We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average”
Review of Hotel Posada Jovel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Posada Jovel
Monterrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a nice average hotel in San Cristobal. They had a problem with my reservation that i paid and reserved online. They wanted me to pay again for it, they checked it and fixed the mistake. The rooms are small but comfortable, we stayed 2 nights but they didn't clean up the room once. The garden is really pretty actually, and overall i think is an average hotel, cheaper than most but nothing more than average. There is no internet in the rooms, only conection available is close to the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant can pick up the wireless internet connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
25
56
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We walked in (Aug '11) and got a room on the other side of the road (with common bathroom) for 150 Pesos. For the price, the room was really nice (if small), and we loved the intricately folded towels. The bathroom wasn't the cleanest but it had hot water. The WiFi signal didn't reach our room so we had to go across the road to the main hotel to access internet.

We liked having kitchen access but there was no dishwashing liquid/soap so the previous guests had left the dishes quite dirty :|. Don't expect much help from the staff either, although they are courteous enough.

Location is quite good, just a couple of blocks away from Real de Guadalupe and yet very quiet. It's a bit far from the bus station though. There are small shops around the corner and also a very good laundry that charges by kilo.

Overall, the place was quite acceptable, with nice views and a decent sitting area too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is a nice hotel with a lovely garden and great views from the terrace. We took one of the rooms on the third floor to have more light. The rooms are a good size, nicely decorated and with a decent bathroom. The room is a good deal at 400 pesos but breakfast wasn’t included. We went to a great place for breakfast around the corner called Las Nubes – if the weather is nice they have tables on their little terrace. There is free wifi down stairs. You can find a better price online than they tell you at reception – just ask for the online advertised price.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more light and air
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyFranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here on 10/31 & 11/1 (Day of the Dead). Walked in without reservation and got 2 seperate rooms (myself and father) at 250 Pesos/Night/Room ($20 US). Rooms were across street in older section of hotel, but had good basic cable and fantastic hot water shower. Bed was comfortable too and housekeeping thorough. Did not eat in hotel or use other services. 5 minute walk to pedestrian area of Real de Guadalupe or 20 de Noviembre.

Room Tip: Better room$ are on same side of the street as the reception. But other side of street is cheaper an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJKNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. When we arrived they couldn't find our reservation but they managed to find a room for the first night. They then said we would have to change to the hotel across the road for the other two nights. As it turned out this didn't happen. The room was on the top floor and it was small with a very small bed. Shower was great and overall it was clean and tidy. First night they charged us MXN400 then it was increased to MXN450 ;-( but we couldnt be bothered moving. Restaurant downstairs has breakfast but the prices are quite expensive compared to the cares a couple of blocks away. Service was ok but not that friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junkscience89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Basic rooms with a good hot shower! Only disadvantage is that the rooms are humid, the towels did not dry well.
The hotel is at a good location and is reasonable priced (550 pesos for a double).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The shame about this place is that the rooms and the building are actually pretty but it is totally let down by the staff who were disinterested from the moment we arrived till the moment we left in terms of making sure our stay was a comfortable and pleasant as possible. Quite honestly it felt like they were going out of their way just to be there and help with the simplest of inquiries and tasks. Laundry? They nearly lost items and almost couldn't be bothered tracking them down for us. Shoddy. If you can find somewhere else I would suggest you do.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.8 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#29 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#61 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#40 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Jovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Jovel

Property: Hotel Posada Jovel
Address: Flavio A Paniagua No.28, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Posada Jovel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Posada Jovel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing