We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Leon de Jovel
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very friendly place! I stayed here on my way through Mexico and Central America, and this was one of my favorite stops. I felt safe and at home, and really enjoyed the "family dinner" that happened one of the nights. If I ever go back through I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    4
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We found this hostel to be a great experience - the rooms were nice and clean and the staff were super friendly and accommodating at all times. We had a lot of fun on the tours and got a look at San Christobal that you wouldn't ordinarily get from other less-involved hostel owners. All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reuben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

this hostel is really good value! its really friendly and cheap! the volunteers do loads of events and really try and help me with my spanish... err! they organise loads of communal dinners and days out (free days out). i stayed here two weeks but when i found somewhere to stay for the month the owners said i was still welcome to come along on the days out they do to meet new people. the owners are really friendly and both speak really good english. they recently did a big clean of the hostel and are slowly painting all teh rooms, so i think that is what the review below is all about. they did tell us that there would be a bit of work going on but it was never noisy. anyway, this hostel is really friendly and ask for fer or david as they are wicked and invite everybody to go on tours and days out. i am a solo travller but there are loads of couples living here. i wish more hostels were like this one! would make travelling even better! you will see that theres a lovely energy in this place!!! enjoy san cristobal!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Grotty, with all sorts of rubbish scattered around, mattresses piled up against the walls, a disorganised woman on reception, a couple of drugged up to the eyeballs sorts staggering around the courtyard, music blaring from speakers somewhere in the hostel. The only thing going for this place is that it's cheapish.

Room Tip: Would avoid choosing any room after the night we spent here, and try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fer Z, Propietario at Posada Leon de Jovel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we can only apologize that this time, we did not meet your expectations.
We try to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality, service and experience here. We spoke with the employee in question and we have decided to provide further training. Some of our staff are travellers doing work exchanges and at times I’m sure there are communication failures on our part. Our passion is to provide more than a bed for the night and provide guests with memorable experiences and a happy and comfortable atmosphere, a home away from home say. Unfortunately my business partner nor I can be in the hostel at all times as we organise tours and spend time with guests outside of the hostel. I would like to thank you again for your comments and only apologise that this time around we failed you both but we will accept your comments and do everything we can to put things right. If you happen to come through San Cristobal again we would be more than happy to offer you a couple of free nights and speak to you again as we do believe we run a good business that looks after guests and offers many services that others do not.

And thanks, again.

“Your most unhappy customers are your greatest source of learning.”
“Freedom is not worth having if it does not include the freedom to make mistakes.”
Mahatma Gandhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were booked in the Posada Mexico Youth Hostel but due to a change of plans we ended up in San Cristobal a day early. The hostel was fully booked, so we chose the first available option on the HostelWorld app, which was this... and we would have happily stayed for our entire stay!

We arrived very late but this was no problem and we were welcomed warmly by Nicola - we'd had a stressful journey and it was lovely to have a fellow Brit greet us!

The room was spotless and we loved the open courtyard in the middle of the hostel, as well as the beautiful tiles throughout.

We were literally only there to sleep, but I'd still recommend it - total bargain and very clean and friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I've been to San Cristobel several times but my stay at Posada Leon on my last trip was the very best.

Pancho and Nicola are the very best hosts. They made me feel so very welcome and were excellent and showing me around SC and pointing me to the best places to eat, drink and enjoy my stay. Nicola is from England and for someone whose Spanish isn't great she was really helpful. Theyre both hugely passionate and involved with the local community and I had a great time learning more about the area rather than just travelling on through Mexico as a normal traveller would.

The bedrooms are clean and tidy. The communal areas, hammocks, mural paintings and roof top made this a special place to stay. This isn't a place for the 'traveller' crowd but for people who want to hang out with interesting people and get to know the real Mexico.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeDeeZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed at Posada Leon de Jovel for over a month in total, split between September/October and coming back in December. I thought the hostel was brilliant, with knowledgable and friendly staff and chatty, adventurous travelers. The flower-filled courtyard was filled with color and lovely murals adorned the walls. For those who enjoy cooking, the fully stocked kitchen was large enough to accommodate the guests with enough dishes/cookware for everyone. I really enjoyed the early morning chats over coffee (for we early birds..) and the close proximity to the local markets. Everything is within easy walking distance. The rooms are spacious and clean with enough blankets to keep warm on the cold winter nights.

Room Tip: Facing the back courtyard, the rooms on the left side upstairs would seem to get more daily sun, whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 102 in San Cristobal de las Casas
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal el Rincon de  los Camellos
Hostal el Rincon de los Camello...
#4 of 102 in San Cristobal de las Casas
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
Rossco Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 102 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#2 of 102 in San Cristobal de las Casas
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Leon de Jovel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Leon de Jovel

Property: Posada Leon de Jovel
Address: Calle Francisco Leon No. 35 | Barrio Santa Lucia, San Cristobal de las Casas 29250, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 102 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place for travelers to recharge. Here, you will be part of the family, and be able to share great times and the best vibes.Located in San Cristobal de las Casas; with it’s small stoned streets, warm and smooth lights, soft embracing music from small friendly shops, tasty flavors, traditional culture, and a mix of others, which all come together to make this a magical place. It's the closest a foreigner will feel at home, simply wonderful; you will fall in love. By the by, San Cristobal remains a small and wonderful place, that stays in touch with it’s traditions and identity.My house is your house! We like to have a clean place, safe with a friendly environment, where you can feel confortable and live a unique experience that is how we want you to feel at Hostel El Nagual.Our dorms and rooms have great comfort, always clean, internet connection and overall, our own style.Music nights, talks, group dinners, and other free activities in our different common areas. Full equipped kitchen without any extra cost, dining area where you can exchange international and local recipes.Big area where you can relax, laid down under the sun, drink a cold beer, practice some activity or just swing on the hammock.Doesn’t matter if you are backpacker, a young family or couple. Hostel El Nagual offers you a unique place, within a safe and funny environment.In our philosophy where are looking for new experiences, closest and direct relation with the community and the region, to show everybody the rich cultural diversity that Chiapa has. We are searching for different activities, sports, social, volunteering all of these with the goal to create a complete and complementary experience in the hostel. Outdoor hiking, workshops, music concerts, local trips, go around some local communities and some information about the highlights around.Staff: we are travelers searching for trustily and worthy relationships, good vibes that can help us built great new experiences to enrich our life stories, basically to be more than just a place to stay. We want to be a part of your journey and cooperate with everything we can to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Leon de Jovel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing