We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic local food”
Review of Restaurant Belil

Restaurant Belil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Be Natural, Be Belil TRADITIONAL LOCAL - ECO FRINDLY - FAIR TRADE - 100% LOCAL ECONOMY
Hoeilaart, Brabant, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic local food”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have spend 2 nights at the restaurant. Only speaking English was hard to understand the menu, but we wanted to try some local food. Ricardo, the owner, was so kind to explain every dish on the menu. He is really helpful and understanding what you want. We tried a few things like sopas, taco's, Mexican meat.... All fresh and organic. We even bought some nice jewelry that you can buy in the restaurant. We are gone miss this food and the hospitality of the staff.

The Belgians

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    77
    21
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I loved the quesadilla!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I loved the quesadilla with mushrooms...... it was very tasty!!! the axkan juice was amazing too!!! try it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yazlechuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The place, the people, and the food are excellent. The food reflects local cuisine, with a lot of attention given to the details. The place is a modern atmosphere.. You can browse the art gallery, buy a book, and there are even some books offered for lending to interested readers. The managers offer you personal and warm attention, giving you time to talk about the local culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IbnBattuta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy, delicious -- and educational!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This restaurant specializes in fresh, organic ingredients -- in plates that are Chiapanecan specialities. Everything we tried (from crepes to postres to cafes) was delicious and beautifully presented. It's clear that a lot of care goes into each element. We had the pleasure of chatting with the managers; in talking with them and reading the menu we learned a lot about the mix of influences (Spanish and mesoamerican) in regional cuisine. We also appreciate their efforts to support indigenous communities and sustainable farming in this wonderful area of Mexico. Very highly recommended for delicious food, friendly service, and lovely ambience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 93Kirstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Cristobal de las Casas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great plates of organic, chiapanecan cuisine”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This restaurant serves delicious plates of Chiapanecan cuisine along with great cappuccinos. The managers take great pride in the food they offer and will be happy to explain their philosophy and the origins of 'la comida'. Organic ingredients are used when possible and they try to favor local vendors.

BELIL presents it all with a great modern ambiance- and apparently with a nice hotel attached. (We've heard that this restaurant is also popular with locals who want to eat some of the more complicated regional dishes but don't have time to prepare them.)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Belil also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Restaurant Belil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing