We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew?”

Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Who knew you could find good Italian food in Chiapas? This place is the real deal, and Antonio and his son Leonardo are very friendly. A great choice if your gringo gut is feeling a bit queasy from the local cuisine. Not cheap by Chiapas standards, but not unreasonable either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“OMG....NO!”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We went here tonight for my birthday and it was just soooo disappointing. Don't even bother. Rude owner/manager. Poor ambiance. But the worst thing was my entree. It was, quite literally, inedible. It tasted like white glue. I couldn't eat it and, with regrets, I sent it back. However, when the bill came, there was the cost of the inedible entree! I don't know what to say, except, do yourself a favor and don't go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcyb414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“homemade pasta can't compensate for blah service”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I unfortunately chose this retaurant for my birthday dinner because of its great reviews and homemade pasta. Having lived in Italy I have pretty high standards for Italian cuisine and thought that the tagliatelle was very good...but there were many sauces to choose from, some better than others. If the service had been better, I would have enjoyed the dinner so much more. But they acted indifferent to our existence, were unable to offer recommendations about the menu, and just seemed altogether uninterested in having us dine in their restaurant. No smiles. No "buon appetito". It was really weird.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiki-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth looking for location”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

One fo the tour books, gives the wrong address for this gem of an Italian restaurant. They moved two years ago due to a fire in their previous location... This is two streets off the main drag... and worth the walk. Excellent Italian food well prepared by young people from San Geminiano and Roma.... Delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank evelyneml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oaxaca, oaxaca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“best pasta”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant a few months ago but like it even more this time. The restaurant was previously on Real de Guadalupe but there was a fire in December so it has relocated. It is about 2 blocks from its old location on Flores (i think) - it is one block north of Real de Guadalupe and about the same block east. The new restaurant is so much nicer. Warm, sunny, great service, a garden space and I hear they are adding a oven for pizza. The homemade fettuccine carbonara is my favorite but everything was great - I think it was 95 pesos.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2oaxaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing