We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome concept!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belil Sabores de Chaiapas Interconexion Social

Belil Sabores de Chaiapas Interconexion Social
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Be Natural, Be Belil
2 reviews
“Awesome concept!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent food, delicious and healthy! The owners support local tribes and produce, all organic vegetables (except the tomato). I had the chiapaneco breakfast for $80, tamal without lard, eggs with the leanest chorizo!! Must see... Must come back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glucosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    73
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place, attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great food. Lovely,clean surroundings. Has display of art and artefacts produced by local cooperatives.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food, great place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Belil is more than just another restaurant --- the owner, Ricardo, has created a meeting place for people who care about other people to gather and eat the food real Chiapanecos eat. You won't find burritos here, but you can order asado coleto, pork cooked in a sauce much like mole but authentic to Chiapas. The menu is quite extensive and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant is located just a block north of the East-West pedestrian walkway Real de Guadalupe, near the corner of Cristobal Colon. You may meet anthropologists here, also groups of Zapatistas and other groups working to help poor indigenous people. Ricardo speaks English --- ask him to explain the menu and his objective in founding this restaurant. Eating here makes my soul feel as good as my stomach.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Belil flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are visiting San Cristobal de las Casas, I recommend you visit this great restaurant for a few reasons. It is located right down town. This restaurant promotes local and organic farming and their food is out of this world! We had a journey through flavors in just one meal. Every flavor I can think of was present. The owners and chef are so friendly, they make you feel at home and the place is really clean too. If you like something that you are eating there, the staff does not hesitate to share the recipe with you which is really cool.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JadeLeyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As everyone else says... the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

By chance my first meal in San Cristobal was here, thanks to the owner's friendly manner on the street. Not the main street, either, so it's relatively undiscovered still. My favorite spot to return to in the weeks since. Tamales, enchiladas, quesadillas, coffee, beans, all top-notch, the best food I've had in four months of travel in Mexico. Plus the owner is friendly, alternates with me in his learning English and my learning Spanish, and even provided helpful guidance for tour options. Oh, and the price is standard-Mexican-low. Wait, one more feature: skylight. : )

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NowickGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belil Sabores de Chaiapas Interconexion Social also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to Belil Sabores de Chaiapas Interconexion Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing