We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my kind of hostel”
Review of Hostel Qhia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Qhia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not my kind of hostel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a private room for 2 nights based upon the positive reviews on trip advisor and was looking forward to my stay. On arrival I was shown the private room options - neither of which were particularly appealing. Both rooms felt dirty and the bedding had seen better days. I found myself checking for bugs as I had a number of bites on my legs - I didn't find any in the bedding. The hostel also doesn't provide soap in the toilets or a towel - so bring your own. They do provide breakfast which is a piece of toast. as there was festering fruit in the common kitchen it wasn't appetizing. On the plus side it's cheap, the location is good and the roof is nice. The staff are friendly, but only one person spoke English, so if your Spanish is cursory you may want to try somewhere else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank somedays_i_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
29
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honduras
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Absolutely loved this place. The location, the price, the room, the AWESOME hot shower (you'll want that in San Cristobal), the staff, the terrace, the patio down below: all top-notch.

A simple continental breakfast is provided in the morning; my only suggestion would be to improve on the coffee a tad. Otherwise, I can't think of much they could improve on--really, this is exactly what a hostel/guesthouse should be.

Great work and my hat goes off to the owners of this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I loved my short stay in this hostel which is truly international. It is very clean and conveniently located near the church of Santo Domingo and the crafts market. There are paintings everywhere done by ex-guests so the place has a really lived-in feeling. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful especially isable. I highly recommend this hostel to you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorena1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at this hostel in december 2012 and i had an amazing time. it is quiet and Alex is full of good advice for touristic trips but as well nice typical restaurant around the city. I recomande this hostel if you want to have a great time in San christobal and if you want to feel home in Mexico... ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeloiseBourgeois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After staying at qhia on two separate occasions I'd say it is probably one of my favorite hostels that I have stayed at after months of traveling. It is a budget hostel decorated by murals and art left by travelers and locals of San cris and has a beautiful garden attracting hummingbirds. The employees are extremely kind and eager to share what they know about the city. The spacious upstairs terrace might be one of the coziest places Ive ever hung out in, with a large fireplace, beds all over the floor to take naps, read, or play guitar, and beautiful artwork in all directions. The kitchen is loaded with proper cooking utensils and has a generous sharing basket full of spices and herbs. Lastly it is in a great location being only a couple minute walk from the food and artesanal market. If you're looking for an authentic San cristobal experience where you can practice your spanish, meet wonderful locals, and meet fascinating world travelers qhias your spot.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andjross4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I found this perfect hostel! It is located in the most interesting area of ​​the city center, close to the craft markets, between small and pretty streets.
It has a large terrace with views of the city, and on the same roof there is a large common room available, for the relax of all the guests. There, you can read, work on the computer, chatting with others. Alex, the manager of the hostel is muy buena onda! Ask him, the hostel offer the service of planning short travels around. This hostel is a perfect combination, because it is a quiet and peaceful place, but, at the same time, it is very easy-going place, where meet new friends and socialize.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesca o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hostel has a the best location possible, a few seconds away from the market, the main street and the city center in general... It has a very nice setting, warm, cosy, clean and well decorated. The must see is the incredible view on the mountains surrounding the city from the terrace on rooftop.. Breakfast is included and tasty and there's a kitchen available to cook. Alex, the manager seemed like a friend we had always knew, he's so welcoming and helpful and really do his best to make you feel like home, playing the guitar, singing, trying to speak your language and making you discover the mexican culture as much as he can...! I would definitely go back !

Room Tip: The twin bedrooms are very comfortable and almost the same price as the dorms - it's really wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#3 of 86 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 107 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Qhia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Qhia

Property: Hostel Qhia
Address: Calle Tonala 5 | Barrio El Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 107 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small boutique hostel, owned and run by Rodolfo for the last 13 years, is a remarkably warm and welcoming home for backpackers and independent travelers. Much quieter than others, everything is spotless. You enter a leafy courtyard with a fountain in the middle where fish swim. You can also enjoy the sun terrace and admire the mountains, prepare small dish in the kitchen or enjoy a barbecue. The communal sitting area awaits you with cushions and fireplace. Wi-Fi access to the Internet is free.The four mixed dorms are spacious and airy with private lockers for every guest. In addition, there are four bedrooms, one with ensuite bathroom. It is ideally situated in a quiet area, close to the craft market and great restaurants and downtown.The hostel also offers tours around Chiapas and horseback to the mountains or to San Juan Chamula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Qhia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing