We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Gaia is my most memorable hostal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Casa Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Casa Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Casa Gaia is my most memorable hostal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent 6 months backpacking through Mexico, and Casa Gaia has left me with the most amazing memories of any place I stayed. My original plan to stay a couple nights turned into a week as I came to know Johnathon and Klaire as friends instead of owners. Many days I went out to parks, football, or shopping with Jonathon, and many nights I stayed in to play poker, watch movies, or cook and eat dinner with them, their beautiful children, and other friendly lodgers. As a solo backpacker, finding a place that felt like a home was an amazing experience and turned my time in San Cristobal into my favorite leg of my 6 month journey through the country. As a word of warning, Klaire will not hesitate to destroy you in Texas Hold'em, and Johnathon has a powerful football leg both on the field and the Playstation. As far as lodging, the water was hot, the beds were clean and changed daily, the kitchen was cared for and highly functional, and the garden area was beautiful and cozy. So if you're looking for an awesome experience in San Cristobal, I can't recommend a better place to stay than Casa Gaia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
23
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
here there everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed with Claire and Jonathan for over a week. They are very friendly and helpful with everything, giving tips on where to go and eat, funky bars etc. The hostal is duper cute, with both an inside hang out area and a little garden. Rooms simple but clean!! Hot water, which you really need in san Cristóbal, since at night it's freezing.
All in all a great place and I'm definitely going back :-)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Jonathan and Klaire have done an amazing job of setting up their hostel. It has a very homely, relaxed and calm vibe and they both make you feel at home the minute you walk in the door. The hostel is very clean and tidy and is the best priced hostel I've ever been to for the service they offer. Couldnt have asked for a better stay in san cristobal.... Klaire and Jonathan's hospitality is second to none as they are always happy to tell you anything you need to know. My friends and I Loved every minute of our stay there. Also check out Jonathan's Mescal bar it's well worth it... Cheers guys

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in Casa Gaia for 7 days and we absolutely loved it. Claire and Jonathan made us feel at home from the very first minutes we were there till the end of our stay! The hostel is very clean, organized and cozy! They have a great kitchen and we had lots of conversations with Claire and Jonathan around the table! Great moments! Their kids are also so cute and educated! We met nice people staying there and the best thing is the familiar atmosphere. Everything for a fair price! We definitely reccomend them!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at hostal casa gaia for five nights during easter 2013. I highly enjoyed me stay. The place has a friendly family-like ambience, and the bi-lingual owners - Jonathan and Claire and their two small children - are great people that make you feel welcome from the very beginning. The hostel has a nice patio where you can enjoy sunny days. The kitchen is well equipped, also. My only complaint is that there is only one bathroom for all the outside rooms, and it gets really crowded when the hostal fills up. Also, the internet only works inside the house and not in the rooms. However, for the price you are paying and the friendly atmosphere, I'd definitely recommend staying at Hostal Casa Gaio

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RikkeL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

What makes Gaia so wonderful are the owners, Jonathan and Clare, who will make you feel like part of their family. It is small and cozy, and there are always interesting guests gathered around the kitchen table, sharing food and stories. They are both bilingual and will help you in whatever way they can to make your stay comfortable.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank reisperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 105 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada del Abuelito
Posada del Abuelito
#3 of 85 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Gaia

Property: Hostal Casa Gaia
Address: Calle Ejercito Nacional # 40 | Entre avenida Diego Dugelay y Cristobal Colon, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Gaia is a hostel located only 3 blocks from the touristic walking street, Real de Guadalupe, within the Historic Center of San Cristobal de Casas. Here we offer our guests clean, comfortable bedrooms, at a very affordable price. The hostel´s friendly, ambient and relaxed surroundings offer you a place where you can feel at home! Services:Hot water 24 hrs.Shared kitchen, well equippedPrivate and shared roomsInternet, WifiLiving roomCable, dvd and playstationTowelsLaundryBook exchangeBoard gamesGarden and BBQ areaTours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Casa Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing