We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ganesha Posada
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jardines del Centro(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada El Paraiso(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Provincia(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Mexicana(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Catedral(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Plaza Santo Domingo(San Cristobal de las Casas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
78
31
5
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
31
5
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga classesfree drinking waterthe ownerbeautiful hostelwalking distanceevery morningfabianvibechillgardencentrechiapas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Posada Ganesha for two nights on our overland trip from Cancun to Mexico City. The place certainly has charm and potential but the rooms are dark, (the first we were offered had no window!) and overdue for a fresh coat of paint. We were aware that there were no en-suite bathrooms and although we never had a problem with availability and hot water was always available, the locks were broken!!! Towels are not provided but may be rented for 20 pesos each. We did not see any yoga classes while we were there! The No Smoking Signs are not enforced so that the smoke permeates into the bedrooms. There is a For Sale sign on the building so perhaps this is the reason the owners are not keeping up with the maintenance. Had we been staying any longer we would have sought alternative lodging.

On the plus side, it is in a very central yet quiet location with great security. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast is included which along with the communal kitchen with fridge allows you to supplement the bread and jam, fruit and excellent coffee, to get off to a good start. The dining room is in a delightful library/tv room off the interior garden, and wifi is available. The place still attracts wholesome and interesting travellers.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have windows.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a great little find on a budget. The hostel has dorm rooms and private rooms, with breakfast, wifi and HOT showers included. There is a great little courtyard and a communal area to relax in, plus it has its own yoga studio which you are allowed to use to yourself if there are no classes on. They have daily classes which are really cheap, unfortunately there was no yoga teacher during my stay. The place is extremely quiet and peaceful, and only 3 blocks from the main Plaza. I would really recommend staying here if you want some down time to relax

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Hello M.B. Thanks about your comments on trip advisor.com about Ganesha posada and so sorry about the yoga instructors and yoga calsses. the next time if you visit san cristobal and Ganesha posada, all the clases will be free for you.

Regards

Fabian Solorzano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This place is just lovely. Pretty quiet, Indian fabrics on the walls, relaxing, sunny courtyard. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the staff are friendly and considerate. There are only 2 bathrooms for the 7 rooms but the steaming hot showers and incredible water pressure (a necessity when you have thick long hair) make it absolutely worth it. Breakfast is nothing to sing about but it is served in a cozy little library off the interior garden and is sufficient and you can supplement your breakfast using the clean communal kitchen. I would highly recommend this place to someone coming San Cris. Mattresses are AMAZING.

Room Tip: Get the cabana if you can
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakermarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I can warmly recommend this place with its outstanding atmosphere. The simple rooms were definitely great value for the money with its tasty decoration and excellent quality mattress (something you seldom come across when traveling). You also feel that this place takes pride in being clean and hygienic. A further plus is the breakfast served including coffee, tea, fresh fruit, bread with jam and butter as well as the yoga classes. I would not hesitate one second to go back and stay there, - a real nice oasis in the middle of San Cristobal!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabianganesha, Propietario at Ganesha Posada, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013
Google Translation

Hola Melanie, gracias por tan lindo comentario, te agradezco mucho escribas tan bien en tripadvisor de nosotros, te envio un cordial abrazo... te esperamos pronto...fabian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

One of the best places i stayed in Mexico. All the essentials are there: clean, great location, comunal kitchen and a fair price. The outstanding things are the big yoga room with really affordable classes by the end of the day and the cozy open air area. The staff were really concerned about making us enjoyng the best out of the time we had in the city. They even took me to play some football with them, followed by some deserved beers at the end of the match!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianofatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews