We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Posada Jovel”
Review of Hotel Posada Jovel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Jovel
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We stayed for several nights at Posada Jovel. We loved it. The courtyard was beautiful, the views were fantastic, and everything was spotless. We loved the very inexpensive and delicious breakfast buffet. It's the only buffet we've been to that offers mango juice as a juice option! We found the employees very helpful. The rooms weren't big, but there were many places to sit outside of the rooms, which was where we wanted to be, anyway. The fresh calla lilies in all of the corridors were a nice touch. I still can't believe we paid so little for so much!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mlpwrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2006

Our initial impression was that Posada Jovel was pleasant and colorful (this was the building where the reception desk is, not their other building called "the Annex" across the street). We had a nice sized room (#17) with hard wood floors and the room was super clean. Rooms were very cheap, but you didn't get any extras (no heat, phone, TV, AC), so don't expect much. This was fine for what we needed. We ended up staying here for about 5 days, then returned to stay here for another 5 days before leaving Chiapas. Now that we think about it, we should have left sooner as there are many better (and cheaper) places in town.

Unfortunately over the next two days I noticed I had gotten major bug bites, which we believe came from the room because it was cold and we were covered head to toe when outside (doctor was able to confirm it was some kind of bug bite). I doubt they were bedbugs because the place really looked clean. Strangely, my husband didn't have any bites, but just to be safe, we switched rooms. After that, the bites stopped.

Our second room (#19) was equally clean, but super tiny. Curtains were very thin, so it felt like a fishbowl. Again, it was fine, but in retrospect, we could have done much better.

Our third room (after we returned, room #12) was again clean, but this time the toilet/shower were one combined space (one could shower and use the toilet at the same time!), and the room was even tinier than the last, but this time darker with concrete floors. Seemed we were going downhill the longer we stayed. No bottle of wine like the other reviewer for staying a few extra days.

The hosts/owners seemed to have relatives visiting over the Christmas holidays, so needless to say, there were children playing/yelling often. It was busy, and noisy. The bookeeping system was mediocre (they had us all over the place in their handwritten record book, but miraculously they managed to have all of the information correct).

Why we continued to stay there, I'm not sure. We were too lazy to move, I think. Posada Jovel is well priced, and not far away from town. It's not a bad place, but to be honest, it wasn't that fantastic either. Breakfast buffet was very nice & cheap, and some staff were extremely friendly. There's laundry, tour booking, and internet services. However, at the end of our time there, we discovered several other places we would rather have stayed in. If we were to go back again, and I hope we do, we'd try staying at La Noria (more pricey, but nicer), El Cerrillo (on the corner of Cristobol Colon & Ejercito Nacional) or even better, Casa de Carmelita aka Posada Carmelita down the street from La Casa de Pan restaurant (very cheap and nice).

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank caaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 22 July 2005

We stayed at the Jovel because of the reviews here and I must say that we were disappointed. They gave us a room in the building where the reception is, which is more youth hostel style.

The rate was too high for what it is. The room was a bit run-down and
damp (it was quite cold and rainy at that time) without heating. The bathroom lacked some tiles. There were traces of mold in the bathroom which is not only unhygienic but also unhealty. The shower is only divided by a moldy curtain from the toilet and when we took a shower, the water didn´t drain.

The owners seem to be nice - to the guests, who stay across the road! But they were ignorant and unfriendly to us and not helpful at all. We had the feeling that guests in the hostel-part of the hotel are "2nd class guests" to them. All in all, not a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
dubois
12
Reviewed 23 June 2005

I decided to write about Posasa Jovel, because this a really nice hotel specially if your go to San Cristóbal and your look for hotels- 3 or 4 stars- Posada jovel this an ideal hotel to save money and not pay as hotel 3 stars big and nice garden, flowers in rooms,tv cable, wood ceiling, three blocks from twon centre - breakfast- buffet delcious.

l stayed four days, sttaf offer us a bottle wine (nice wine! caverner sauvignon) it was a courtesy because we stayed two nights more

l didn't know but this hotel sell packages -all includes- (accommodation breakfast included, tours, etc) I think this packages are cheap.
so you can save money!

also this hotel sell international calling cards (very cheap -50 min it costs 7 euros) to call to europe, (i don't remember but i woks to call to usa too)

sttaf is very helpful and nice so I recommend this place to stay in san cristobal.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2005

We are a french family and we stayed in Posada Jovel last week. We found this hotel very nice. The staff is pleasant and obliging. Our child here were happy because thera is a pretty garden where they could play. Really we recommanded this place.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabriceLeveuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
BELGIUM
14
Reviewed 12 May 2005

I was in posada jovel
staff is very nice and helpful, I was vey sick they took care of me, I felt at home environment.
posada jovel has a very nice big garden... really! it is unusal in the hotels in san cristobal, the natural flowers in rooms, I think this the reason posada jovel costs a little more money at other places

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
14
Reviewed 28 February 2005

I am always really wary about reviews that slate a hotel, but I feel really strongly that this hotel should be avoided at all costs. We were travelling through Mexico for 2 months and had a wonderful time and were really excited about arriving in San Cristobal. The Posada Jovel isn't a nice place however, from the first day we were surprised at the unhelpful and at times rude attitude of the staff, which was in such a great contrast to everywhere else we had stayed.

We were then subject to a really unfortunate incident where the rather highly strung owner, who seemed to enjoy a drama, kicked us out of the hotel for pointing out that they had ruined all of our clothes in their laundry. Jovel is a pretty hotel, but I would hate any other travellers to experience what we did, which was a stressful and upsetting stay when there are so many other great places to stay in San Cristobal.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
Hotel Posada El Paraiso
#40 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#55 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Jovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Jovel

Address: Flavio A Paniagua No.28, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £36 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Posada Jovel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posada Jovel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing