We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
198
138
54
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
138
54
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was nicely furnished beautiful hotel colonial style breakfast buffet small window reception staff san cristobal two double beds third floor within walking distance plenty of hot water main plaza noise block dust hacienda
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Noisy, overpriced, car fumes in the room. Find someplace else to stay.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were originally booked into the Casa Mexicana, supposedly the place to stay in San Cristobal, but even with a booking we were told it was full and we had been transferred to the Holiday Inn. Impressed we were not and the mere name Holiday Inn did not conjure up a comfortable and historic Mexican villa stay - which we were to discover is exactly what the Holiday Inn was! We got off to a really bad start on arrival at the HI, which was just a 5 minute walk away. Even though we had requested a "good" room we were shown to an airless almost basement style room with hardly any natural light. A light remonstration with the staff on the difference between good and indifferent led us up the stairs to a much nicer and quieter room. We declared ourselves happy and were even happier when our lost bags, last seen in Mexico City, appeared that afternoon in our room. The HI is central but importantly it's quiet as these Mexicans no how to party, particularly at weekends. San Cristobal itself is a delight and was our favourite place in Mexico. Wine bars, cafes and reasonable to very good restaurants (Terra y Ciel) are easily found. Breakfast at the HI was heavily Mexican but a pick and mix ensured we didn't starve. The HI has a fantastic history and it is very old so just get with the programme and ignore the odd imperfection. Staff are fabulous.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

nice and cozy hotel in the middle of the old city of san cristobal, small hotel, not many rooms, great service, nice staff, good bussiness center, great location (near the Burger King - 2 min. from Zocalo)
DO NOT order breakfast, its weird (chiapas cuisine) when we checked out (6:00am) a lunch box was made for us - very nice!

Date of stay: September 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Don't write this hotel off just because it's an American chain. This is a colonial style gem located within walking distance to all you will want to see. Rooms are spacious, beds comfortable and all very clean. Rooms are well decorated and even those facing the stree are very quiet. The gardens within are delightful and give you the feeling that you're staying in a private home. Restaurant provides a wide selection breakfast buffet with typical dishes and selections for even the picky eater. All food is very fresh and tasty. I would return in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here February 2010. The management at this hotel needs to decide if it wants to be a hotel or if wants to be a bar with loud music. It cannot be both in our opinion. At least it cannot be a high quality hotel if it allows loud music to play when guests are trying to sleep.

That said, the hotel has loads of potential. It is an old mansion restored, in the center of the tourist district, and reflects local culture and architecture. Its prices are competitive as well.

The hotel did NOT use toxic smelling cleaning agents or any artificial air “fresheners”, a cause of headaches, and stinging eyes and much more dreadful conditions. For that we were very, very grateful

We shortened our seven night stay to one night due to the music situation. We would have liked to have stay longer. Maybe next time!

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews