We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but lacking in ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo

Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food but lacking in ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went to this restaurant on recommendation from a local resident. If we had just been passing it is unlikely we would have ventured inside. The food is very good. Mixed bruschetta is plenty for two, and the past was freshly cooked and well flavoured. The wine was fine, the service was very willing but lacking in training. Only one other couple ate here in the time we were there.

With a little attention to such things as lighting, table cloths and napkins, etc. this would attract a lot more visitors, and be a more vibrant place.

Unusually for Mexico, there are unable to serve margaritas.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Venue, excellent Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Been here a few times the food is above average. The previous venue burnt down but I think they did a huge improvement with the new one. Great outdoor seating area. Also very close 1 block to the Andador of Guadalupe. The pasta was good and but would have been nicer if it was creamier. Got some ribs also but not very good, stick to pastas and pizzas. The pizza was a great value some large pizzas under 100 peso and on par with el Punto also done in a brick oven. There is a kid area in the garden also which is Great for families with you children.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brick oven pizza on a patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

They have a wonderful inner court yard with beautiful green grass, The pizza is made and the kiln is on the patio. We were able to watch them toss the crust in the air and put it in the oven. They have some unusual toppings such as smoked salmon but the one that looked the best with the most toppings was the vegetarian. They serve the spicy olive oils with the pizzas. One like a very garlic flavored ranch dressing and our favorite was the Habanero/Olive oil.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CountryHarvestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Who knew you could find good Italian food in Chiapas? This place is the real deal, and Antonio and his son Leonardo are very friendly. A great choice if your gringo gut is feeling a bit queasy from the local cuisine. Not cheap by Chiapas standards, but not unreasonable either.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
“OMG....NO!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We went here tonight for my birthday and it was just soooo disappointing. Don't even bother. Rude owner/manager. Poor ambiance. But the worst thing was my entree. It was, quite literally, inedible. It tasted like white glue. I couldn't eat it and, with regrets, I sent it back. However, when the bill came, there was the cost of the inedible entree! I don't know what to say, except, do yourself a favor and don't go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcyb414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Cucina Italiana Il Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing