We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great City, great hostal -maravilloso!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Caracol Hostel
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I can really recomend casa caracol to everyone who likes to be surrounded by nice people :) the hostal is clean ans good organized and the rooms are comfortable.
During our stay we enjoyed beeing in casa caracol! See you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coricaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a great time in this hostel.
The people are extremely nice and very good vibes.
It´s one of those places that you can´t leave easily and when you leave you know that you will come back.
It´s extremely big. It has a big garden and two beautiful dogs.

I´m very grateful for the beautiful people I met there and I really hope to be able to come back soon.
For sure when I come back to San Cristobal de las Casas I´ll go to this hostel.

If you are looking to have good experiences, share with very nice people and be in a relaxed place, this is the hostel to be :)

Thanks Juan and all the team :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebasfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile


a real house atmosphere, beautiful people, morning warm sun while lying on the hammock, a green (in)sane island in the middle of a city. 
highly recommended for nomads
 

un ambiente de casa real, gente hermosa, el calor de la sol a la mañana cuando resto en la hamaca, una isla verde sana(/o loca) en el medio(/un poco afuera) de la ciudad 
muy recomendable para los nómadas &)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a wonderful and lovely time at Casa Caracol. The Team there are great and made me feel welcome. They helped me with any information that i needed. The rooms were clean and the facilities in good working order. Would recommend this place to anybody staying at San Cristobal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It´s a perfect place for people who´re looking for the off-beaten tracks.In the middle of the barrio de los mexicanos you can indulge into the authentic side of San Cris.Not like in other hostels the rooms are held small,but there are plenty of them. Still there´s enough space and a huge beautifully designed garden to get some time on your own.
Juan-the owner-is not only interessted in selling you tours-he rather tells you how to do it yourself. If you´re lucky he even might join in. He´s also open for all kind of feed-back and help - so maybe it will be you who designs the next wall or some square meters in the garden.as I used to do during my stay.

Room Tip: for more privacy go outside into the adobe huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed there for several days to visit Chiapas. I had amazing time! People there are super chilled and friendly! They even made me a cake for my birthday, and it was totally unexpected!
As for the conditions, the hostel is clean and beautiful inside, and it feels like home.
I enjoyed San Cristobal and for sure I'll be back to this place!
I wish I was a better writer because I had way much more positive emotions there than I can explain!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

had such a great time here, spent weeks here. lovely staff, good friends.
clean hostel.
comfortable dorms and private rooms.
very economic.
big garden at the back.
totally safe and secure.

best vibes in town!

will return for sure ..
thanks for a great time leslie and juan

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#21 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Vieja Hostel
Puerta Vieja Hostel
#1 of 119 in San Cristobal de las Casas
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#3 of 119 in San Cristobal de las Casas
350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Snail Bed & Breakfast
Snail Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 119 in San Cristobal de las Casas
29 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal el Rincon de  los Camellos
Hostal el Rincon de los Camello...
#2 of 119 in San Cristobal de las Casas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caracol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caracol Hostel

Address: Avenida Argentina 19a | Barrio de Mexicanos, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 119 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £8 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Caracol Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa caracol is your home away from home, our motto is "mi casa es tu casa" our mission is to provide our guests a home-like atmosphere in short, to make them feel like they are at home, even if they are far away, in our large garden, we work with permaculture and bioconstruction projects. This allows our guests to interact with each other and also allows them to share their creativity. They can also participate in various workshops where the guests can leave a bit of their personality behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Caracol Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing