We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wine bar and music!”
Review of El Cau

El Cau
Price range: US$0 - US$2
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wines and Tapas in the heart of San Cristobal de las Casas. Tapas Local products of Catalan and Spanish cuisine. Products jamon iberico import as Jabugo, anchovies, idiazabal cheese etc. Live music in the evenings. Photography classes for beginners and more advanced people. Good atmosphere to talk while chosen for their good quality at a fair price, always accompanied by a free tapas wine tasting.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

El Cau has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a great selection of wines. If you order a bottle of wine a variety of tapas come free of charge. The acoustic guitar music and vocals are worth listening to but still allow you to have a conversation if you want to. The bar owner is very welcoming and makes you feel at home - a lovely bar for a relaxed evening and good wine.

Thank SueNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiio, Propietario at El Cau, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestra aportación, agradecemos comentarios de gente que ralmente a estado en nuesto establecimiento, dadas algunas criticas que se han detectado que son por parte de gente que no han estado nunca en el cau con la finalidad de beneficiar a otros. Gracias por vuestra opinión.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Went looking for this hotel due to reviews and as we arrived the owner greeted us very relaxed and extremely friendly as welcoming.

He sat us down and explained about the wine/tapas deal. He gave us a brief explanation to how wine is graded in Spain and let us choose which grade (and corresponding cost) we would like.

The wine and tapas was exceptional. Light meal or pre-dinner appetiser sized.

There was also live music which have it a very relaxed, but quaint feel.

Wish there was a El Cau in the town I live in. I love red wine and it's a perfect place to drink it. Thank you so much for a pleasant evening.

Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiio, Propietario at El Cau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review and seek advice from my land wines. We strive for good music every night at 20pm and 18pm on Sundays. We love that people are happy to go the Cau. Thanks for coming and hanging out with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

nice atmosphere with good lives music.friendly owner, very happy to sell you a bottle of the gran reserva Rioja.considering how far we are from Spain an amazing selection of wines and well prepared tapas. Prices higher though than you would pay in most tapas bars in Madrid. An excellent place to have a glass of vino and a tapas sampling before going out to have dinner.

Thank copperstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiio, Propietario at El Cau, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank Elgin for your input, we celebrate you liked the tapas, but I wonder at what time you went to Madrid, because first there tops the charge aside, we in the cau give you a free tapa with every drink and a bottle bring 6 free tapas. A tapa on the Cau if you pay part costs 12 pesos, is less than 80 cents of Euro, in Madrid will not find any cover below 1 Euro :), but if you were there before the euro we can understand you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Truly excellent tapas and Spanish wine, as well as some local craft beer. The range of small plates served with each drink is impressive, including crispy grilled eggplant, octopus, squid, cod croquettes, and of course tortilla española (omelet with potatoes). Great acoustic music from 8-9 pm. Delightfully friendly owners and pleasant casual setting. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ricardo194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiio, Propietario at El Cau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestra opinión!! agradecemos vuestra preferencia y esperamos que tuvierais una buena experiencia, esto es lo que intentamos de forma muy humilde con todos nuestros clientes! muchas gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had such a great time here last night! The owner, from Spain, taught us about Spanish wines, arranged blind wine flights for tastings, suggested great tapas, and we left educated, well fed and happy. Ask the owner to tell you how to pick a good Spanish wine, then sit back and just enjoy. They have lots of wines by the glass, even more by the bottle, an excellent choice of tapas and larger plates too. Prices are low for the wines, quite reasonable for the food, and the service is excellent. Excellent live music from 8:00-9:00 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday, at 5:00 p.m. Sunday, closed Monday. Halfway down on andador Real de Guadalupe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiio, Propietario at El Cau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias Dave!! fue un placer atenderos!! cuando llega gente interesante y divertida como ustedes, no es muy grato trabajar. Me encantó que me pidierais un flight para degustar varios vinos y poder descubrir los vinos españoles que manejamos. Siempre que vengas serás muy bienvenido!! y gracias por vuestra opinión y muy bien detallada la explicación de lo que hacemos en El Cau, Gracias!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cau also viewed

San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
San Cristobal de las Casas, Chiapas
 

Been to El Cau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing