We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganesha Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganesha Posada
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, walking distanc to center and really good price for what you get.... Really relaxing.... Only but would be that there is 2 bathrooms for 7 rooms.... I had an amazing experience! Cngrats

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antonio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    29
    5
    11
    2
See reviews for
3
27
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

For one of the most relaxed environments and great energy spaces that my partner and I encountered in San Cristobal, Mexico I would say that Ganesha Posada made us feel like family. The Yoga classes were excellent, staff and Hostel Owner were incredibly gracious and informative. I even got myself in a Blog article from the experience! Too cool. The rooms were super cozy, meeting other like minded travelers with lot's of stories to share was great and I really felt like I was in a cabin, but in the city. A big bonus for someone who is not too keen on over crowded city scenes. We even got sushi delivered from one of the staff's friend's to the Hostel! Amazing! Very cultural. I was in heaven. For everything that we experienced in Mexico... and that was ALOT... I would give our Ganesha family a BIG Om's up! To say that we even got magically directed there from some other travler's on the road, truly shows to me that this place is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Hello Dyana , thanks for your nice comment on trip advisor, we are doing every days all with so much love dedication and happines.... thanks a lot,


regards

Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a cheaper hostel for a few nights but then the water went out so I decided to check this place out. The breakfast sucks, the price is expensive considering other hostels in the area, they charge you to leave your bags for the day after check out (I have never had a hostel or hotel do this). The claim of yoga was false. They said the instructor was on vacation. I just didn't get a good vibe here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtawWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This was a horrible place. It is totally faking this hippy love idea, but is actually just a money-making place to rip off travelers. It is Freezing cold. Unfriendly staff. Doing everything they could to try to extort money out of us. Bathroom are dirty.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank losglobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

Me and my partner arrived here after driving everywhere in Mexico. We were both exhausted and found our spirit sanctuary at Ganesha Posada. The Kundalini Yoga classes eased our tensions and we melted into place we were in. The room and kitchen were awesome and we feel alseep to a peaceful rainstorm. It was one of the places we fet the most at home in Mexico. Great owners and great spot!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karuna333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hradec Kralove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I booked a private room two days in advance but upon my arrival it still wasn't ready, so I accepted a bed in a shared dormitory. The room wasn't very clean, neither was the bathroom - which is outside the building which is very inconvenient since in San Cristóbal, it gets quite chilly in the morning and in the evening. Moreover, hot water runs only form 7 to 11 a.m., then you need to ask at the reception.
I decided not to stay there. But I must say that the guy was very friendly and helpful and they made no problems when I informed them that I was leaving, they even gave me half of my money back.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Beautiful place with space to rest and enjoy the garden. Very clean bathrooms and friendly, helpful staff. The kindalini yoga lessons are fantastic. My room opened onto the garden and had a comfortable bed with writing desk and chair. I would definitely stay here again and, in fact, would quite like to live here! Nice and central.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back which open onto the garden are sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themiddlemoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#58 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Quijote
Hotel Don Quijote
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Posada

Property: Ganesha Posada
Address: Calle 28 de Agosto #23, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ganesha Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing