We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal de las Casas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Joya Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is an exceptional hôtel. In the first place it is such a beautiful place from thé building to to thé décor and so very comfortable. The owners Ann and Jon are the most wonderful hosts, very friendly and welcoming and treating you as friends the minute you arrive. We will definitely return as we loved San Cristobal

Room Tip: choose the rooms with views over thé town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JollyJane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

An empty honey jar with a photo of your beautiful English mill home reminds us of your visit to La Joya Hotel and the fun we had sharing the special places in and around San Cristobal. We especially enjoyed our dinner together complete with Argentinian troubadours! Thank you for your generosity and for your kind comments about your time with us! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The most wonderful stay in our whole trip

We, a young German couple, have done a 3 weeks journey through Mexico in February. The outstanding evaluations on trip advisor made us book La Joya for our stay in San Cristobal - this has been the best choice we could have made!

Ann and John made us feel home from the very first moment we entered their beautiful little hotel. They have 5 beautiful decorated suites, almost all with real fire places (which is very cozy as the nights can be quite cold at this time of the year). Also, there is a reading room, 2 wonderful patios, a dining room and in really every corner of the house you can feel the love for every detail and admire the amazing taste for architecture and furniture the two have.

Ann and John surprised us with little courtesies whenever we were in their house - be it tasty Margaritas on a late afternoon on the patio or self made cookies and tea after we had come home from a long day in town. Breakfast is different every day - yet you might not be able to judge which one was the best after all. All their staff is amazingly friendly, too.

That being said, also San Cristobal itself is worth the trip: beautiful restaurants with great variety, nice little streets with loads of shopping opportunities, and a rich culture.

We will certainly come back!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank shermann82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thanks for promoting San Cristobal, truly an undiscovered cultural treat! It was our pleasure to welcome you home every afternoon and to hear of your adventures. We do hope that we will see you again at La Joya Hotel, but in the meantime we wish you many wonderful and exciting journeys. Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at La Joya Hotel for 9 days in February. After having traveled widely in Mexico and the rest of the world we can say that La Joya is THE BEST bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in anywhere. Ann and John, the bilingual English/Spanish hosts, have created a very beautiful bed and breakfast. It is extremely comfortable and well located. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast on their rooftop patio with its amazing view of the city and mountains. Each day the breakfast was a new and creative gourmet treat presented with such artistry that we took photos to capture the memory.

The service is beyond expectations. Just to give you some idea this included a delicious soup served beside the fireplace when we arrived late on the first evening, multiple arrangements for tours and transportation, delightful tea in the afternoon, a very early special breakfast the day we traveled to Palenque, purchase of tickets for a play, etc.

Ann and John are warm and engaging people to talk with about a range of topics. We enjoyed their humour and the welcoming ambience they have created. Their staff are excellent. Staying at La Joya made our trip to the fascinating San Cristobal area just that much more memorable. This bed and breakfast is very high value for moderate cost. Nothing can match it! Jean & Alan (Canada)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review! Thanks also for your generosity to our staff. It was a pleasure for us to create an itinerary of things to do in the place that we love and to serve "gourmet treats" to such appreciative guests. We too remember our breakfasts on the patio and evening chats. Let's do this again sometime! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I've been hesitant to write this review not because I have anything unfavorable to say, but because this should remain the most amazing hidden gem in Mexico. I was born and raised in Chiapas but have lived overseas for over 10 years. I headed back to my home state to tie the knot and after doing some thorough research we chose to stay at La Joya.

This is undoubtedly one of the best places I have stayed in, the attention to detail is outstanding and the personalised treatment makes you feel right at home. Ann and John's hospitality made our stay and our special day an even more unforgettable experience. They were not only warming but made sure they fulfilled all of our requests from homemade Chilaquiles, delicious mangos, all the way to recommending a barber and helping with last minute requests for the wedding!

La Joya's prime location make it really easy to enjoy the local attractions. It was however the tranquility and serenity of this place, its magnificent views of San Cristobal, the rooftop patios and the room's fireplace that made our stay unforgettable. I will absolutely be coming back to stay at La Joya, hopefully we can still find a spare room then!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for allowing us at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal to be part of a most significant celebration in your life. We are honored to have hosted you and Mike, your parents, families, and friends. Your mom and dad have been most wonderful, creative, and super efficient in planning and organizing your beautiful wedding. As the saying goes, "If there is a room in the heart, there is a room at the inn." Please know that you and Mike will always have a room in ours. Until your next homecoming in Mexico, we send you both our fond regards. John and Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

John, Ann, and staff I checked out the reviews on this page and find it difficult to say more than has already been said your place is head and shoulders above the rest the hospitality was above and beyond what you would expect anywhere. It's close to everything, but very quite when you need a quite place to come back to as we did.
Very close to good restaurants,easy walk to the markets shops for amber.
The entrance to the motel is a large carved wooden door immediately inside the door is an atrium that is stunning this offset with gorgeous reading room, classic rooms with walk in showers.Upstairs for breakfast (el fresco on the roof) was wonderful inside in an intimate dinning area if you like.
So John I'm not sure I'll get back to your part of Mexico but if I did I would stay with you without hesitation I loved the "Ying and Yang" of you and Ann a perfect balance Jen and I missed you as soon as we left.
All the best Southern Industrial Officer Greg

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

You and Jen have been very gracious and fun guests and we have enjoyed your stay with us for Paola's and Mike's wedding. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment. We are already missing your jovial and kind-spirited banter and the crash course on Rugby League. We hope your team does better than 54-7 this season and that your adventures at the Mayan Ruins of Chiapas have made you both ardent fans of Marvellous Mexico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After a long day's travel I walked into a storybook world-La Joya Hotel in quaint San Cristobal de las Casas. All is new yet all appears to have been in place for hundreds of years. Every convenience is at hand; each item, from the antiques to the in-room fireplaces to the comfy beds has been thoughtfully chosen; the staff has been thoroughly vetted in how to pamper and anticipate every need-in short, perfection. World travelers, John and Ann kindly provided insight into the town and the surrounding indigenous area. They arranged my trip to Toniná, a pre-Columbian archeological site with Ruben, a delightful, English speaking driver. As a world traveler for over 50 years I know value and quality, La Joya has both. Go and enjoy the town, the people and the hotel, you'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All are quiet and well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We’re happy that you found La Joya Hotel San Cristobal and that you have become a fan of this beautiful part of the world. We won't soon forget the festivities in Chamula and hope we’ll see you down here many more times to enjoy the celebrations! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at La Joya Hotel for two weeks in February and early March, so we came to know it well. We found it outstanding, both in its “physical” and esthetic qualities, and in the people there who continually helped us. Those people were: owners Ann Conway and John Do; the staff Alejandro, Carlos and Miguel; and the two travel guides that Ann and John use most, Damian Alvarez and Alex Aranda.

We also found La Joya unique. “Joya” is Spanish for “gem” or “jewel”, and it certainly is one. It’s an exquisitely-designed and run boutique hotel. To get your mind around it, read some or all of the (so far) 18 reviews of it here. I did, prior to writing this review. They are rich in description, and glow with praise. I found nothing in them I disagreed with. Overall, they very much correspond to our own experience at La Joya.

Rather than repeat what’s already abundant in the reviews, here are some examples of why we describe La Joya as unique:

Ann provides all manner of planning support for your visit to Chiapas, starting well before your arrival. She provides services that normally you’d expect to get only from a travel agent, especially one with specialized knowledge about Chiapas. The extent and quality of the support was beyond anything that we had ever experienced before from a hotel. She worked with us to put together a full set of activities for our 2-week stay in Chiapas, prior to arrival. Then she also worked with us to make adjustments to the plans once we had arrived. She was always “there” to help us on issues ranging from where, how and with whom to travel in Chiapas, to what restaurant to have dinner at on a given evening.

To learn about what her husband John will do to help you, just read some of the following reviews.

Ann and John take considerateness and graciousness to about as high a level as one can imagine. We experienced this directly as soon as we’d walked through La Joya’s front door in mid-evening. Our arrival at the hotel had been delayed due to an issue at the airport in Tuxtla Gutierrez, so we were late. Rather than suggesting a restaurant we could go out to, Ann and John (who already knew about our problem) had prepared a big hearty soup, had set a table for us, and had wine ready to go -- compliments of the house. They sat with us and discussed everything we wanted to know about.

I could multiply this example many, many times over from our 2-week experience with them, but you’d do better to just read the following reviews.

We commend La Joya to you enthusiastically.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterInToronto2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaJoyaHotel, Owner at La Joya Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We had such fun during your stay at La Joya Hotel, and even before as we Skyped in order to create two weeks of adventures! Thanks for welcoming us into some of your activities, especially the two cooking classes that we all enjoyed with Kippy. Your enthusiasm for everything that you encountered brought sunshine to all of us! Ann and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Calle Francisco i. Madero # 43A, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £109 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Joya Hotel, San Cristobal's newest gem, is located one block from the Guadalupe walking street and two blocks from the colonial center. Five boutique suites welcome guests to relax in the luxury of wood or candle burning fireplaces, sumptuous mattresses, 800-1000 thread count sheets, flat screen TVs, free WiFi, and private bathrooms that look like they stepped out of a design magazine. Gourmet breakfast included. Enjoy the elegance of a boutique hotel, the hospitality of a bed and breakfast. Prices $160-$205usd plus 2%tax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing