We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building, central location but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely building, central location but....”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Stayed two nights in this beautiful colonial building with three patios. Our room was spacious, beds were comfortable (I like a firm mattress) and we had no problem with noise but that was because we looked out onto a patio. No problems with hot water either but we did have problems with the heating and aircon. There appeared to be a hot water pipe running under our bathroom floor and up one wall of the bedroom making both hot to the touch. The air con did not work either so even in early February we were much too hot. After the first night we complained and reception offered to get maintenance to look into it - but despite the promise nothing was done and we sweltered for a second night

Breakfast was a buffet with a better choice than in most Mexican hotels that we stayed in, plus they made pancakes, omelettes and other egg dishes to order. However after breakfast they would serve nothing - not even a drink in the patio - until 6pm. and on our second day they did not even open for evening dinner because they were decorating. our whole group found it incredible that in a hotel of that category did not have any bar facilities.

If you are thinking of staying here check very carefully on maintenance works, and availability of services ( we saw no evidence at all of the pool and fitness room that others have mentioned).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesterbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear chesterbuff,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our beds.

However, We’re sorry about the poor air conditioning. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    100
    46
    14
    14
See reviews for
83
92
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We spent 5 nights in San Cristobal. Our rooms were not large but they were nice. The beds were firm and comfortable with multiple pillows to choose from. Each room has an in-room safe (a must when traveling) and windows that open for fresh air. We had no problems with hot water. The faucets are vertical vs. horizontal so maybe those who had water problems did not try using the lower facet first to start the hot water. The courtyard area is nice for gathering with fellow travelers and they provide a very nice breatfast buffett. On the downside, the business area computer could use an upgrade, there is no pool or workout area (possibly under renovation?) and there is no restaurant or room service. Even a very basic room service would be nice after a long day out exploring.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarriedinMx2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Nothing intrinsically wrong with the hotel. The staff were helpful, the garden courtyard was very beautiful, and the breakfast buffet was ok. However, while our room was clean and a good size, there was very little natural light, and the WiFi signal was virtually nil.
There is a lot of competition in San Christobal and I am quite sure it would be possible to find something better.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fozziehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear fozziehash,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Pros: Good location, comfortable bed and pillows

Cons: Extremely noisy, no hot water, ridiculously overpriced, unhelpful staff, small rooms,
slow internet

This hotel is possibly the worst option I could ever imagine. We arrived in the city late, and most other hotels were booked so we decided to spend the extra money and stay here for the night.

Big mistake. Upon hearing the price tag of the room, we thought we were in for a treat but instead it was closer to a nightmare. The room was so small that there was hardly enough room to walk on either side, and the first thing we were greated with, after a long day of travel, was an ice cold shower. It proceeded to get worse; we went to bed at 02:00 am and the staff decided this would be a great time to do some maintenance in the courtyard. For the entire night all we could hear was the staff talking loudy and some sort of mechanical noise (pump?).

Overall I would say only go here if you absolutley have to. San Cristobal is filled with many charming options so don't settle on a poorly run expensive option like this.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlairMacKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear BlairMacKay,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binningen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

PRO
* great breakfast buffet
* 1000 pesos/night/double room (incl. breakfast)
* good location
* incl. parking (2 min walk away)

CONTRA
* A small window glass was missing
* There was some dirt in the room (they cleaned it right away)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_hofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This hotel is beautiful colonial style just a block from the central square. Room was a bit small (two double beds), but bathroom was nice size with large walk-in shower. My main complaint was noise. With no air conditioning (as climate is much more pleasant), if we had windows open, we could hear people walking in open corridors. Not sure if it would help to have windows open to street instead. We were there just before a fiesta weekend, so we could hear fireworks and music rather late into the evening. The city was busy with lots to do within walking distance (don't miss Palenque Rojo show). Two main streets were blocked off for craft market and vendors. This is a great place to shop! We had breakfast in the hotel--a wonderful array of foods to please everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location. They can aslo arrange a tour in the canyon if you ask them.
The fitness center was closed when I was there but you can have access to another one.
Great Hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruntazieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
Hotel Boutique Las Escaleras
#5 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal

Property: Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Address: Calle 1ro. de Marzo 15 | Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn San Cristobal - Espanol)
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Cristobal De Las Casas
San Cristobal De Las Casas Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing