We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guayaba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guayaba Inn
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful boutique hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We booked Guayaba Inn because of the Tripadvisor reviews and we are so happy we followed others' advice!

It has only 6 rooms so the hotel feels like an intimate hacienda. The rooms are spacious with beautiful hardwood floor, four-post bed with the most delicious sheets and down comforter. It has a gas chimney which makes the room extra cozy without the smokiness of a wood fireplace.

We had to leave early to go to Lagunas de Montebellos this morning so we asked for our breakfast to be delivered to our room before the kitchen opened and the staff was very accommodating.

The shower has extra hot water with great pressure. We were planning to stay one night only and had to extend to a second night because of the great night sleep we had.

Amazing hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aligola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
172
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My stay was super pleasant. Defiantly would recommend this place for its cleanliness, excellent food menu, quiet and cozy atmosphere but most of all the staff. They were highly professional yet, so very genuinely friendly. Am pretty hard to please and have traveled around and this is one of my highest rated recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 323Rocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's We selected this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were so pleased that the reviews are accurate. I would recommend this to anyone as an oasis of tranquility, comfort, service, and style.

Its wonderful.

Room Tip: Room #5 is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peachesrsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Guayaba Inn for 8 days and couldn't have been more cared for or pampered by the entire staff. Rooms were impeccably furnished, luxuriously comfortable bedding, big modern tub for hot, steamy bubble baths, great shower, perfect fireplace at the foot of our bed! Mornings were a delight with the most delicious breakfasts carefully prepared and beautifully arranged by Adriana the warm and smiling chef..her guacamole is a real treat along with her muffins...The staff was superior, better than excellent! Francisco attended to all our needs alway smiling and politely offering his assistance...he made our stay special. Pablo, Nadia and Rodrigo were exceptional from obtaining a difficult reservation to arranging a private tour for us to the Sumidero Canyon and the nearby villages..ask for Guillermo as your guide and driver...punctual, informed professional and well connected! We loved our stay and will most certainly return!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caramia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed in a number of other hotels in San Cristobal over a few dozen trips here, and have finally found the one to come back to. Guayaba Inn has spacious rooms with fireplaces, freestanding acrylic baths and beautiful grounds but what really makes it special is the outstanding staff. Thank you- we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

V nice boutique hotel. Rodrigo the manager is incredibly helpful -- booked my bus ticket for onward journey to Palenque, organized a local taxi he knew for an afternoon trip to Chomula and was very responsive when i was considering booking. Loved the location - central but on a residential street so you felt you saw local life. My room was tasteful, had 2 fireplaces -- they will light a real log fire in your room on request for the cool evenings - and shower was strong. The hotel is a renovated old house wrapped around a central courtyard with a garden of citrus trees and hibiscus. Each time I entered the courtyard from the front door a member of staff appeared - so clearly a very safe place to stay. Breakfast excellent. Will definitely return to both the hotel and the city (which is wonderful.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 668Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

A friend and I found the Guayaba Inn by chance on the internet and what a find it was.
The staff at Guayaba Inn provided the perfect holiday. The Inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable, small enough to receive personal attention. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean, the breakfasts very delicious and imaginative, great variety. The restaurant is also open in the evening when we decided to stay closer to our room. The gardens are lovely and demonstrat great care. The staff responded to every inquiry. The location is in a quiet part of San Cristobal close to Na-Bolom Museum. To sum up --gracious hospitality with a "mi casa es su casa" sensitivity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guayaba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guayaba Inn

Property: Guayaba Inn
Address: Calle Comitan 55, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Guayaba Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guayaba Inn, a converted traditional home in the historic district of EL Cerrillo, is located in remarkable colonial San Cristóbal de las Casas. The Inn is certainly its own relaxing destination, but it also caters to those wishing to explore Chiapas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guayaba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing