We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 With Good Reason”
Review of Bela's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bela's B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Bella is incredibly welcoming, sweet and generous. Wonderful cozy rooms. The upstairs balcony is hard to top. The whole place is completely charming. Sweet doggies, but if you are not used to having a dog quietly at your feet at the breakfast table now and then, perhaps a more traditional colonial hotel would be better. We spent a wonderful week here and no doubt will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank copperstategal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Bela made our trip in San Cristobal! Staying at her beautiful home was a highlight of our time in Mexico, so much so that we ended up staying a week and enrolled in Spanish lessons. Some of our favourite memories include getting a bottle of wine and enjoying it in Belas kitchen next to the fire place and chatting with fellow guests in the evenings. The gardens provide a haven from the street and its really treat being able to stay in such a warm and welcoming spot. Thanks Bela!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Bela's for three nights and it felt like staying with a good friend. We loved everything about the place. The beautiful room ( we had the king suite), with lovely art work, fleece sheets, an electric blanket and towel warmer, full length bath robes, a table and chairs, a futon and cushions and a great selection of books. Breakfast was delicious, home made granola, fresh fruit and juice, great coffee, eggs if we wanted them toast and yogurt. The breakfasts are communal, so if you don't want to be social, go later! Bela has a helpful local map and can advise on where to go and what to see and eat. Internet is fast, the location is central and walking distance to everything down town. The garden and four delightful dogs added greatly to the ambiance; we even saw a hummingbird nest and the bird feeding its young! Highly recommended

Room Tip: We loved the king suite which is up a few stairs and is totally private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for nine days. After years of staying in B&Bs around the world, this is surely the best! It has a great location, just steps away from the crafts market and the Textiles Museum, five minutes to the Zocalo yet very peaceful. We had the balcony room, which overlooks the garden and the hills beyond. This is a lovely private, peaceful room, and the sunny balcony is a plus. The bed was so comfortable, warm duvet, heater in the room (which we never needed in February) and even a heated towel rail. Delicious, healthy breakfasts of yoghurt, granola, fruit, toast, eggs, fresh-squeezed orange juice and great coffee were served in the sun room overlooking the garden. On chilly mornings the chimera fireplace was always blazing away. We swapped great travelers tales with the other guests in this room, and one day had a terrific lunch cooked by Manuela. The garden is a real sanctuary, with fragrant jasmine, amaryllis and loads of other gorgeous flowers along with hummingbirds and butterflies. There are four very sweet and friendly dogs who formed a welcoming committee each morning when we came down to breakfast. Bela herself is a mine of information, with excellent suggestions on what to do, see, where to eat, hear live music etc. and was always available to answer questions. She also provides a map with everything travelers need to know. There are quiet corners for reading and lots of books to borrow on the area and its history. It was like staying at the home of a favourite relative, a place to return to again and again. Bela’s business card says it all: “Hostess Extraordinaire”!

Room Tip: The balcony room is a good choice, no noise from other rooms, and lovely view from the sunny balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mblp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We live in Huatulco and were visiting San Cristobal for the first time. It was through a personal referral that we discovered Bela's B&B. Fortunately there was room available at the inn since Bela's B&B has only 5 quest rooms. Bela is a gracious hostess and we felt at home within minutes. The facility is very clean and quiet with beautiful gardens and hummingbirds. Breakfast is included where you can't help but mingle with the other guests. I enjoyed that. It is a five minute walk from the Zocolo. One of Bela's best unadvertised attractions is her 'tried and true' map of the neighborhood indicating where to go for Margarita's, great local food, Italian food, Argentinian food, etc. If you are looking for a guided tour, Bela will tell you where in the zocolo to stand and who to look for. Thank you Bela for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recently stayed at Bela's and had a most marvelous experience. I traveled with a friend and it was my first time in San Cristoal. I was doing volunteer medical work that was pretty intense. To have the peaceful surroundings of Bela's was a godsend. I met lovely people there. The food was so good. Manuela, the main cook, treated me to a wonderful culinary experience ( I had lunches there which you can request). A massage from Teresa, helped ease out some of my kinks. Close to the market for your shopping experience. My room was incredibly cozy with a heated blanket and flannel sheets. I loved her dogs- just wish they would've come slept with me! It was a lovely and cozy experience and I plan to return. And I discovered a 'soul sista' (Bela)!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

So we finished a four day stay in magical Mexican City, staying at Bela's B&B. So I am reading reviews for this BB before posting mine and just read this whiny review titled "Mostly good stay".
I am stunned and I am sorry for starting out my review tailing off theirs but it reminds me that some reviews reveal more about the reviewer than the place being reviewed. We expect great and we got more at Bela's. Lovely historic property with gardens, quietness and privacy. Lovely room too and pin clean every day. We loved the breakfast options and felt charmed every day. But what you need to know is that the true treasure here is Bela, who patiently makes herself available to her guests for their daily tours of this extraordinary area. This does not happen often in our many travels...the irreplacable part of our experience was Bela.

Room Tip: No pool but the template would not allow me to remove it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Cristobal de las Casas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bo
Hotel Bo
#2 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guayaba Inn
Guayaba Inn
#1 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & Spa
Casa del Alma Hotel Boutique & S...
#4 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Santa Lucia
Casa Santa Lucia
#3 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristobal
Sombra del Agua Hotel San Cristo...
#7 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Escaleras by Inmense
Las Escaleras by Inmense
#6 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bela's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bela's B&B

Address: Calle Doctor Navarro # 2 | Barrio El Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas 29220, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Chiapas > San Cristobal de las Casas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal de las Casas
Price Range: £48 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristóbal de Las Casas. At Bela's you are one block from the one walking street, one-half block from the Santa Domingo Church and outdoor artisan market, three blocks from the zocalo/central square and three blocks the other direction from the town marketplace. You have five lovely bedrooms to choose from, all very cozy and homey, with wonderful service. On the courtyard garden there are two bedrooms with views of the garden, one with private bath. Up the terrace there are three bedrooms, each with private bathrooms, with views of the city. The top room has a balcony with a breath-taking view, and the lower room is a suite with a sitting area and king-size bed, and the Master suite is two story with a kitchenette, private bath, porch, balcony one king bed and two twin beds on the second floor. We are a family with four adorable dogs, a lovely home and a gorgeous garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bela's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing