We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly”
Review of Hostal Akumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Akumal
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Highly recommended, only a small hostel, but it has all that you need for a traveller, and more. Every mornings breakfast was different, the coffee strong, and El Senor Erick has to be one of the most chilled dudes around. People I stayed with found the place so inviting that we spent more time in the Hostel, than outside of it, whether it was relaxing in the artistically painted courtyard, or doing hammock time or mescal testing on the roof, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBlue1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

To have great experiences, to meet nice people, share good times, etc, etc.

We felt right at home here in more ways than one. The place is warm, chilled music in the background, a good set of guests enjoying the really well laid out common area with lots of interesting photography and books.

The private rooms is good and Erick, the owner, is a good source of info. He also makes a great breakfast, even when we were late up. Really gets involved with his guests if they want it, taking a few along with him to the 10th anniversary of a local bar.

PROS
The room
Free breakfast
Free wifi
The living area
General ambiance.
Peaceful, if you need it.

CONS
shared bathrooms only - if this bothers you.

Would we stay here again? Yes

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank yorkie98Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Can't leave a review that translates how much fun we had staying with Erick at Hostal Akumal. The man is a legend, and I would go as far as saying that it was the best hostel we stayed in all of South America & Mexico purely because Erick is such a great dude, cooks a mean breakfast, and the vibe of the place is like being at a home not a hostel! We had a 7/8 person crew, we all arrived at the same time, and for 3 days we had a blast in San Cristobal. Erick was part of the gang, showed us all the best spots, AND this place has the most amazing hostel dog, Chandra. Just stay here & see if you don't leave an aggressively positive review on TripAdvisor !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walbyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was one of my favorite hostels in Mexico. The owner lives up stairs, cooks breakfast and bakes bread every morning, and is incredibly knowledgeable about the region and things for travellers to do. The hostel is small, so it feels like a more personalized experience, and during the time I stayed it cycled through some more quiet times and more rowdy times, so it was both fun and relaxing by turns. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchyfeet303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a small hostel, only ten beds, but you are certainly made to feel like home. I stayed here long enough to thoroughly absorb what San Cristobal has to offer. Erich is a wonderful host, it is his home after all. On chilly nights he would make a fire in the fireplace. Chandra, the hostel dog, is a character in her own right. I would recommend this hostel to anyone who likes a small, cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorbackpacker67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

I never write reviews but I couldn't resist for this place. It's more like staying with a family than at a hostel. Eric, the cool bloke running it, is always up for a chill and chat (he speaks great English), and he cooks a mean breakfast. Its only 5 minutes from the town square and he can tell you everything you need to know to take it from there. Great value! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chernald18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Great owners, great hostel, great atmosphere. Really good breakfasts, warm fires in the evening and like minded guests.
The bathroom was clean, they were relaxed about us turning up at 5am to check in and didn't even charge us for an extra night and provided us with breakfast free if charge for the first morning even though we had not paid for the night before.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Londontravelbugkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 122 in San Cristobal de las Casas
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal el Rincon de  los Camellos
Hostal el Rincon de los Camello...
#2 of 122 in San Cristobal de las Casas
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#23 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#53 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Akumal

Address: Av. 16 de Septiembre | Between Gautemala y Venezuela, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £9 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our delicious breakfast: homemade wholemeal bread with homemade jam, a delicious egg-dish, organic coffee from regional production and fresh milk and butter.One block away from the central zone and colorful market of Santo Domingo, Hostal Akumal is one of the most centrally located hostels in San Cristobal.Its harmonious atmosphere offers tranquility one step from the exciting downtown life.As the hosts share this house they treat the building and its inhabitants as their home and family.You can expect to curl up in front of the fireplace on one of Chiapas cool, crystal clear nights, enjoy the sun on the patio or the garden-like terrace. Prepare a delicious meal in our fully equipped kitchen, organize your travel plans in the practical book and computer corner or on the comfy couches in the candle-lit living room: The uncomplicated ambience of this place makes you get involved with other guests quickly. check in: 6:00 amcheck out: 12:00breakfast includedcredit cards not accepted ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing