We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“save money”
Review of Hotel Posada Jovel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Jovel
A TripAdvisor Member
“save money”
Reviewed 23 June 2005

I decided to write about Posasa Jovel, because this a really nice hotel specially if your go to San Cristóbal and your look for hotels- 3 or 4 stars- Posada jovel this an ideal hotel to save money and not pay as hotel 3 stars big and nice garden, flowers in rooms,tv cable, wood ceiling, three blocks from twon centre - breakfast- buffet delcious.

l stayed four days, sttaf offer us a bottle wine (nice wine! caverner sauvignon) it was a courtesy because we stayed two nights more

l didn't know but this hotel sell packages -all includes- (accommodation breakfast included, tours, etc) I think this packages are cheap.
so you can save money!

also this hotel sell international calling cards (very cheap -50 min it costs 7 euros) to call to europe, (i don't remember but i woks to call to usa too)

sttaf is very helpful and nice so I recommend this place to stay in san cristobal.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    52
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
25
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chartres, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2005

We are a french family and we stayed in Posada Jovel last week. We found this hotel very nice. The staff is pleasant and obliging. Our child here were happy because thera is a pretty garden where they could play. Really we recommanded this place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabriceLeveuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2005

I was in posada jovel
staff is very nice and helpful, I was vey sick they took care of me, I felt at home environment.
posada jovel has a very nice big garden... really! it is unusal in the hotels in san cristobal, the natural flowers in rooms, I think this the reason posada jovel costs a little more money at other places

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 February 2005

I am always really wary about reviews that slate a hotel, but I feel really strongly that this hotel should be avoided at all costs. We were travelling through Mexico for 2 months and had a wonderful time and were really excited about arriving in San Cristobal. The Posada Jovel isn't a nice place however, from the first day we were surprised at the unhelpful and at times rude attitude of the staff, which was in such a great contrast to everywhere else we had stayed.

We were then subject to a really unfortunate incident where the rather highly strung owner, who seemed to enjoy a drama, kicked us out of the hotel for pointing out that they had ruined all of our clothes in their laundry. Jovel is a pretty hotel, but I would hate any other travellers to experience what we did, which was a stressful and upsetting stay when there are so many other great places to stay in San Cristobal.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 September 2003

i was in san cristobal in june. actually, i moved from another hotel to the posada hovel. i found the staff very helpfull. also wll located.
rooms across the street in another part of same hotel cheaper. very clean.
bien viaje

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#10 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#26 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
#40 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#63 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Jovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Jovel

Property: Hotel Posada Jovel
Address: Flavio A Paniagua No.28, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Posada Jovel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Posada Jovel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing