We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for backpackers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Planet Hostel
2 reviews
“Great place for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

After arriving in san cristobal in the late afternoon we quickly snapped up the free taxi to the place. After spending 2 nights in a nice room with bathroom we left after reading the 'terrible' reviews, and came back the very next day. The staff here are always available, very friendly and helpful and despite a not perfect private bathroom this place is a place me and my partner will return to if we are ever back in san cristobal. I can't understand all the bad reviews as there's not many faults at all, its not perfect but for backpackers looking for a nice place to stay, 5 minutes from the main part of town, with what we have found to be very reliable internet, hot water and a help yourself kitchen (which yes you do have to wash up after yourselves, which i think seems fair) then hostel planet is a great place i can't recommend more.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schuyler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    24
    14
    14
    26
See reviews for
2
50
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Christobal de Las Casas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Its was a terrible experience, I would not recommand that hostel to anyone. The staff was totally, but totally unfriendly, the were rude and not a their place in an hostel. Don t go there.

Room Tip: Go to the posada mexico, very good service lean and cheap. The staff is really friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanH333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

their terrible internet lost my review!! Run by what appears to be 3 teenage boys, hospitality and friendliness are not a priority. Sheet changing and bathroom cleaning are nonexistant, and a fellow guest was mugged while we were here at night, and they didn't let him in. The workers spend their day watching the TV and using the free computers they offer. the internet never works. don't get enticed by the free taxi from the bus station. we left after 2 nights and changed hostals. in all fairness, their free breakfast coffee was always hot. the only time they speak to you or look you in the eyes is at 11am when they break down your door and ask you to pay or leave.

Room Tip: do not get ensnared by the free taxi from the bus station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariocdlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We got to the place following a advice from a resident of the hotel we met on the street and gave it a try.

We stayed there 2 nights.
At the first night we slept in a double room without bathroom. the bed was king size and the room, though moldy and quite shabby was clean. Didn`t trust the sheets too much though.
The shared bathroom happened to be just outside the door, had hot water and was clean enough.
On the 2nd night we moved to a room with private bathroom and shower for an additional 20 pesos. In it were a smaller double bad and a rather small bathroom. the room`s condition was OK, but the mattress was horrible.

The crew all in all were kind and friendly.

The place offers free internet, tv spot at each floor and a breakfast which doesn`t worth trying, with a "wash your own dishes" policy ...

The place was packed with other travelers and it seemed like a place suitable for backpackers with low budget, rather then for a couple looking for better conditions.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraeliCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

I really liked the hostel, since we got there the stuff made ​​us feel at home they were very friendly, good breakfast, room very clean,if we return to San Cristobal definitely return to the same hostel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernandavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

After 12 terrible hours in a nightbus, we arrived at the station of San Cristobal de las Casas. Because we didn't have a hotel booked yet, a guy could convince us to take this one: free taxi to the hotel with a room available immediately, only 200 pesos a night for 2 persons, with private bathroom, free internet and free breakfast. Turned out to be the worst night ever...
The staff was quite friendly, but they were some very young people chatting and playing music all day long (not really capable of running a decent hostal). We could still 'enjoy' breakfast: first wash your own dishes in a dirty kitchen, then found some rotten bananas, some dry bread and something called 'coffee'. There were a lot of backpackers, but the building felt so cold and dirty that we didn't feel like hanging around inside longer than necessary.
The room was horrible!! They sprayed some perfume just before we arrived i guess, to cover the smell of mould (which couldn't be covered at all!). Honestly said, i hardly dared to breath in that room! Everything was cold and humid because of the mould (even the mattress and the blankets). The bathroom (hardly big enough for 1 person) was so humid and dirty that i didn't even enter it once.
The night itself was very cold and noisy (you can here everything that happens in every corner of te building), full of insects (better leave the lights out :-s). The next day i tried to shower in the shared bathroom (it was also dirty, but at least bigger than the one in our room), but there wasn't hot water... And the breakfast was even worse than the previous day!
The next day we took our stuff (i didn't unpack anything!) and went to another hotel ('Posada Belén'), much better!!! After a loooong hot shower we felt clean and better! Never again! This has really left a negative feeling about the city...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylveske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allhaming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

They offer internet for free, you make very fast friends because there are many backpackers. It is very loud from the guests and the waterpump.

The rooms are damp and on the ceiling there is a lot of mould, we had to leave after 30min because my girlfriend could not respire. The rooms are not clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allhaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#41 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hostel

Property: Planet Hostel
Address: Calle Cintalapa No. 6, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 102 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing