We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cool Hostel....Great People!”
Review of Iguana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguana Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in February. Perfect place to explore San Cristobal from, close to food and artisan markets, as well as El Centro. Easy walk from the bus station, and the neighborhood is great! The staff was awesome, free breakfast, and the hottest shower I had in Mexico! The beds were average, but wi-fi was good. Gets a little chilly at night in the dorm, so bundle up or ask for an extra blanket. It was a steal at $100 Pesos a night! Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vantine8665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

It s a nice hostel not expensive, very cosy. Plus, it s a perfect location in teh middle of teh citty, to box from the market, and a The people working there are so friendly .... And very helpfull. They speak all perfect english and can help you out with issue if you dont speak spanish !! The owner is very kind. Bel endroit, convivial, centré, propre, bon rapport qualité-prix, Le responsable et son équipe sont très chaleureux mais surtout prêts à rendre service et inquiets de ton bien-être.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Iguana hostel is a small hostel with a familair admosphere and 3 bloks from the center plaza! Nice owner, good staff and always place to talk and relax in the hangmats. Some travelers keep on hanging around for a longer period. The hostel has 2 big bathrooms and 4 toilet. Also a beautiful kitchen and foodshare happens a lot. This hostel is relaxed and friendly. Making contact is easy and warm. Very safe because lockers and portier is closed and the hostel is not to busy!! The breakfast is included and amazing!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Marga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here in January, and really enjoyed it. The people working there were really friendly, and knew a lot about there area and how to get to places independently, and if they didn't they would find out. The place is clean, with a decent kitchen and two common areas, which was good to meet and hangout with other travellers. Breakfast was nice and made fresh each day, although it would have been good if it was actually properly available at 8am, instead of being made at just before 8am, and therefore really ready at 8.30am. I definitely recommend this hostel though as I had a great time, and it felt like a home away from home. We even had a pot-luck dinner one night, yum!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I found the Iguana hostel by mistake , but had just a great time there , the place is amazing in the best location near the market , the hostel has a big garden with alot of hammocks ( and it's very sunny ) , every morning they make different great Breakfast , every evening the guests join together and make dinners ( Guacamole or Curry pasta ) , you meet people from all around the world , and Rudy the owner is one of the nicest persona I've met .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shay Yosef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Iguana is a great hostel. I srayed there in novmber and st. Chris is a bit chilly in the winter/fall but they have thick wool blankets to keep you warm. The breakfast is great and way beyond what i got at any other hostel in mexico. Iguana is located between the artisans marked and the huge everything-marked, and a three minute walk from the main square. They actually do have hot water! The outside area is cozy and has hamocks and a fireplace. The staff was always helpfull, the place was always clean and the owner, Rudy, is the most helpfull man in history. While i was in st. Cris i lost my phone, my bus and my wallet. When i came back to the hostel afterloosing my bus, rudy drove me back to the station and got me a new ticket for half the price. When i lost my phone my girlfrien got the number of the guy who had it on sms, Rudy called the guy up in Liam Neson style and half an hour later i haf my phone back. They found my wallet while they where cleaning after i left, Rudy contacted me and i got it back to. Also a friend of rudy does bicycle and hiking tours around st. Chris witch is awesome. I higly recomend this place i had a really good time here and can't think of anything negative to say.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Iguana hostel is a great place to stay. Would, and do, recommend to anyone going to San cristobal. The place has a nice vibe, and lovely staff who are very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and comfortable beds! Relaxed, social place stay :) they even organise bbq's regularly which brings everyone together, and they'll take you out to local bars after the communal area closes at 11pm.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#57 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
56 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Azulejos
Hotel Azulejos
#32 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#25 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 125 in San Cristobal de las Casas
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 125 in San Cristobal de las Casas
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal el Rincon de  los Camellos
Hostal el Rincon de los Camello...
#2 of 125 in San Cristobal de las Casas
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Hostel

Address: Calle Chiapa de Corzo 16 | Barrio el Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Iguana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven years since opening, IGUANA HOSTEL is well known among backpackers for its family, chilled out and fun atmosphere. People come to the Iguana for two nights and they stay for two weeks... This is because Iguana Hostel can host only up to 27 people, so it's easy to make friends to share fun with, and we will always take good care of you. Our main asset is our staff: travellers on the road, who love making friends, and speak your language. The IGUANA HOSTEL is situated in a historic Barrio del Cerrillo, with a panoramic view from the terrace. The hostel is located near Santo Domingo a church surrounded and a colourful handcraft market, 2 blocks from the public market and only 7 minutes walk from the very heart of the city: la Catedral and el Parque Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Iguana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing