We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Don Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
farnham common
Level Contributor
299 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

An amazing, attractive and very Mexican Hacienda Hotel, quite the best we saw in San Cristobal. Unfortunately, it is south of the city, beyond the ring road thus 20 minutes from the centre. But, it really is beautiful and 'soaked' in Mexican character. Good rooms with hot wood burners although bathrooms are too basic and could be improved. We had dinner here, great home cooked food by a log fire. Owners and Receptionist Mauricio could not have been more welcoming or hospitable.This is a 'must' if you want authentic Mexican. Highly recommended for one night but maybe not more than 2.

Room Tip: If it is cold ask them to bring the wood for the fire and light it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    33
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Very nice hotel, the service was great, the decoration was very Mexican from the beginning of the 19th century - We were able to talk with the owner and with Don Alejandro that is charge of the restaurant with his family, very nice people and give very good tips on the best places of San Cristobal.

The only minor inconvenience is the location, is about 10 minutes by car from downtown of San Cristobal, but beside that the place is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugenioPedroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay immensley. I was travelling with my husband, Mum and sister and they were able to provide us with 2 rooms, one with a king bed and the other with 2 double beds.

We received such a warm welcome and they were very interested in helping us plan our days in San Cristobel and suggested different things we should see.

The rooms were a good size, working TV, shower was excellent with plenty of hot water.

The hotel is a bit out of town, for us this was not a problem because we had a car but the hotel offered to order us a taxi if we didn't want to drive into town and said the taxi would only cost approx 20 pesos, so not to much of an issue.

As we were driving to the hotel the area looked pretty run down and we were a little concerned about where we would be staying but once you enter the hotel grounds you forget the area because the hotel is beautiful and well maintained. We didn't feel unsafe the whole time.

Free, working wireless internet :-)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems_Hame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

When we arrived, this place had the "WOW" factor. We had a junior suite and were very happy with the room. The surroundings were lovely. However, they really let themselves down on the following; the safe could not be opened, no coat hangers, the bedlinen was that worn out that when you got into bed all the linen (fitted sheet) came off and worse of all NO running hot water and towels were thread bear. We rang and told them, they came and checked it and said there is a little warm water, we tried it again, it was cold! The next day we had an English speaking guide and asked her to tell them about the water, they responded saying they would check it, nothing was done. We had dinner at the restaurant which was lovely, the waiter was excellent and the food was fresh and made with passion. We had the meat platter (cured meats), mushroom soup and pesto pasta. If you are after a Mexican ranch with beautiful surroundings then this is the place for you but do not expect service from the guys who look after the reception.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiefoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

I challenge everyone coming to St Cristobal de las Casas, especially by car, to show me a place, let alone a hotel which would be better sign posted than Hacienda don Juan. The off -centre location is an advantage during the festive times but cannot ever be a problem since cab ride anywhere in this town costs £1. Upon arrival we received a very warm welcome by the owner - who wouldn’t speak very much English - but it didn't seem to matter - as gestures were well responded to and there were smiles all round (and some prime local spirits too) . And that was only because we changed our reservation at the last minute as there is an English speaker at this hotel who greeted us the next morning - so perhaps book through email and make it known if you don't speak Spanish before you arrive – to arrange for him to greet you.

He also had some great tips on visiting the surrounding area – which we will be taking him up on next time we are in town (for a longer visit).

The rooms are fantastic, full of character - in fact it was one of the best hotels we stayed in, in the whole of Mexico. The whole hotel had a lovely aroma of wood and is filled with fascinating antiques and local textiles. The highlight was having a personal fireplace in our room, as it was unbelievably
cold when we arrived in October.

All in all we had a great time here - I would definitely recommend
Hacienda Don Juan – as the only place to stay if you'll be staying in San Christobal - it's a peaceful and wonderful escape from the main town too. We did see some of the other hotels, closer to town- but wouldn't stay anywhere else than here.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tigertigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in the Hacienda Don Juan at the end of December 2007 and again at the beginning of January 2008 for a total of four nights. The hotel is rustic and charming and an oasis of tranquility because of its location away from the centre of San Cristobal which is not a problem at all considering the low 20 pesos taxi fare into town. The owner and staff are friendly, helpful and most knowledgable of San Cristobal and its surrounding area and included us in their New Year's Eve celebration in front of the big fireplace in the hotel's small restaurant. Each room has a fireplace as well which is promptly lit every night to take the chill of the cool winter nights. We would certainly stay at the Hacienda Don Juan again when in San Cristobal and recommend it to fellow travellers without hesitation..

Karl, Canada/Puerto Morelos, Q. Roo and Elena, Hermosillo, Sonora

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank LakeMonk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

Well, I just had to check out the hotel of Don Juan. I had read the reviews and wanted a nice hotel that was not like the cookie cutter hotels of the big chains. So, I gave it a try and have to say it was very good. They had firewood available at all times for my room, even late in the night when my wife wanted more.

I might add that a fireplace is pretty important in San Cristobal, even in early September, as the rain makes it a bit chilly and my wife loved the heat during the night. It certainly added a touch of romance to the already charming and spacious rooms.

One of the best things was the fact that it is a family hotel and the owner and helpers were very attentive. We do not speak Spanish very well but one of the people speaks English so that was very helpful. A continuing surprise in southern Mexico was that few people speak English but when in Rome….

We took a tour to an organic coffee ranch and also their private ranch with their English speaking guide which was fun, hiking in the forest and horseback riding. The orchids in the forests of Chiapas are truly beautiful. Later he topped it off by surprising us with great margaritas after trekking about. Chiapan limes are the best! Have fun! We surely did!

It truly was one of the most memorable stays we had in our travels in Mexico. Robert Grellet

  • Liked — personal attention and the fireplace
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank robertogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.9 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#29 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Don Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Don Juan Hotel

Property: Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Address: Prolongacion Insurgentes # 162 | Barrio Maria Auxiliadora, San Cristobal de las Casas 29290, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Don Juan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Don Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Don Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing