We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muy agradable... very pleasant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Don Juan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Muy agradable... very pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

We had a very pleasant stay in the Hacienda Don Juan at the end of December 2007 and again at the beginning of January 2008 for a total of four nights. The hotel is rustic and charming and an oasis of tranquility because of its location away from the centre of San Cristobal which is not a problem at all considering the low 20 pesos taxi fare into town. The owner and staff are friendly, helpful and most knowledgable of San Cristobal and its surrounding area and included us in their New Year's Eve celebration in front of the big fireplace in the hotel's small restaurant. Each room has a fireplace as well which is promptly lit every night to take the chill of the cool winter nights. We would certainly stay at the Hacienda Don Juan again when in San Cristobal and recommend it to fellow travellers without hesitation..

Karl, Canada/Puerto Morelos, Q. Roo and Elena, Hermosillo, Sonora

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank LakeMonk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    33
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
54
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

Well, I just had to check out the hotel of Don Juan. I had read the reviews and wanted a nice hotel that was not like the cookie cutter hotels of the big chains. So, I gave it a try and have to say it was very good. They had firewood available at all times for my room, even late in the night when my wife wanted more.

I might add that a fireplace is pretty important in San Cristobal, even in early September, as the rain makes it a bit chilly and my wife loved the heat during the night. It certainly added a touch of romance to the already charming and spacious rooms.

One of the best things was the fact that it is a family hotel and the owner and helpers were very attentive. We do not speak Spanish very well but one of the people speaks English so that was very helpful. A continuing surprise in southern Mexico was that few people speak English but when in Rome….

We took a tour to an organic coffee ranch and also their private ranch with their English speaking guide which was fun, hiking in the forest and horseback riding. The orchids in the forests of Chiapas are truly beautiful. Later he topped it off by surprising us with great margaritas after trekking about. Chiapan limes are the best! Have fun! We surely did!

It truly was one of the most memorable stays we had in our travels in Mexico. Robert Grellet

  • Liked — personal attention and the fireplace
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank robertogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2007

Booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor but was extremely disappointed. Whilst I would agree that the hotel does look nice and the log fire in the room is great, there was a good deal wrong with the services during our stay. The email confirming our stay made a great deal of, amongst other things, the restaurant and bi-lingual staff. On our arrival these werre not in existence. Although the staff were nice, they didn't speak English, which made ordering a pizza from the local takeaway a bit tricky for my conversational spanish. The final straw, however, was the lack of working shower, toilet and sink in the hotel room and the night porter who, having learned of the problems in the room, took it upon himself to ride off on his bike without any explanation whatsoever. We left after one night to stay in another hotel. I would also agree with other posters who have commented on the distance of the hotel from the town centre. Whilst it is true that taxis are quite cheap, the journey from the bus station to the hotel is not, at least by night, for the faint hearted and the hassle of arranging a taxi each morning to visit San Cristobal is certainly not worthwhile.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank andrewjohnson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonville, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2007

I highly recommend the Hotel Hacienda Don Juan. It is located a little out of town but it is only 25 pesos(including tip) for a cab to the zocalo. Their quiet location also allows you to get a good night's sleep! The staff is very friendly but a rudimentary knowlege of Spanish is helpful since the staff only speaks a little English. The restaurant is OK for breakfast but I would definitely head into town for the rest of your meals. The staff will gladly light your fireplace in the evening and one-day laundary service is also available at a very reasonable rate. This is truly a great value hotel and we hope to return soon!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dougstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2007

I just came back from the Hacienda Don Juan Hotel, that is a charming hotel with very nice decoration and fireplace
(very pleasant but it is possible but not "close friend/pratical" to ask some wood at 2am)
The hotel requieres to have your car (10mn to go to the center and park).
But most of all, unlike in big's hotel, the staff is very pleasant and helpful

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — away from down town
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mex007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Clan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2006

We stayed for a week and were there for Mexico's Day of The Dead celebrations. The colonial city is absolutely precious and our children loved it as much as we did!

The Hotel Hacienda Don Juan staff is superb and was 1 step ahead of our every desire! When we arrived, the English-speaking staff greeted us with a regional drink called "Posh" (sp?) which was made from corn, squash, honey and spices. What a nice treat! As soon as we returned from town in the evenings, there was someone to light the fireplace in our room. A special touch that my wife especially loved was the fresh flowers we found in the room every day.

At just under $50 per nite, the price is a steal just for the ambience! (I should add that this was not their high season).

We had planned to rent a car to drive to Palenque, but Lisa & Miles of the Hotel's tour agency explained that there are almost 300 speed bumps between San Cristobal and Palenque, so it takes about 5 hours to get there. So we opted to go with them and had the most incredible time seeing Agua Azul & Mishol Ha along the way. But they also took us on a special jungle walk and arranged a private entry to the tomb of Pakal for us! It's closed to the public and is located under the pyramid in our 2nd photo. What a thrill! They are great and although we did pretty well with our limited Spanish, we appreciated that they are both bilingual.

  • Liked — ambience and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — it's quieter than staying downtown
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank carirving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2006

We just returned from San Cristobal and a stay at the Hacienda Don Juan. Our hotel room overlooking the courtyard was great and the hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. Kudos to Miles & Lisa of Mariposa Tours who traveled with us into the surrounding areas. They were knowledgable of the entire region, took us some memorable sites, and were fun to be with on this fantastic adventure.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.9 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#30 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Don Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Don Juan Hotel

Property: Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Address: Prolongacion Insurgentes # 162 | Barrio Maria Auxiliadora, San Cristobal de las Casas 29290, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Don Juan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Don Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Don Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing