We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charm - but cold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rincon del Arco
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Colonial charm - but cold”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The only time I was warm i the hotel was when I was practically toasting myself by the fire in the restaurant, otherwise I spent most of my time there swaddled in as many layers as I had brought. Knowing that nights are pretty cool in San Cristobal I'm surprised that the hotel had not more provision for heating throughout. Nevertheless, nicely set out with lovely gardens and free internet access. A bit of a walk into the centre of town but you can always shop and have coffee en route! Good place to get laundry done cheaply although some of our group complained of shrunken tops and stains, mine was perfectly fine!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
29
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were in San Cristobal de las Casas for the final nights of our trip, we spent New years eve there. Upon arriving at Rincon del Arco, I immediately liked this place. It has a quirky charm to it,old mixed with new. Our room was very clean, pretty small it had a fireplace which I totally loved. My husband did not like the room so at the reception they graciously showed us another room. Upstairs rooms have a great view from the balcony the rooms are larger, but we ended up sticking with our room downstairs since it was intimate and warm . It is perhaps a 5 minute walk ( brisk pace) to the main Zocalo, I did not get creepy feeling at all like the "ghost house" reviewer said. it is tucked in a residential area so I had the feeling of belonging if even for a few days. The streets are clean and sure there is graffiti on some of the walls but if you look closely it is all political.The parking structure is enclosed so if it was a bad neighborhood it would protect your car rental from vandalism I never felt unsafe walking to the Zocalo. TIP: If you like the bedding or upholstory in the hotel, they make it all on-site. You can ask to see where they make it and possibly purchase. They had some amazing patterns but did not have any available for sale when I was there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The biggest attraction of this hotel is its great colonial looks: arches, pillars, patios and a nice garden. Located in a quiet area not too far away from the city centre. The restaurant food was pretty nice too, although breakfast was a bit on the mediocre side.
Not all rooms have windows so some of them can look dark and unattractive.
The biggest downside for me was the lack of heating my room, as It can get pretty cold in San Cristobal. I was cold during most of the night and especially after showering.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffrombruges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The world
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location is a little out of the center. This means it is nice and quiet at night, but is a little bit further to walk to the Zocalo and restaurants etc. It's about 6 blocks away. I'm a female traveler, traveling alone and I didn't feel unsafe walking this when it was dark.

My room was spacious and clean. It had tile floors, a huge bed and warm water. What more can I ask for? Oh yes, and wireless internet is available.

The hotel has a garden and courtyard and is built in colonial style with lots of bright colors. A very charming place.

  • Liked — Building style and large room
  • Disliked — A bit far from center
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

I was meant to stay at this hotel when travelling to Chiapas with a group of friends, but after seeing the rooms we ran away.
The property is quite a long way from the center, therefore it is very isolated at night and not in a very safe looking neighborhood. The rooms looked like something out of a vampire movie. They were dark and dusty with old patched up grey carpeting on the floors.
The bathrooms were full of mold and looked like they hadn't been used in decades.
The place was empty although every other hotel in San cristobal seemed to be full....is it any wonder?

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chiaretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2006

I was really very pleased with the hotel Rincon del Arco is San Cristobal de las Casas. The staff were very friendly and courteous, and always helpful. I loved all the colonial style arches and pillars, the patio, the lovely blooming trees and plants, the huge striped agaves in the garden below and the view of the city from our room. There is a restaurant attached and I love going downstairs to get a breakfast of huevos motulenos or or chilaquiles with fresh jugo de papaya each morning before we journeyed out into the town. They also had the best mole I found in Chiapas.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2006

We switched to this hotel when we were disappointed with another in San Cristobal (the other one was Hacienda de DOn Juan)and we really liked Rincon. The location is great, because you can walk to the zocalo, but you are not in the thick of it, so it is very, very quiet and peaceful. (The zocalo area is charming, but rather noisy.) The property is quite large and all rooms are off a lovely manicured garden. (They will show you a number of rooms, so you can find the one you really like. Don't be afraid to ask.) The staff is very professional and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. It was so inexpensive that we decided to treat ourselves to the largest suite for only 75.00 a night. I would recommend it, if you can afford it. We had good breakfasts here every morning, but didn't try the dinners. Another plus: It is right around the corner from Na Balom, which you have to see.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.8 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#10 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rincon del Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rincon del Arco

Property: Hotel Rincon del Arco
Address: Calle Ejercito Nacional 66 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rincon del Arco 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rincon del Arco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rincon Del Arco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing