We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing. Wish I´d stayed in San Cristobal Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Wish I´d stayed in San Cristobal Centre”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

After reading the TA reviews I booked this hotel as I really like the idea of coming back to cozy dinner in front of the fireplace after a day out touring. However the restaurant was closed due to remodelling so there was no possibility to get any kind of food or drink service at the hotel. The hotel is located on a (heavily trafficed) main road in the industrial outskirts of San Cristobal (as noted in other reviews a 20 minute taxi ride from the centre). The surrounds are warehouses, factories, autoshops and the like with no ammenities such as cafe or restaurant. The 20 minute taxi ride becomes much more of an inconvenience when it is necessary for every meal or cup of tea. Also I found the room very noisy. I had room 14 which is over reception and has windows facing the entrance. The was traffice on the road all night. There was loud TV noise (also all night) coming from somewhere in the hotel and very loud snoring from next door so I guess the rooms are not very soundproof.
Yes the gardens are very nice. I didnt get much of a feel for the western vibe and decor appreciated by other reviewers as the restaurant, lounge etc were all closed due to the renovations. My bedroom was large and very clean. King size bed was comfortable with warm blankets. Free wifi reasonably fast and was always available. I was there in January and the rooms were cold so the wood burning stove was very nice. There is a 30 peso charge for each (small) bucket of firewood - 1 bucket lasts approx 1 hour.
Overall I wish that I had chosen a hotel in the centre of town. I don´t think it could have been more noisy and certainly would have been more convenient. My review may have been more positive if the restaurant was open and I think the hotel should have made me aware before I booked. There was communication between myself and the hotel regarding arrival times etc and this was never mentioned.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel. There is traffic noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    34
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
39
57
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed two nights at this hacienda. It is beautiful. The owner gave us recommendations on how to take advantage of our days.. he helped us build our itinerary and we had an amazing experience during our day trips.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes from downtown San Cristobal, but you can take a taxi ride for 2 dollars. The Hacienda has plenty of free parking for their guests, wifi is free, the room is always clean, it has a nice fireplace that will keep the room very warm during cold nights.
There is still a lot of things that we didn't do at Chiapas because we only went for three days; we know we will be back someday and i am pretty sure we will stay here.
In the morning they will have coffee and bread.. which was ok. They have a restaurant in the Hacienda but we were told that they are still remodeling it.
I forgot to say it cost us less than $50 a night. Can't beat that.

Room Tip: If you have problems with your knees, let them know ahead so they wont put you on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambamgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

What a hidden gem. This old ranch will blow your mind if you are into old fashion western gear and dark wood interior. Nice garden and fireplace as well..
The hacienda is a bit far from the zocalo, but nothing that a 2 buck taxi ride cannot manage.
Historic gem in S.C.D.C...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fester14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed in San Cristobal in the beginning of August with my Mom, Husband and two kids. We had two rooms viewing the garden, which was very quiet and comfortable. The working fireplaces are definitely a plus, specially with small children. They had a blast roasting marshmallows and cooking potatoes in the fireplace. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You feel like you have been transported back in time while staying with all the necessary comforts. The room prices are very reasonable. I think it has a lot easier access to downtown San Miguel than any Hotels in the center area, you just grab a taxi and they take you to the main square for about $2.00USD. No long walks to get from your downtown Hotel to the happening places. We absolutely loved our stay , we even extended our vacation one extra day. I would love to go back tomorrow, but oh well, that work thing :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borondodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Very nice hotel, the service was great, the decoration was very Mexican - All the staff are very nice people and give very good tips on the best places around San Cristobal. The restaurant is also really good with lots of choices. It is located about 10 minutes by car from the downtown, but the taxi ride is only 25 pesos.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Very good place yo stay. Very good price for an excellent installations. Its clean and the food is awsome. You are close from the downtown and is cheap to get there by taxi 25 mxn pesos its like 2,5 usd

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henaomejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

An amazing, attractive and very Mexican Hacienda Hotel, quite the best we saw in San Cristobal. Unfortunately, it is south of the city, beyond the ring road thus 20 minutes from the centre. But, it really is beautiful and 'soaked' in Mexican character. Good rooms with hot wood burners although bathrooms are too basic and could be improved. We had dinner here, great home cooked food by a log fire. Owners and Receptionist Mauricio could not have been more welcoming or hospitable.This is a 'must' if you want authentic Mexican. Highly recommended for one night but maybe not more than 2.

Room Tip: If it is cold ask them to bring the wood for the fire and light it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.8 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Don Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Don Juan Hotel

Property: Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Address: Prolongacion Insurgentes # 162 | Barrio Maria Auxiliadora, San Cristobal de las Casas 29290, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Don Juan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Don Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Don Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing