The rooms are small and don’t offer great luxuries, but the whole place is spotless. Along with the room they provide towels, soap, shampoo and bottled water. The hot water takes a few minutes to come out, but it did arrive as they promised and we found the water pressure to be excellent. In the morning we really appreciated the complimentary coffee.
We tried two restaurants next to and opposite the hotel (Mexico Tierra Jaguar and Cocoliche) and enjoyed both meals.
During our stay all of the other guests we saw were Mexicans, many being young families.
My only suggestion would be for them to update the TV in the room; it had a 12 inch screen and looked like a museum exhibit. Other than that, if you want a good, dependable budget hotel in SC, Don Quijote is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londoner_in_yucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Three of us arrived early in the morning, before check-in time, but the hosts were completely gracious and gave us rooms right away. This is not what you'd call a luxury hotel by any means however, for the prices they were charging, I felt it was a real bargain. The rooms are pleasantly furnished, clean, quiet, with good mattresses and lots of hot water. And it's ideally located around the corner from many great restaurants and shops. If I was to go back to San Cristobal I wouldn't think twice about going to this hotel again. I was very pleased and satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueflame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#58 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
Hotel Posada Tepeyac
#37 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Media Luna
Hotel La Media Luna
#35 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Quijote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Quijote

Property: Hotel Don Quijote
Address: Avenida Cristobal Colon 7, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Don Quijote 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Don Quijote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing