We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people in a wonderful city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Caracol Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Caracol Hostel
Brisbane
Level Contributor
117 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great people in a wonderful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hostel is about 5 minutes walk from Zocalo which is relatively far compared to other hostels, but the warm friendly staff, people and dogs make it all worth it. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are also clean but do seem a little old and look like they could use a bit of work. The garden is great and there is plenty of space for everyone to enjoy when it's not raining. Wifi is quite fast although it is only available in the kitchen/porch area as it doesn't quite reach the rooms.

Overall the place is comfortable and homey at a really good price, but what really makes the place is the people!

Room Tip: Some booking websites may let you choose to book "tents". These are the adobe cabanas out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripMember112420141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
10
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

i stayed in this hostel 3 times and everytime i go back to san cristobal i stay there. it has a very country feel, has a huge garden with plants growing there and some earth cabins, and a main building with all the comfort, fireplace, good kitchen. they provide a lot of blankets for the chilly san cristobal nights and the bathrooms have always hot water and are comfortable. but the best thing is the crowd, casa caracol atracts the best people and you feel instantly at home, there is always fun and people together around the fire at nights and going out together...the owner takes care that nobody ever feels excluded and has 2 dogs that welcome u every time you return home.basically its a hostel for everybody, homely, not too big, very laid back, comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I can really recomend casa caracol to everyone who likes to be surrounded by nice people :) the hostal is clean ans good organized and the rooms are comfortable.
During our stay we enjoyed beeing in casa caracol! See you soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coricaracol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a great time in this hostel.
The people are extremely nice and very good vibes.
It´s one of those places that you can´t leave easily and when you leave you know that you will come back.
It´s extremely big. It has a big garden and two beautiful dogs.

I´m very grateful for the beautiful people I met there and I really hope to be able to come back soon.
For sure when I come back to San Cristobal de las Casas I´ll go to this hostel.

If you are looking to have good experiences, share with very nice people and be in a relaxed place, this is the hostel to be :)

Thanks Juan and all the team :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebasfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile


a real house atmosphere, beautiful people, morning warm sun while lying on the hammock, a green (in)sane island in the middle of a city. 
highly recommended for nomads
 

un ambiente de casa real, gente hermosa, el calor de la sol a la mañana cuando resto en la hamaca, una isla verde sana(/o loca) en el medio(/un poco afuera) de la ciudad 
muy recomendable para los nómadas &)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a wonderful and lovely time at Casa Caracol. The Team there are great and made me feel welcome. They helped me with any information that i needed. The rooms were clean and the facilities in good working order. Would recommend this place to anybody staying at San Cristobal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It´s a perfect place for people who´re looking for the off-beaten tracks.In the middle of the barrio de los mexicanos you can indulge into the authentic side of San Cris.Not like in other hostels the rooms are held small,but there are plenty of them. Still there´s enough space and a huge beautifully designed garden to get some time on your own.
Juan-the owner-is not only interessted in selling you tours-he rather tells you how to do it yourself. If you´re lucky he even might join in. He´s also open for all kind of feed-back and help - so maybe it will be you who designs the next wall or some square meters in the garden.as I used to do during my stay.

Room Tip: for more privacy go outside into the adobe huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganesha Posada
Ganesha Posada
#16 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Gite del Sol
Le Gite del Sol
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#17 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Posada Las Casas
Hotel Posada Las Casas
#58 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iguana Hostel
Iguana Hostel
#2 of 101 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caracol Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caracol Hostel

Property: Casa Caracol Hostel
Address: Avenida Argentina 19a | Barrio de Mexicanos, San Cristobal de las Casas 29240, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Speciality Lodging in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Casa Caracol Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa caracol is your home away from home, our motto is "mi casa es tu casa" our mission is to provide our guests a home-like atmosphere in short, to make them feel like they are at home, even if they are far away, in our large garden, we work with permaculture and bioconstruction projects. This allows our guests to interact with each other and also allows them to share their creativity. They can also participate in various workshops where the guests can leave a bit of their personality behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Caracol Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing