We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I went to San Cristóbal with my girlfriend without reservation after several hotel's (most of them very expensive) fortunately we arrived to the La Mansión de los Angeles to ask and the price was good, the room very comfortable suited with all stuffs like 5 stars, the next morning we had the breakfast there and was good and no too expensive, definitely I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is in an old colonial house with a central patio. It could be lovely but the maintenance is poor and rooms are small and dark, no windows, at least mine. The location is good, in the centre, and they have an agency which can organize tours to Sumidero canyon and Montebello. The service is non existing: my room was on the upper floor without a lift an nobody even thought of helping me with my suitcase (I'm over 60).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramtorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Well located not far from the action of the zocalo is a 17th century colonial style hotel with lots of religious motifs and antiques. The hotel is well maintained and staff are officious but have little to no English.

If waking up to religious icons, saints and Angels wings is your thing, and you have a penchant for things that go bump in the night then this is the place for you. We spent 4 nights at the hotel and were woken each night by strange paranormal sounds. Even during the day we were haunted by phantom school children laughing and playing, and spooky piano players pumping out chopin's greatest hits.

I wouldn't let these nocturnal happenings put you off. Mansion de Los Angeles is more Casper the friendly ghost than paranormal activity 4.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bessienrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We traveled to Chiapas with 3 other couples and we had originally booked at the more expensive and fancier hotel next door. After a night spent trying to sleep with music coming from beyond the hotel wall, we decided to look for another hotel. We didnt have to go far. Almost next store was the hotel Mansion de Los Angeles. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, almost the same level of comfort as the more costly hotel and very quiet and almost half the price. The location could not be beat. We were one street over from one of the main pedestrian streets, Guadalupe. The main plazas and restaurants were all within a 5 to 15 minute walk.The staff were welcoming and friendly and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms available and choose from the selection. The staff there had no problem with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VSMuskoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and myself travel with three other friends to Chiapas (5 people total). We rented three rooms in Mansion de Los Angeles.
It is a nice little hotel near downtown San Cristobal, easy walk to the main streets where shops and restaurants are located.
We actually flight toTuxtla airport and took a taxi fromTuxtla to San Cristobal de Las Casas
$60 usd each way
Check in was ok but front desk people are not really friendly, they do actually not talk to us, just few words and say we will take you to the rooms... rooms in general are clean but they had a little funny small I guess because the humity in the area. It was rainy season - By they way mainly rains at late evenings and night time.
We ask for King bed and we got room with two queen beds, when we ask about it they said it is first come first served.
Everything else was ok, the only thing is that sheets were old the first night but they change it for the rest of the nights with a nice ones! Without asking about it!
We asked the front desk about agency where we could buy some tours to Palenque, El Chiflon waterfall and Montebello lakes and they did not offer to assist they just said there are some agencies like three blocks from here. No phone or at least recommend one, so frustrating!
We found one ourselves that offers private tour and they were great!
After all we wanted to extend our stay for another two nights and we ask them if they have availability and the guy from front desk said we do not know yet we need to wait for the manager tomorrow night. We left the hotel next morning, because they did not get back to us with an answer.
We move to San Joaquin Hotel which is in the main andador, very simple and cheaper hotel but people where friendly and more helpfull!
We spent all day in the tours ( 6 -9 pm daily) so the other simple hotel work out fine for us!
I rated ** Star Hotel -

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I absolutely love San Cristobal de las Casas and have travelled six times already to this colonial jewel hidden in the highlands of Chiapas. Six times and counting!

During my first three visits in San Cristobal I stayed each time in a different hotel, which were alright but this one is my acclaimed home away from home when I visit San Cristobal!

The hotel is very central, just one block from the main square and you can get everywhere easily by walking.
The hotel itself is at home in a beautifully refurbished colonial mansion. As many colonial building alike, in the center you have an open air garden which now is the hotel restaurant and around the courtyard group the rooms.

The rooms are comfortable, charming with wooden floors and mine had a tiny open air patio.

I love the overall feeling of this charming hotel, the staff is very nice and the food is delicious. I know I will be back for sure, you should come and visit the Mansion de Los Angeles as well!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deernchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Greatly located, this cozy hotel offers very good service and very beautiful rooms. Colonial Mexican Style at best!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cavernicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casavieja
Hotel Casavieja
#12 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las Casas
Fiesta Inn San Cristobal de las ...
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Parador Margarita
Hotel Parador Margarita
#11 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles

Address: Francisco I. Madero No. 17 | Col Centro, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mansion de Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion De Los Angeles Hotel San Cristobal De Las Casas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing