We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of Casa Na Bolom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Na Bolom
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We went to casa na bolom to stay for 4 nights. It is actually a museum with rooms in witch you can stay. It it a beautyfull place, with beautyfull decorated rooms. And you can visit the museum and gardens while you are there. We had a big room with bathroom, and had a great stay. November is cold here, so bring warm clothes and pyjama's, because the nights are very cold. The place oozes with character, altough it is not close to the places you want to see in oaxaca. You have to walk a while to the Zocalo, (15 min) but it is fine if you don't have trouble with that. The people who run the place are very friendly, altough they don't speak english (there was 1 men who did, but i don't think he worked at na bolom, which was lucky for us, otherwise it was difficult to communicate!) . We didn't eat at the restaurant, because it was low season nobody was there, but there was one big table on wich everybody would eat at. I can recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10En
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    36
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
41
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is a very special place, taking you back in time. Yes, it's a little rustic, and the room can feel cold in the winter, but the ambiance more than compensated for little inconveniences. The hotel is a little far from the center: a good 20 minute walk from anywhere, but you can also catch a quick taxi. I will come back to Na Bolom.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonbathing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I am perplexed by the bad reviews but understand there are always the toursist(s) that expect everything as it is at the 5 star hotels. Those that cater towards people who travel but don't really put themselves into the culture they are traveling in.

All of the staff and volunteers where wonderful. They seem to be here 24x7, so if I have to wait while they chat; I am ok with that.

Our room was clean. The food was excellent and simple. The energy surrounding this museum (remember its a musuem first) is heartwarming.

P.S. the walk to town is a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljkshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

What a wonderful house the Na Bolom. Traditional spanish style with inner courtyards, nicely maintained and with a little garden in the back. Excellent museum and artifacts from the previous owners Frans and Gertrude Blom. Like having a hotel room in the museum, very special. If you have interest in archaeology and/or history of the Maya or region, this is a delightful place to stop for a few days. Friendly and helpful staff. Good spacious room with fireplace - it can be a bit chilly in San Cristobal and we had to use the fireplace. Quiet location 10 min. walk from city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jens h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We absolutely loved the experience at Casa Na Bolom . We stayed 3 nights and we loved the atmosphere of this museum/hotel.
The manager was accomodating and helpful and the staff friendly.
It is an expensive place, but for some good reasons and for the incredible story that is behind Casa Na Bolom.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryferrer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We enjoyed Na Bolom greatly and found it charming and tasteful. While walking around the museum hotel, you can enjoy all the great B&W portraits of the Lancandon people hanging all over the complex. We also love the wood fireplace and it helped in the evening when it got cold. My partner loves the library and spent a lot of time there. Staff were very helpful and took great care of us. Would recommend this place to anyone who knows how to appreciate a gem like this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I haven't been very good about reviewing places, though I use TripAdvisor religiously. So feeling guilty, I wanted to check the reviews for Na Bolom since I remembered the place so fondly from a trip two years ago. I was shocked to see the negative reviews.
Now, granted, if you are looking for a four-star hotel experience, this is not the place. It is a research center, museum, nonprofit, bed and breakfast, and garden, all wrapped in to one - and is a truly amazing experience. The history of the place is fascinating, as is the story of the two owners, and it's a great spot for learning about and even experiencing Mayan culture. This is how it was originally intended.
A few caveats - you may want to ask for a room in the original house. A few rooms are located in the garden and these are a little musty especially when it's cold and rainy (I wasa there in late May). However, I got a fireplace in my room, and staff helped start it for me. This was great fun.
As for the dinner, I was traveling alone and eager to meet people. As luck would have it, only one other woman was at Na Bolom when I was there, but we immediately became friends. I loved the communal table format, but it really isn't for everyone. The food is healthy and tasty. Nothing to write home about but more than adequate.
Lastly, it is somewhat out of town, so it's a bit of hike to get to the center.
These are all minor inconveniences, however, when you consider the beauty of the setting and the uniqueness of Na Bolom. I absolutely loved it.

Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank lmsdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#10 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nuestras Raices
Nuestras Raices
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Na Bolom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Na Bolom

Property: Casa Na Bolom
Address: Avenida Vicente Guerrero 33 | Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Na Bolom 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the tradition initiated by Gertrude Duby, Na Bolom also offers rooms for our guests. Each one of the 16 rooms is an extension of the museum, decorated individually with old furniture, artwork, textiles and photographs from the indigenous villages of Chiapas . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Na Bolom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Na Bolom Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing