We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
177
135
54
19
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
135
54
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroom was nicely furnishedbeautiful hotelcolonial stylesmall windowbreakfast buffetreception staffsan cristobaltwo double bedsthird floorwithin walking distanceplenty of hot watermain plazablocknoisedusthacienda
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2010

This Hotel has a beautiful historic Building, with precious gardens. The room was very comfortable, with good temperature control (this city is cold all year), beatiful and equiped bathroom and good service from the hotel people. I'll recomend this hotel if you visit this beautiful city from the Mexico's State of Chiapas.

Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
Thank mdophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a surprisingly pleasant hotel, not much to look at from the street but lovely inside with a delightful court yard. The room we were given (228) was very small and dingy with no window. On our return from a walk around the town centre we were immediately struck by its stuffiness so much so I asked if an alternative was available. They were very helpful and moved us a lttle way along the corridor to 203 which had an opening window and was much bigger. The moral of this is to ask to see your room before accepting it. The breakfast service was good with a lot of choice. Free internet available.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepenquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

San Cristobal is a charming colonial Mexican city located at Chiapas. I have to say that Holiday Inn wasn’t our first option but the other hotels were full (‘cause it was New Year’s Eve) So we booked at Holiday Inn an get more that we expected.

The hotel is located on an historical building that has been a hotel for many years. It’s like a tipical Mexican house with a interior garden and a fountain, full of plants named “solarium”.

We stayed in a really tiny room with a king size bed and chimney at the room…. It has a big tv with cable, a working desk and wi-fi.
In general it’s not a fancy room but it has the basics and of course its clean!!!

The hotel is in an excellent location… 2 blocks away of the cathedral and really near to a good restaurant of typical Chiapas food!!! For all we payed like $100 dollars per night, and we spent and amazing beginning of 2009!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariferreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We wandered around San Cristobal looking for some place charming for 3 or 4 days. Someone had recommended the Flamboyant Espanol where Graham Green and Ian Flemming had once stayed. I was disappointed to see that it had become a Holiday Inn as we avoid chain hotels and franchises. But then we went inside anyway, and the receptionist showed us a lovely room, really a mini suite, facing the courtyard. Breakfast, an extensive buffet which included huevos rancheros, enchilladas, fresh fruit, was included. The rate was about $70 and included Wi-Fi. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when I had to smooth out a problem with the airline.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Uplyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

San Cristobal is a charming colonial Mexican city and the appeal of most accommodations in San Cristobal is the architectural and historical character of the property.

The Holiday Inn San Cristobal is located in a beautiful historical building that has been recently renovated. The highlight of the hotel is the courtyard which is a terrific spot for morning coffee.

Rooms

Rooms are a bit small and poorly lit which is the norm for historic hotels in San Cristobal. They are basic sleeping rooms with no fancy touches at all. Bathroom counter space is lacking in all of the rooms we looked at. Cable TV and good wi-fi internet is available in all rooms although the room we stayed in lacks a working desk.

Dining

The dining room served surprisingly good and complete breakfast buffets inlcuded in the price of the room. Service was a bit slow but friendly which we found to be typical of most venues in San Cristobal. We had one lunch in the dining room and it too was above average and reasonably priced.

Location

Excellent - you couldn't ask for a better location in the heart of the historic colonial center. Steps from everything the location is truly convenient.

Service

As with most hotels in San Cristobal the Holiday Inn offers only basic services. It lacks a pool and a gym. Room service is offered but the rooms lack a dining table and most lack a desk so room service could be a bit messy. Staff are friendly and but I wouldn't expect special requests to be attended to quickly nor efficiently.

Overall

I think most of us travelling to San Cristobal are looking for a very special historical getaway. During our travel to San Cristobal we discovered El Parador San Juan de Dios and I must say that this property was the finest of over five hotels that we inspected in San Cristobal for a planned upcoming trip.

The Holiday Inn San Cristobal is perfectly adequate in comparison to most San Cristobal hotels but is is not exceptional in any regard. If you're simply looking for a clean and conveniently located place to sleep then the Holiday Inn is perfect. I you're looking for some really special charm then I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews