We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goods and bads”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Magnolias Hotel
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Overall we enjoyed our stay, San Cristobal de las Casas is beautiful. Upon arrival at the hotel they told us our room was in another building, just one block away. This was pretty surprising because we didn't know this when doing our reservation. The other building looks newer, the only thing is that you have to check in and out in the "main" building and the safe deposit is there as well. They're just a block apart but it is an inconvenience, especially if you're on vacation and traveling with kids. The good: The hotel is at a great location, just two blocks away from the main plaza, beautiful rooms, very clean. Now, the bad: poor service, bad breakfast buffet and the hotel is very noisy!!!

I'm not sure if I would stay here again...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NadiaQ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very good located just a block and a half from the center of the city. Good internet and good breakfast. The shower very tricky, hot water comes and go, but good. Well, maybe not for a 4* hotel. Good bar. In the bad side no ac outlets accesible and no safe box. Bring some sandals, cold floor!

Room Tip: Better a room in the second floor, first floor some noisy. No elevator though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ETame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for a few days when we first arrived in San Cristobal de las Casas, and then we stayed a few more days at the end of our trip. The rooms were smallish but comfortable. We were there during the rainy season, so the room was a bit damp, but I think this would be the case with any hotel in the Centro, as they are all old houses turned into hotels. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The rooms on the first floor were very noisy. We stayed there the first night, and then asked to be moved to the third floor, where there was a lot less noise. I would definitely stay here again, but only on the third floor where there is less noise! The bathrooms were nice by Mexican standards, and there was plenty of hot water, but the shower was a bit finicky. The hot and cold water were separate, and it was hard to get a balance that wasn't too hot or too cold. The location was really great too, close to the main plaza and also a short walk to the bus center. Also had a really good wifi signal all throughout the hotel, which is nice!

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy, ask for the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MexiKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, excelent vibe.
Just one detail in the room, the mup that they used to clean was smelling bad and left a bad odor in the room, hope tomorrow will be better.
Good service and food. Very nice people attending feels like home very good location

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jess31dic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The rooms in this hotel seem to be made of paper. It is very noisy. The beds are rock-hard. The room smells moldy.

The only reason this hotel got 2 stars instead of 1 is because the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigiP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My wife and I backpacked through southern Mexico (Mexico city to Cancun) during April 2012. We chose this hotel after a miserable stay in Casa Mexicana the night before. I thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and just loved San Cristobal. Cost was $1550 pesos (13.2 to the dollar) using my credit card. The front desk personnel/ bellboy are learning English and enjoyed practicing with me every time we saw each other. The restaurant in the middle of the hotel was the real treat, they took our dining and comfort seriously, and were a real joy to converse with (Spanish). If you enjoy Mexican hospitality, excellent authentic foods, great service, very comfortable surroundings, I know of no better hotel/ restaurant to stay at.
When we returned through LAX on our way home we stayed at a prominent 5-star hotel ($310/night) only the bed was softer than Plaza Magnolia's bed. Mr. Marriot's employees could learn a lot about hospitality and genuine service from the Plaza Magnolia staff.
I was concerned that my chatting with all the hotel help every free moment and the gracious way they were attending to us might upset the Manager. The waiters reassured me they were there to make my stay enjoyable, they treat everyone this way. Later the Manager, who had seen us laughing and talking about every thing under the sun, passed by. He gave me a warm welcome and thanked me for staying with them and asked if he could do anything to improve my stay.
Cons: wifi didn't work upstairs in bedroom, so we emailed from the restaurant. The bed was firmer than mine at home, but we slept like a rock, I think due to the great relaxing experience of San Cristobal and Plaza Magnolia. I want to go back!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are in the back away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154KellyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The 4 star hotel that, despite its excellent location, is an enigma. It is either trying very hard to be a 4 star but doesn't have a clue how to achieve it or, assumes it is a 4 star and is failing miserably. The mere fact that the Manager turns-up for work at 11am and leaves at 3pm is probably indicitive of the answer to. the above.

Front of house is run by a youngsters who focus more on themselves then the guests that come through the door. Beyond the relatively impressive frontage and entrance, the further one goes inside, the more it deteriorates; the bar is empty and cold, the dining room is musty and the rooms are overpriced. Bathrooms are basic.

You do however get a considerable discount if you do pay in cash but we would not recommend it in the first place.

A small addendum if you are travelling, like us we would advise not to use DHR they have mis-allocated us to the wrong hotel, overcharged us and failed to respond to us.

Room Tip: Read the above carefully, the rooms on the higher floors have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.3 mi away
Mansion del Valle
Mansion del Valle
#28 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
Hacienda Don Juan Hotel
#22 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#27 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Mercedes
Hotel Villa Mercedes
#20 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Docecuartos Hotel
Docecuartos Hotel
#14 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diego De Mazariegos
Diego De Mazariegos
#9 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Magnolias Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Magnolias Hotel

Address: Avenida Insurgentes 14 | Centro Histórico., San Cristobal de las Casas 29200, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Magnolias Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Magnolias Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing