We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Very comfortable hotel, in a good location.
Not a great value for money but
there are cheap and stinky hotels in san cristobal, so beware.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    45
    30
    6
    13
See reviews for
31
54
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

The Hotel has a lot of potential, but who on earth would put the master suite next to a loud salsa bar? The music went on till 2am, and I felt like the musicians were in the bedroom with me! The staff thought the whole matter hilarious and were very unhelpful and also untruthful about how long the music would go on for.

The breakfast buffet was hardly that - choice of scrambled egg, sweet pancakes and toast every day.

With better service and choice and also scrapping the master suite, this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeechyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
331 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

This hotel is lovely as it built in a traditional Spanish building dated back to the 16th century. However, there are a lot of hotels along the streets between bus station & the main square. As our main purpose is to walk around the city & visit the nearby Mayan villiages and tour to Palenque, we can actually stay in a hotel with similar style but at a lower price.

  • Liked — beautiful colonial style
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

I stayed here with my family during the week of Christmas 2005. Its located about 3 blocks from the city square and has a small church right across the street. Inside and out this is a clean and safe hotel with helpful staff. The room we had was a rustic looking room with a king bed and two single matresses on a wood mezzanine which was built inside and above the king bed. The wood mezzanine has steps and is like a small second floor inside the room. This is a large room and perfect for a family of 4 to 6. The bathrooms are basic ( big shower, toilet and sink) and very clean. The rooms have basic furniture ( chairs, dresser, small table, lamps, and a 25 inch TV with satellite) . The only downside, in my opinion, is the price. Because our room was considered a "suite" , we paid about $95 a night. My brother and his wife got a basic room (also nice) and paid $70 . for the same price, You can get a much nicer place closer to the city square. however, this is a great option and I do recommend it.

  • Liked — big rooms
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnolias11, Manager at Plaza Magnolias Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Google Translation
Agredecemos mucho su comentario, puede escribirnos al correo de magnolias@plazamagnolias.com.mx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Historico
Hotel Ciudad Real Centro Histori...
#19 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#18 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Hotel Villa Mercedes
#24 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#8 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mision Colonial
Hotel Mision Colonial
#33 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mision Grand San Cristobal de las Casas
Mision Grand San Cristobal de la...
#13 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Magnolias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Magnolias Hotel

Property: Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Address: Avenida Insurgentes 14 | Centro Histórico., San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Magnolias Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Magnolias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing