We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
195
138
54
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
138
54
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location room was nicely furnished colonial style beautiful hotel small window breakfast buffet reception staff san cristobal two double beds third floor within walking distance plenty of hot water main plaza noise block dust hacienda
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

PRO
* great breakfast buffet
* 1000 pesos/night/double room (incl. breakfast)
* good location
* incl. parking (2 min walk away)

CONTRA
* A small window glass was missing
* There was some dirt in the room (they cleaned it right away)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful colonial style just a block from the central square. Room was a bit small (two double beds), but bathroom was nice size with large walk-in shower. My main complaint was noise. With no air conditioning (as climate is much more pleasant), if we had windows open, we could hear people walking in open corridors. Not sure if it would help to have windows open to street instead. We were there just before a fiesta weekend, so we could hear fireworks and music rather late into the evening. The city was busy with lots to do within walking distance (don't miss Palenque Rojo show). Two main streets were blocked off for craft market and vendors. This is a great place to shop! We had breakfast in the hotel--a wonderful array of foods to please everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location. They can aslo arrange a tour in the canyon if you ask them.
The fitness center was closed when I was there but you can have access to another one.
Great Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aruntazieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

When we entered this hotel, it reminded us a hotel for one hundred years ago. Like hotels I watched in the movies like Zoro when I was a Child. The building itself is looking very nice and historic and the decoration was matching the building. There is a problem that they did not bring enough comfort level to historical aspect of Hotel.First they offered us a room at the ground floor. It was dark and humid. Then we changed to a room in the first floor. There was no A/C in the hotel and just a portable Chauffage. The bathroom was big but the window of bathroom opened to corridor which brought down the level of privacy. The door, windows and walls were not sound proof and if you are sensitive, you would have got some problem. TV programs were ok and plenty. Breakfast was limited and breakfast hall was very cold on early morning. The staff do not speak English but not a big problem. Sometimes the restaurant waiters for attracting customers in, playing musical organs at the entrance hall in the evening which would increase noise level.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are bigger and with sun light.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A lot to like about this hotel and, for me, a very welcome change from the identikit that too many Holiday Inns are with no individual character. This place has character in abundance and is in a great location of a lovely little town. However, the staff seemed not to speak sufficient English for an International hotel and seemed unable to fulfil simple requests. The rooms were also quite spartan and my room did not have wifi reception (as advertised). All in all, though, a lovely little hotel but don't go expecting a Holiday Inn experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear hkjourneyman,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our decor. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you had problems with the Wi-Fi in your room. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews