We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Pros: Good location, comfortable bed and pillows

Cons: Extremely noisy, no hot water, ridiculously overpriced, unhelpful staff, small rooms,
slow internet

This hotel is possibly the worst option I could ever imagine. We arrived in the city late, and most other hotels were booked so we decided to spend the extra money and stay here for the night.

Big mistake. Upon hearing the price tag of the room, we thought we were in for a treat but instead it was closer to a nightmare. The room was so small that there was hardly enough room to walk on either side, and the first thing we were greated with, after a long day of travel, was an ice cold shower. It proceeded to get worse; we went to bed at 02:00 am and the staff decided this would be a great time to do some maintenance in the courtyard. For the entire night all we could hear was the staff talking loudy and some sort of mechanical noise (pump?).

Overall I would say only go here if you absolutley have to. San Cristobal is filled with many charming options so don't settle on a poorly run expensive option like this.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlairMacKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear BlairMacKay,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

PRO
* great breakfast buffet
* 1000 pesos/night/double room (incl. breakfast)
* good location
* incl. parking (2 min walk away)

CONTRA
* A small window glass was missing
* There was some dirt in the room (they cleaned it right away)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful colonial style just a block from the central square. Room was a bit small (two double beds), but bathroom was nice size with large walk-in shower. My main complaint was noise. With no air conditioning (as climate is much more pleasant), if we had windows open, we could hear people walking in open corridors. Not sure if it would help to have windows open to street instead. We were there just before a fiesta weekend, so we could hear fireworks and music rather late into the evening. The city was busy with lots to do within walking distance (don't miss Palenque Rojo show). Two main streets were blocked off for craft market and vendors. This is a great place to shop! We had breakfast in the hotel--a wonderful array of foods to please everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location. They can aslo arrange a tour in the canyon if you ask them.
The fitness center was closed when I was there but you can have access to another one.
Great Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aruntazieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

When we entered this hotel, it reminded us a hotel for one hundred years ago. Like hotels I watched in the movies like Zoro when I was a Child. The building itself is looking very nice and historic and the decoration was matching the building. There is a problem that they did not bring enough comfort level to historical aspect of Hotel.First they offered us a room at the ground floor. It was dark and humid. Then we changed to a room in the first floor. There was no A/C in the hotel and just a portable Chauffage. The bathroom was big but the window of bathroom opened to corridor which brought down the level of privacy. The door, windows and walls were not sound proof and if you are sensitive, you would have got some problem. TV programs were ok and plenty. Breakfast was limited and breakfast hall was very cold on early morning. The staff do not speak English but not a big problem. Sometimes the restaurant waiters for attracting customers in, playing musical organs at the entrance hall in the evening which would increase noise level.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are bigger and with sun light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A lot to like about this hotel and, for me, a very welcome change from the identikit that too many Holiday Inns are with no individual character. This place has character in abundance and is in a great location of a lovely little town. However, the staff seemed not to speak sufficient English for an International hotel and seemed unable to fulfil simple requests. The rooms were also quite spartan and my room did not have wifi reception (as advertised). All in all, though, a lovely little hotel but don't go expecting a Holiday Inn experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebbouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear hkjourneyman,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you liked the location of our hotel as well as our decor. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you had problems with the Wi-Fi in your room. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Holiday In? - It was unexpected, historic building, small hotel, big and comfortable room, very good location.

Room Tip: ask for not noisy room, their are some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoresh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Mexicana
Hotel Casa Mexicana
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Calle 1ro. de Marzo 15 | Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol)
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas
San Cristobal De Las Casas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing