We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel and a beautiful historic building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa de Guadalupe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa de Guadalupe
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel and a beautiful historic building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I would rather rate this hotel between very good and excellent but that's not an option. We had a junior suite in the front for two nights before moving to a standard room for a third night. The front part of the building is 18th-century, and beautiful: original doors and floors add a great deal to the ambiance (along with the original skeleton key weighing a couple of pounds!) I don't rate the hotel excellent because I found the bed in the suite a bit hard and the location up front a bit noisy. (Those damn church bells at 7 am, for example!) The service at reception was excellent but the restaurant, which serves breakfasts, just a bit slow. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The standard room in the back was quieter and had better beds, but lacked the ambiance of the suite. The location is good, despite being a good hike of nearly a kilometre to the zocalo, or park.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    67
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
66
78
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anson, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed for a week and found the hotel to be comfortable and about a 15 minute walk to the main plaza. Our room had 2 comfortable double beds, wood floors and ceilings and a small buy lovely bathroom with sunken tile tub and shower. The hotel is far enough away from the main plaza that we had quiet nights. Contrary to one of the other reviews, we found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful and courteous. Our stay was through RCI (timeshare). We would definitely stay there again. They do not have a restaurant, but do serve breakfast, however we only ate there one time as we felt there were better options available. There are many good restaurants available on Real de Guadalupe. And if you are coffe drinker, don't miss the coffee at El Tostador and another coffee house that offers slow roast coffee. I would not class the hotel as a 5 star, but a very good 4 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tejanagypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have been traveling throughout Southern Mexico for the past few months and this hotel is one of the best I've had the pleasure to stay in. The facilities are top notch without having to pay top prices. The old colonial style of the hotel with all its pleasant and comfortable furniture, decorations, etc. are very appealing to the eye and wallet. Its location about 6 blocks east of the center of town provides a very quite nights sleep, which is more than you can say if you've ever stayed downtown. The staff are excellent in providing you with any assistance or information you might need. I can't say enough good things about this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My parents, my housband and I just stayed for a week in this cozy hotel and we had a very good experience, originally we reserved a room with two floors and two king beds but I didnot realize that it had only one bathroom, when we arrived to the hotel my housband felt a bitt uncomfortable having to share the same bathroom with my parents but I didn't know if they were gonna be able to give us another room, but as soon as I talked to the receptionist and expressed my problem she gave me the option of moving my parents and us to differents bethrooms with out any problem and keeping the price that we already had paid, the personal was nice and helpfull all the time, they even did us the favor of keeping our luggage for a few hours because our check out was at 12:00 and our fly was until 10:30 pm so we didnt want to be carrying around those and while they keep them safe on a litte closet on the lobby we had time to do a last walk to San cristobal down town... About the location I gave them a 4 out of five being 5 the best because in comparison with another hotels they are a bitt far away from the down town area but I got to say for us that wasnt a problem because taxis are 25 pesos or around 2 dollars so if you feel like walking it would take you around 10 minutes and if you fell tired and don't want to walk it will cost you very cheap to take a cab and be there in tree minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The hotel was nice, but the staff was not very friendly.

The ad stated it was not far from the downtown area, but in reality it was a "good stretch of the legs" to get to the pedestrian streets. Good thing it was not hot out and we did actually enjoy the walk, when it was not raining, from the hotel to the center of town.

The first day we did not have hot water for the bath, because they did not have guests and had shut the hot water heater off. The other days (total of 4 nights stay) it was fine.

Room Tip: If you get cold at night, as for a heater early, they do not have a heater for each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed with my parents for two nights in this hotel. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the pedestrian area and is in a quiet neighborhood - next to the Parque de Guadalupe.

The staff was very attentive, the hotel very clean. The room was maybe a little small for three people, but we got a good deal. The only recommendation I have is to take a room in the back of the hotel. The first ones are in the courtyard with the restaurant and bar and might get a little noisy.

Overall very happy and I would probably come back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with nice decorations. This together with the friendly staff gave me a warm feeling in a sometimes chilly San Cristobal. The rooms were clean and also the food was great! Had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperHoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#15 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
Plaza Gallery Hotel & Boutique
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Na Bolom
Casa Na Bolom
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Guadalupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Guadalupe

Property: Hotel Casa de Guadalupe
Address: Calle Real de Guadalupe 172, San Cristobal de las Casas 29230, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Guadalupe 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel through time and live an amazing experience staying at Hotel Boutique Casa de Guadalupe.We are a quick 10 minutes from downtown San Cristobal de las Casas on Guadalupe Avenue, right in front of Guadalupe´s Cathedral. If your plan is to fly to Chiapas, you should search flights to Tuxtla Gutierrez International Airport better know as Angel Albino Corzo or Chiapa de Corzo International Airport. . This airport is 40 km (26 miles) away from the hotel. We do offer airport transportation at a surcharge.The Hotel has colonial style, with 12 comfortable suites, tastefully decorated to create an intimate atmosphere, with beautiful Talavera playing with the warm colors, cedar and mahogany floors wrapped handcrafted details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa de Guadalupe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing