We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
179
137
54
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
137
54
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was nicely furnished beautiful hotel colonial style small window breakfast buffet reception staff san cristobal two double beds third floor within walking distance plenty of hot water main plaza block noise dust hacienda
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I understand that there can be challenges of infrastructure, but after two nights of cold showers, staff was not at all helpful and refused to adjust my room rate at all. The experience left me with a bad taste. Carpet on the floors took away from the authenticity too. There are better choices in town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

this hotel is in a great location, off the main street in san cristobal and close to everything, the hotel is well kept and beautiful. rooms are good size and well kept.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Noisy, overpriced, car fumes in the room. Find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NYCookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were originally booked into the Casa Mexicana, supposedly the place to stay in San Cristobal, but even with a booking we were told it was full and we had been transferred to the Holiday Inn. Impressed we were not and the mere name Holiday Inn did not conjure up a comfortable and historic Mexican villa stay - which we were to discover is exactly what the Holiday Inn was! We got off to a really bad start on arrival at the HI, which was just a 5 minute walk away. Even though we had requested a "good" room we were shown to an airless almost basement style room with hardly any natural light. A light remonstration with the staff on the difference between good and indifferent led us up the stairs to a much nicer and quieter room. We declared ourselves happy and were even happier when our lost bags, last seen in Mexico City, appeared that afternoon in our room. The HI is central but importantly it's quiet as these Mexicans no how to party, particularly at weekends. San Cristobal itself is a delight and was our favourite place in Mexico. Wine bars, cafes and reasonable to very good restaurants (Terra y Ciel) are easily found. Breakfast at the HI was heavily Mexican but a pick and mix ensured we didn't starve. The HI has a fantastic history and it is very old so just get with the programme and ignore the odd imperfection. Staff are fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

nice and cozy hotel in the middle of the old city of san cristobal, small hotel, not many rooms, great service, nice staff, good bussiness center, great location (near the Burger King - 2 min. from Zocalo)
DO NOT order breakfast, its weird (chiapas cuisine) when we checked out (6:00am) a lunch box was made for us - very nice!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank eravid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews