We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in San Cristobal?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Although the rooms are small, the design, the location and the staff make this hotel possibly the best in San Cristobal de las Casas. Breakfast is basic, but good. It is located right next to the Zocalo. We screened several hotels during our visit, and came to the conclusion that this is perhaps the best option town.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the zocalo can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyoffour11560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaGallery_SC, Gerente at Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped.

Por este medio nos permitimos enviarle un afectuoso saludo.
Así mismo agrademos sus valiosos comentarios siendo muy valiosos para mejorar día a día los servicios que prestamos, por consiguiente continuar siendo una de las mejores opciones de hospedaje en está mágica ciudad.

Esperamos tener el placer de atenderlo en un futuro en esta su casa:
PLAZA GALLERY HOTEL BOUTIQUE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Best suite full of clever tricks that don't come off, lights not functioning, no wifi. View from windows is 1 metre onto walls. Very little English spoken, so reception can do very little. At these prices English should be spoken. Breakfast was a few pieces of dry toast, unless you paid even more than 2500 pesos!
However, quite a classy place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Covgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Modern hotel in an old building. High level of service from all staff who are eager to please.

Speaking some Spanish helped at breakfast time as staff were not fluent English speakers so some things were lost in translation. Breakfast was limited given the positioning of this restaurant as high end (breakfast was continental with a choice of coffee or orange juice not both).

Room very comfortable with a large shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor as these look out on the street if you want a view of the market. th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this on Expedia and it was better than expected. Modern decor, good drinks in the lounge/ restaurant and Feels brand new. Rooms are spacious and super clean. All staff are really nice and helpful with recommendations. I would highly recommend staying here!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rmkujak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, 5 star hotel, great room. We dont like motels, or low cost hotel. We always look for the best hotel in town.
Stuff was very nice, and spoke english. The location is great, just in the center of the city, and by the market

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Issler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Beautifully restored building (remembering when it wasn't a hotel), kitty-corner from the cathedral, behind the town hall, across from the pedestrian walkway...so you're centrally located. Impressive modernist decor in the bar/restuarant area, just beckoning you in to sit there. Not a typical "colonial" hotel for San Cris, but well worth the stay. On my normal route to the main square and kiosk (called "parque" in Chiapas), I visited it one day after it opened, impressed by the room design, each different (reminding me somewhat of the Hotel Azul in Oaxaca, with each room designed by a different local artist). Breakfast included. The restaurant menu left much to be desired, too basic, but plenty of places on uphill main pedestrian street Real de Guadalupe. Parking arranged underneath the cathdral plaza. Pricey: 3,000-5,000 pesos, but elegant.

Room Tip: Each one designed a bit differrently...so all are a surprise. Master suite has corner view of illum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenn R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaGallery_SC, Gerente at Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#3 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#4 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
340 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#10 of 75 in San Cristobal de las Casas
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique

Address: Guadalupe Victoria | corner of 16 de Septiembre, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PLAZA GALLERY HOTEL & BOUTIQUE Staying in our hotel will transport you to live a unique and unforgettable experiences of comfort and elegance. Thanks to our excellent location you can enjoy the beautiful neighborhoods around the downtown. Also you can delight all the cultural and tourist attractions that San Cristobal de Las Casas offers to you. The beautiful and contemporary building from baroque architectural style from 1940; mixed with our excellent and complete services, make us a great and a classy hotel. Since the beginning, we think and choose carefully every detail to make our guests feel comfortable in an exclusive environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing