We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Arrabbiata - CLOSED

L'Arrabbiata
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: L'Arrabbiata Restaurant – a cozy intimate italian restaurant with a warming atmosphere, where the easiness of ingredients is blended with the taste of authentic italian tradition's dishes. You will taste hearty starters of fresh hand made pasta as filled ravioli and fettuccine, each served with plenty of typical sauces of italian cuisine. And no lack of music and good wine to come with a meal which anyone can afford, whether a tourist or not, thanks to the moderates prices.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

L'Arrabbiata is definitely our favorite restaurant in San Cristobal.
We went there twice in two days.
The food is great and so are the music and the atmosphere of the place!
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Greenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Canada
Level Contributor
628 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Sunday evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Caught our eye on our wandering

Three tables for seating and a stool from the kitchen for me

Fresh meal of pasta which needed a bit more oomph but quite enjoyable

Quaint

Helpful?
Thank Nlenigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great fun with wonderful pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived in San Cristobal after an 11hr bus ride from Oaxaca. L'Arrabiata was the perfect choice for Italian comfort food, delicious hand made pasta with lovely red wine. We thought we may miss out on a table however early on a Saturday night we were lucky! We would really recommend the ravioli and the fettuccine amatraciana.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow. Best Spaghetti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Currently L'Arrabbiata Cucina Italiana is rated number 4 here in San Cristobal De Las Casas, Chiapas. I was curious how a restaurant with only three tables could be this high rated.

Upon arrival I heard the owner Laura singing to the music of Dean Martin playing in the background. So I new it was going to be a fun experience. After looking at all the choices I decided on Spaghetti bolognese with a glass of wine.

For starter she brought out a nice warm basket of freshly made bread from a local baker with some hot sauce that is popular in Italy and here in Mexico.

The combination of the wine and the hot sauce was perfect.

About ten minutes later my plate of Spaghetti arrived. It was a huge portion.
I tried to take my time to eat but it was just too tasty or perhaps I was just really hungry.

Because of the small size of her restaurant you begin to feel you are in her kitchen at her house. Very nice setting.

Will be going back again to try another delicious meal.

Steve
San Cristobal De Las Casas and Progreso, Yucatan, Mexico

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GringoYuca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Really Wonderful Pasta From a Chef From Rome Who Loves What She Does”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We ate at L'Arrabbiata our last night (before the bus) in San Cristobal. We hadn't been really thrilled by other meals in the town but found the pasta, the service, and Laura's great energy and enthusiasm really a joy.

Laura was playing a wonderful mix of oldies (Dean Martin on the Bob Hope Show, the score from the film "Laura", etc. ). She hummed along with Gershwin's "An American in Paris" and generally showed that she was happy and glad that we and the other customers were there.

When we ordered, Laura cautioned us about getting an appetizer as the pasta portions were large: we did anyway, and enjoyed a shared bruschetta topped with fresh tomatoes and garlic. She was right, and next time we'll be satisfied with her plain Italian bread!

I chose the pasta with vodka, blue cheese, and bacon. My husband had the amatriciana, and both plates were so substantial and so tasty that we brought the substantial remainder back on the bus to enjoy the next day in Oaxaca! Wine was very reasonable and pleasant and the chocolate mousse dessert, accompanied with a rich cup of coffee, was excellent. We haven't found any pasta or any Italian restaurant in Oaxaca to compare with Laura's!

The restaurant is tiny, with two tables for 2 and one table for 4. Laura and an assistant accomplish a great deal in a miniscule cooking area and Laura eagerly enquires if one is enjoying the meal and if there is anything she can do to make a dish even more to one's liking. We also felt warm on the typical cold San Cristobal night in the restaurant.

We were very happy that this was our final, crowning dining experience in SCLC and we wish Laura great success and continued joy in her work!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Arrabbiata also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing