We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada del Abuelito
Certificate of Excellence
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've been several times in san cristobal in different hostels and posada el abuelito is my favorite one now. Staff is helpful and very kind; rooms, kitchen and yard were clean all the time (even restrooms!). But the best part was breakfast, simple but delicious (you must try the guava-banana jam!!). Oh,and there are hammocks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryjoP156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
119
84
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a really lovely hostel, with friendly staff and nice atmosphere. Very clean toilets and showers with hot water all day. Free WiFi, very tasty breakfast and many blankets for the cold nights. Our check-in was the fastest as possible. Simon welcomed us great, answered all questions and was extremely helpful. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezabel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We came to San Cristobal for a few days and ended up staying for a week because the hostel was wonderful.
Amazing communal area that catches the sun.
Excellent breakfast! 2 eggs each and delicious home made jam.
Very friendly, homely feel.
Amazing trips to be booked through the hostel and they even arranged our bus to Guatemala.
If you are staying in San Cristobal then stay here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed here for three nights in the dorm in last January. A quiet place, good to meet people. The kitchen is well equiped and breakfast (included) is simple but good. Wifi is working well. Personell, mostly foreigners, is helpfull and you can arrange tours and transportation too in this hostel. In short, a nice place to stay for a longer period. Top of all, it's a clean place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife, PE
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Is a nice place to meet people and the staff is realy nice and helpfull and they can arranje your tours for a fair price (i took one to Cañon de Sumidero).
The breakfast is good, but you have to prepar it yourself, what for me is not a problem. You can use the kichen and the refrigerator to prepar your meals too.
The location is ok, but a little far from the center of the city and even more far from the bus station.
I booked a suite (I don´t remember the number), and during the night the room was really cold because the windows and the door didn't close well, so there was a flow of wind passing through the room. There are no locker or safebox in this room, but the place seems to be secure.

So overall, I recomend the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights and it was hard for us to leave as we felt like at home there. It's a lovely peaceful posada, not a party hostel. What we like the most was a very cosy colonial garden patio with a lot of place to relax. The breakfast was very good too (cereals, fruits, home-made jam, eggs). Staff is very informative about the tours - especially Marco is a very friendly and helpful person and has good knowlegde about Chiapas. Location is 10 mins from Zocalo, rooms are clean, hot water is working, wi-fi is fast. Overally, I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed there for some nights end of October this year and found this hostel to be a really nice option for staying in San Cristobal. We had a room with own bathroom. The room was very simple, but clean and perfect for the price. Location is very close to the centre and all restaurants and shops. The patio of the hostel is really nice decorated, breakfast nice and even though it was quite cold during our stay we had enough blankets to keep us warm. Really enjoyed our stay there!

If you continue to Palenque by bus, make sure you don't get into the dark, still dangerous to drive by bus at night, we had our experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sundreamer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Abuelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Abuelito

Property: Posada del Abuelito
Address: Calle Tapachula # 18 | Barrio El Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A multi-awarding winning Hostel loved by guests. Posada del Abuelito a lovely colonial house situated in one of the oldest barrios of the city, Posada del Abuelito is a wonderfully friendly, cozy and charming posada with clean and comfortable rooms, furnished in rustic Mexican style. Facilities include: an immaculate 9 bed mixed dormitory, as well as a 4 bed women's dorm, private rooms with shared bath and private rooms with en-suite bath. Guests enjoy the use of a clean, community kitchen, warm fireplace and HOT water 24 hours per day. All rooms are equipped with electrical outlets, complimentary towels, extra blankets and hangers. We offer a complimentary breakfast of Eggs, Cereal,Fresh Bread, our famous homemade jam, butter, coffee, tea and fruit. The friendly, multilingual staff is on site 24 hours per day and always happy to assist with tourist information, tour and transport bookings and lots of helpful advice!Other amenities include FREE internet and Wi-Fi, FREE purified drinking water, FREE luggage storage and FREE lockers in the dorms. There are several places to sit, relax and enjoy our beautiful patio and small garden. Guests are welcome to spend the chilly nights in front of the fire in our shared livingroom -- where they can roast marshmallows, use the computer or just hang out and make new friends!Please come join us at our beautiful, historic and friendly home! It's a wonderfully warm and relaxed vibe and we would love to get to know you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Posada del Abuelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing