We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guayaba Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

V nice boutique hotel. Rodrigo the manager is incredibly helpful -- booked my bus ticket for onward journey to Palenque, organized a local taxi he knew for an afternoon trip to Chomula and was very responsive when i was considering booking. Loved the location - central but on a residential street so you felt you saw local life. My room was tasteful, had 2 fireplaces -- they will light a real log fire in your room on request for the cool evenings - and shower was strong. The hotel is a renovated old house wrapped around a central courtyard with a garden of citrus trees and hibiscus. Each time I entered the courtyard from the front door a member of staff appeared - so clearly a very safe place to stay. Breakfast excellent. Will definitely return to both the hotel and the city (which is wonderful.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 668Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
180
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A friend and I found the Guayaba Inn by chance on the internet and what a find it was.
The staff at Guayaba Inn provided the perfect holiday. The Inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable, small enough to receive personal attention. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean, the breakfasts very delicious and imaginative, great variety. The restaurant is also open in the evening when we decided to stay closer to our room. The gardens are lovely and demonstrat great care. The staff responded to every inquiry. The location is in a quiet part of San Cristobal close to Na-Bolom Museum. To sum up --gracious hospitality with a "mi casa es su casa" sensitivity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Guayaba Inn recently and were delighted with the quality and service, the rooms are very well appointed, great bed, wonderful décor, and very spacious. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of several dishes cooked to order. The ambience of the hotel is wonderful, very relaxing, very practical. The outstanding element, however, was the service, every request was met with a smile and a true desire to help, the hotel organized a private tour to Palenque, a horse ride, provided lot's of recommendations, and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. A true gem, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mexirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

When Gabriel and Kiki Suarez, noted San Cristobal business people and culture/ art hounds, announced they were opening a stellar B & B, I knew it would be an outstanding experience. I could hardly wait to visit! What a beautiful experience, from the first encounter with the manager who arranged door-to-door Tuxtla airport to the Guayaba Inn, for an older woman traveling solo and arriving at 9 pm. Thank you!
The suites, mine and others that I viewed, are beyond beautiful. The high end, handcrafted furniture, wall hangings, and original paintings create an authentic and elegant decor, reflecting local artisans. Every aspect of comfort and beauty make the rooms exquisite; beautiful beds with luxury linens, fire place, sofa, private balcony, and stocked mini- fridge. The bathroom is just fun to look at -- big impressive tub, wide open showers, lined with stone work, soft big towels.
The rooms are set around an interior private patio filled with orchids, vermiliads, and other Chiapaneco plants, grown, apparently for decades by previous owners, and embellished by Gabriel and Kiki including the new water feature. Chairs and tables, tucked in nooks throughout the patio, encourage guests to relax in peace and contemplation.
Did I mention the impeccable service? Upon arrival, a fresh cup of espresso and cookies. The dining room is so lovely with, I agree with others, the finest made to order Mexican breakfasts. The huevos rancheros, jugos, frijoles and tortillas -- which I sampled -- were heavenly. Evening room service was available for snacks of cheese and crackers which made for a lovely cocktail party with old friends.
I believe that I was one of the earliest customers at Guayaba Inn, and I imagine it will thrive in San Cristobal. The location is excellent -- kitty-corner to NaBalom, with taxis passing by every minute for those who choose not to walk the 10 minutes into the town center. If you have a bit of cash and want to really enjoy San Cris, please stay at the Guayaba Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very nice. The front room, closest to the entry way is the most affordable, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChineseBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Remy de Provence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We cannot speak highly enough of this fabulous inn. Our room, suite 6, was wonderfully furnished with a real fire and a luxuriously appointed bathroom. The attention to detail was the key note. Everything about this establishment was five star. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfasts were the best we had in Mexico. Beautiful garden with resident humming bird.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scirocco21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was recommended to us by another hotel in the area. As i entered the inn was transformed how simple it is from outside and a beauty from the inside.

The rooms all suites as we were told are amazing, my room was huge and had electronic chimney. The bathroom was amazing and loved the shower had lights that when u turn the water cold it turns blue and warm it turns red. The breakfast room was nice and they served you breakfast as if you are the only one in the room.

I have traveled all over western europe and some places in Asia too and i stayed in luxury hotels; i never thought coming to a small town in mexico will experience luxury as i am used to.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabdelmessih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Property: Guayaba Inn
Address: Calle Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing